The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 19, 2019
  • Updating the look but never losing the feel of the original, Link's Awakening is a masterclass in remaking a classic. Reviewed by Joe Skrebels on Nintendo Switch.
    Subscribe to IGN for more!
    tvclip.biz/user/IGNentertainment
    ---------------------------------
    Watch more on IGN here!
    ---------------------------------
    DAILY FIX: tvclip.biz/video/-_e1aXYckPE/video.html
    GAME REVIEWS: tvclip.biz/video/pCJmeQyJk1E/video.html&index=2
    MOVIE REVIEWS: tvclip.biz/video/pCJmeQyJk1E/video.html&index=2
    TRAILERS: tvclip.biz/video/hr1dfwy4n90/video.html
    NEWS: tvclip.biz/video/Ctgzg7MZiZ8/video.html
    #ign
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 1 705

  • Teknoman Blade
    Teknoman Blade Day ago

    If they don’t contract this guy quick, Apple needs to get him and replace Tim Cook with him.

  • rockwjz
    rockwjz 3 days ago

    Solid review!!

  • zetica z
    zetica z 3 days ago

    Best 2d Zelda Dungeons ive played. Really enjoyed this game. Can't wait for BTW 2 next year

  • Great moments of opera
    Great moments of opera 3 days ago +2

    One of the absolutely greatest games on the gameboy. There’s something charmless about this remake. For instance, everything looks like it’s made of rubber, which is not what the original evokes. The original felt like an epic, sprawling adventure, this feels like a rubberised kids themepark version of Zelda. The endless nostalgia that Nintendo trades off is the death of art. Sequels, remakes, reboots. It’s all nostalgia - trying to get people to buy new things based on past glories, the memory of how the original superior product made us feel as kids. It’s the same as Disney Star Wars, and so many other things in our culture.

  • Das Boot
    Das Boot 4 days ago

    I love this game, I cannot wait for the next Zelda game.

  • freydey
    freydey 5 days ago +1

    geezuz this kind of game having framrate drops in 2019...and the switch costs 400$

  • JJ's Corner
    JJ's Corner 5 days ago

    I hope they remake Link's Awakening in this aesthetic.

  • Happy Days
    Happy Days 6 days ago +1

    I need a majoras mask/twilight princess mash remake.

  • Travis L.
    Travis L. 7 days ago

    Now we need a Dragon Warrior 3 remake in this format!!

  • Mark LeeMaoShengHiNoon
    Mark LeeMaoShengHiNoon 8 days ago +2

    have they remade Link to the Past with graphics like this yet? because if they have not, they need to

  • Omari Spencer
    Omari Spencer 10 days ago

    This was a great review.

  • Liam T-J
    Liam T-J 12 days ago

    I do not have the game but I have watched gameplays, once you get all the ocarina songs, is it still possible to get Marin to follow link after completing the challenge or even the entire game?

  • frequencyHighGaming
    frequencyHighGaming 12 days ago

    Alternate present line at the end gave me life

  • ThatCanadianGamer
    ThatCanadianGamer 12 days ago

    I’m having a blast :) brings back memories. I never actually beat this back in the 90’s so I’m definitely going to this time. Nice review.. I’m shocked ign

  • Christopher Yiwei Liang

    This game is great but 60 bucks is a lot to spend now when Apple Arcade is 5 a month

  • Jayson Roman
    Jayson Roman 14 days ago

    now can we get A Link to the Past remake with this art style?

  • Eclectic Collected
    Eclectic Collected 14 days ago

    Weirdly I experienced frame rate drop only for the first couple of hours if gameplay. Then it stopped and has since run smooth as butter.

  • Judit Obrusánszky
    Judit Obrusánszky 15 days ago

    Great

  • Michael Fernetti
    Michael Fernetti 16 days ago

    The UK IGN has always been 100x better than the US IGN crew. Every game that gets reviewed by a UK member the comment section is in praise. When it’s reviewed by a US member it’s all negative lmao

  • Progress Motion
    Progress Motion 16 days ago

    Guys, have you really played this game? I have, and I can tell fps drops are huge and it is really annoying, but really.

  • Valor708
    Valor708 17 days ago

    Best IGN review in a loooooooong time

  • Big Russ
    Big Russ 17 days ago

    Didn’t have a single framerate issue myself, but only played hand held

  • Filip Zwoździak
    Filip Zwoździak 17 days ago

    This video was a true delight. Kudos for the script.

  • L0RDFR3NCHY
    L0RDFR3NCHY 18 days ago

    that android quality character design and level design - 9.4/10 ?! i played flash games on miniclip and newgrounds more artistic than this!

  • Kidane Tower
    Kidane Tower 18 days ago +1

    Finally, an unbiased review that's not just giving a 10 score just because it has Zelda in the title. I wasn't impressed with this game and would've much preferred they bring wind waker and or twilight princess back. What are they waiting for?

