Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 8, 2019
  • The classing series of short stories gets a film adaptation in the spirit of the Goosebumps film adaptation. Here's my review of SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK!
    #ScaryStoriesMovie
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 412

  • DMT Infinity
    DMT Infinity 5 days ago +1

    *I know!! I noticed the similarities between this and "IT". But this movie was amazing in my opinion!*

  • Ryan Slater
    Ryan Slater 7 days ago

    This movie fucking sucked

  • Sid Aly
    Sid Aly 16 days ago

    You seriously need to calm the fuck down with your hands 😂😂

  • JT Stuard Music
    JT Stuard Music 18 days ago

    I would have preferred a TV-MA Netflix adaptation to what we actually got. There wasn't that much Character development, I couldn't find myself to get attached to the characters, and the monsters (outside The Pale Lady and Harold) were absolutely garbage tier CGI bs. For a Guillermo Del Toro film, the creature effects were really lacking. The story of the movie was pretty good, if a little cliché at times. Girl gets abused by her family, takes revenge on her family for abusing her with a supernatural twist? Didn't we just see that in Unfriended a few years ago? I would argue Unfriended was a better horror movie than this one. I don't know, maybe its a case of Hollywood trying to pander to a younger audience instead of giving the people who actually know what the books were like what they wanted when they heard the film was being made. The movie made me feel like there was a lot more they could have done to flesh out the characters and the themes a bit more.

  • Acrostreet JA
    Acrostreet JA 26 days ago

    I think it was terrible

  • damonr6
    damonr6 Month ago

    best book ever

  • Frankie Cuellar
    Frankie Cuellar Month ago

    I knew the movie it or stranger things was going to be thrown around in this! I haven't seen the movie yet that's why I'm watching this review but from the trailer is it looks a lot like it or stranger.

  • Clalhriatpuia Chawngte

    I enjoyed jr Ted MOsby lel

  • Scizzor HonZ
    Scizzor HonZ Month ago

    My kid just had book fair day and came home with this shit! So weird being an adult sometimes when confronted by vivid childhood memories.

  • Brolli
    Brolli Month ago

    they actually made all of the characters costumes like the corpse with the lost toe from prosthetics because they wanted it to be real

    • Brolli
      Brolli Month ago

      so they used real people

  • OG STEEZE
    OG STEEZE Month ago

    Pillsbury from Hell im dead

  • Zoriel Perez
    Zoriel Perez Month ago

    If you liked the books, or movie I would recommend Uzumaki the manga by Junji Ito it is disturbing in a thousand ways. There is an adult swim adaptation coming soon as well. cheers!

  • Amanda Safko
    Amanda Safko Month ago

    When he says “hardcore”, I think of the scene from School of Rock with the song “no you’re not hardcore”

  • Morten Fransrud
    Morten Fransrud 2 months ago

    First horror movie i got scared from....2 hours after, it still creepy me the fu** out.

  • Orbit Awayy
    Orbit Awayy 2 months ago

    That one where that man kidnapped people and turned them into sausages. That was crazy

  • Steven Wojasinski
    Steven Wojasinski 2 months ago

    This movie was terrible! The biggest disappointment of the year. It was like one of the child actors wrote the script. I am beginning to question your taste in movies.

  • Larry Lovestein
    Larry Lovestein 2 months ago

    This movie has the cheesiest loudest jumpscares dont watch it.

  • Victor Alvarez
    Victor Alvarez 2 months ago

    Movie sucked....review over....wait for it to be in netflix

  • David Hernandez
    David Hernandez 2 months ago +1

    book day????? for me it was a book fair. good times

  • hunterkiller1440
    hunterkiller1440 2 months ago

    Biggest twist in this movie is a Mexican is actually a legal immigrant but was pulling a Trump move during the Vietnam War.

  • Jason Lehne
    Jason Lehne 2 months ago

    I liked the story parts themselves but god damn, every time someone was speaking I wanted to shoot myself. One of the most poorly written movies I’ve ever had the displeasure of watching. Bummer because I grew up on those books...

  • JLX 256
    JLX 256 2 months ago

    Interesting choice of using Go-Bots and Transformers example.

  • Phil Ingrouille
    Phil Ingrouille 2 months ago

    One thing i wanna know is why it's set in 1968? The first book was published in 1981. Was it so this one could be set apart from the whole 80s nostalgia trend?

  • joe v
    joe v 2 months ago

    I really didn’t like the 30 jump scares every scene... that sucks. It was just too “Hollywood” for me

  • Mainely Movies
    Mainely Movies 2 months ago

    Book fair day and those monthly catalogs were my favorite... I have no idea how I managed to make it through the 90s without ever reading these books!

  • JJ Cat
    JJ Cat 2 months ago

    This was a good suspenseful thriller. Not really scary, and the plot was at a quick pace. Would like to see the sequel.

  • BlueFox94
    BlueFox94 2 months ago

    This film, release schedule-wise, is the *perfect* appetizer for _It: Chapter 2._

  • Hasan Naqvi
    Hasan Naqvi 2 months ago

    I didn't know about the books but I really enjoyed the movie

  • Zach Davis
    Zach Davis 2 months ago +1

    The scariest story is Ramone going to vietnam.