    • Oliver Benson
      Oliver Benson 15 days ago +1

      Kidane Tower They have them both on wii u.

  • Guru451
    Guru451 18 days ago

    Nintendo needs to remake Oracle of seasons/ages next.

  • Astronot Records
    Astronot Records 19 days ago

    An ok review... but, a remake is definitely not worth $60... that issue alone should warrant a 7/10.

  • Viral
    Viral 19 days ago

    Awesome review, more like this please!

  • Papa_Smurf925
    Papa_Smurf925 19 days ago

    I hope the do a link to the past with the same art style!

  • Marco Benoit Carbone
    Marco Benoit Carbone 19 days ago

    Old style 1993 controls design "seemed a bit archaic, and yet", yet, it's way better than 2010s

  • Cris Duarte
    Cris Duarte 19 days ago

    The comments are reviewing the host instead of the game.

  • William Nichols
    William Nichols 19 days ago

    Wow this guy is fantastic

  • Alan Ashby
    Alan Ashby 19 days ago

    Best reviewer for ign hands down

  • Artonox
    Artonox 20 days ago +1

    this guy is amazing at reviews. Hire this guy for double his salary pls!

  • Wltrs _srtlW
    Wltrs _srtlW 20 days ago

    This game makes you FEEL like Zelda

  • 902will
    902will 20 days ago

    I wasn't going to get LoZLA, but after watching this review, I will. Very informative, helpfully critical.

  • Gary James
    Gary James 20 days ago

    I sure didn’t enjoy Cadence.
    I’ll stick to OOT

  • MR 333
    MR 333 20 days ago

    9.4 for a damn remake...
    IGN at it again...
    :-(

  • Lady Jane
    Lady Jane 20 days ago +4

    This review was beautiful.

  • will riseabove
    will riseabove 20 days ago

    gotta be honest 60 seems a bit high since it's so short tho itd be worth it if later we get a link to the past in this style or even the original.

  • Are Mayo
    Are Mayo 21 day ago

    Wtf? An actual review from IGN?

  • derek stark
    derek stark 21 day ago

    I just picked this game up today, and think that this is very over-hyped. When rotating the left analog stick, you can't help but notice that the character clicks into place on the screen. I find the play control is rather choppy compared to the original.

  • Francis Waterworth
    Francis Waterworth 21 day ago

    Great review

  • Kyriakos Pap
    Kyriakos Pap 21 day ago

    Create a pokemon like this...

  • Kaleb Sanford
    Kaleb Sanford 21 day ago +1

    This is how I always pictured a modern pokemon looking, the art style is perfect.

  • Vermilicious
    Vermilicious 21 day ago

    Nice visual style.

  • THICC VIENER
    THICC VIENER 21 day ago +1

    My mom bought me my first gaming device on my 6th birthday and it was the gameboy which came with Link’s Awakening. This was my first game ever.

  • Speak My Mind
    Speak My Mind 22 days ago

    just came to push thumbs down. someone has to and i hope everyone does. these guys are exhausting

  • Hippo
    Hippo 22 days ago

    check out linkscapedash for a Zelda charger

  • Elijah Lucero
    Elijah Lucero 22 days ago

    It really makes you feel like... Zelda😂

  • Rafael Tordilla
    Rafael Tordilla 22 days ago

    I would love for chrono trigger to get the same treatment

  • Mike Bugbman
    Mike Bugbman 22 days ago

    But but whaty is the rating?

  • knelson2756
    knelson2756 22 days ago

    Ocarina of Time remaster please!

  • Akis Mou
    Akis Mou 22 days ago

    Really amazing review, give this guy a raise and more games to review! NOW

  • Andonis Moushis
    Andonis Moushis 22 days ago

    Animal crossing trees!

  • Obsessive Compulsive Gamer

    The game suffers from serious fram rate issues, it’s Zelda so it gets a pass. I didn’t think it would bother me that much but this game it’s so noticeable that it’s a bummer, personally I don’t see a patch coming so I hope the switch gets a pro so that issues like these can be resolved.

  • Slotan466
    Slotan466 22 days ago

    what does 9.4 even mean i mean i understand a 9.5 a 10 or a 9 but a 9.4? i don't understand

  • Birds Fly
    Birds Fly 22 days ago

    How long does it take to Finnish?

  • edmond lee
    edmond lee 23 days ago

    I wish they will remake Minish Cap.

  • LIAM BELL
    LIAM BELL 23 days ago

    I know they are two types of zelda games but should I get breath of the wild or links awakening?

    • tcr333
      tcr333 22 days ago +2

      Breath of wild. Links Awakening is a classic, but Breath of the Wild is a Masterpiece.