  • Angry Vader
    Angry Vader 2 months ago

    Dude that suit looks amazing I have one like that with more blue

  • Trigger Happy
    Trigger Happy 2 months ago +1

    I hate how youtube keeps inserting your shitty feed into my suggestions whenever I am looking at movie trailers for recent movies. your channel is fucking toxic , and the fact you think you can actually critique an entire production based on your minimum knowledge of cinema is just pathetic and foul. you're exploiting youtube's filtering systems , and are the modern definition of the standard youtube douchebag . probably married to a blonde , you work no job, inherited everything you own and have never had to pour any effort into anything, including this channel. where most of the fucking content is just your ugly face talking.l. i'm done, and i don't give a fuck how many of your "fans" attack me . I'm being real here, channels like yours just need to die off and stop force feeding shitty material to people for views. There is MY review of YOUR channel! Your channel is more crooked than your fucking jacked up teeth!

  • Four Eyes
    Four Eyes 2 months ago

    Teenage boys date movie

  • Four Eyes
    Four Eyes 2 months ago

    It’s like a teenage sleepover movie

  • Kyle Clemmons
    Kyle Clemmons 2 months ago

    I remember the book fair every year in Elementary school

  • Art-Dizzy-t
    Art-Dizzy-t 2 months ago

    Scary Stories was a YA book?? My 5th teacher read it a day before Halloween to the class while he gave us Halloween pretzels.

  • Zack Luke
    Zack Luke 2 months ago

    I enjoyed the Novels, really did enjoy them. I found this film soooooooooooooooo boring. Really didn't enjoy it, and have seen freakier. It's just a massive MEH

  • Lewis Jones
    Lewis Jones 2 months ago

    I don't get what the red dot had to do with spiders

  • Hector Sanchez
    Hector Sanchez 2 months ago

    Loved this movie

  • Jovial Faltisco
    Jovial Faltisco 2 months ago

    Very bad movie. Canty sit thru. Curly hair boy Best actor. After he died I Left.

  • DOS Flash
    DOS Flash 2 months ago

    It would have been better if they turned this into a netflix series. Alot of the stories i wantes to see weren't in the movie. The only ones i remebered were the big toe and me tie do tie walkee

  • Rowena Pascual
    Rowena Pascual 2 months ago

    I saw the movie & it did get me going, especially that "creepy Pillsbury doughboy" (errr... woman?) One of the characters definitely deserved to die!!! It's been so long since I've read the stories!!!

  • deerjerkydave
    deerjerkydave 2 months ago

    My 12 year old daughter wanted to see it and we enjoyed it. She brought her blanket to hide from the scary parts.

  • Lauen Lazarus
    Lauen Lazarus 2 months ago

    My favorites where the red spot the story where the corpse said “ WHO STOLE MY BIG TOE ?!? “ and the song don’t ever laugh as a hearse drives by.”

  • Blake Wiles
    Blake Wiles 2 months ago

    I went and saw this movie with a buddy and these girls (first date w them) and the part where the kid is hiding under the bed and the lady looking for her toe jump scares I threw two jabs at the screen and screamed “oh fuck no” in the middle of the theater.. I loved it haha

  • Alina Jade
    Alina Jade 2 months ago +2

    I thought this movie was so silly. The scary stories themselves were great but the main plot/characters etc. were laughably bad

  • Noah Alamat
    Noah Alamat 2 months ago

    Some movies can be scary without extreme amounts of gore I am a huge horror fan I saw the movie tonight and I honestly loved it I thought it had some moments that were so unsettling that effected me more than some more intense horror like the conjuring, the scene with the scarecrow was pretty terifying

  • Harmanjot Kaur
    Harmanjot Kaur 2 months ago

    I was looking for a answer if the movie was good or not!!
    I didn’t get that answer 😒🤔

  • YoCha1
    YoCha1 2 months ago +1

    Is this guy rackaracka

  • Student Freeman Morgan
    Student Freeman Morgan 2 months ago

    They didn’t use cgi

  • The Motion Picture Notion

    Better late than never, just uploaded my video on this. Glad you mentioned that gross out scene. Part of what I loved about this movie. It pushed the boundaries of what a PG-13 film could do...similar to what the books did for kids. Awesome video dude!

  • Eggy
    Eggy 2 months ago

    Can’t wait to see this I got to see the main girl at Annapolis film fest she was so good in the film she was in so I can’t wait to see her in this

  • WJZAV
    WJZAV 2 months ago

    Since when do you wear a suit and a shirt?

  • iPod 97
    iPod 97 2 months ago

    Do you have a Blu Ray collection???

  • Samuel L. Bronkowitz
    Samuel L. Bronkowitz 2 months ago +1

    Saw it last night. Great horror movie which was actually quite scary minus lots of gore. Fantastic practical effects as well!

  • billy Annajian
    billy Annajian 2 months ago

    I loved the movie!!!

  • Oculi Mortis
    Oculi Mortis 2 months ago +7

    I have to disagree. This film caused me to not want to watch any films coming out this month

  • Isaiah Williams
    Isaiah Williams 2 months ago

    Idk why but the Clinkity-Clink story scared the living shit outta me when I was little, and it wasn’t even the story it was the damn picture

  • The Egg
    The Egg 2 months ago

    This movies is horrible! I would've rather watched Unfriended and Slenderman back to back.

    • Big smelly Willy
      Big smelly Willy 2 months ago

      @The Egg fr unfriended shouldve won an acdemy award bruh.

    • The Egg
      The Egg 2 months ago

      This movie is doo doo!! I'd rather watch the entire Annabelle franchise non stop!

    • Big smelly Willy
      Big smelly Willy 2 months ago

      ur argument is invalid for the cancerous camparisons.

  • blake causey
    blake causey 2 months ago

    Favorite story from the book the dream

  • Phuongnamkhue nam khue
    Phuongnamkhue nam khue 2 months ago

    Can you please make more movie reviews