Captain Marvel - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 5, 2019
  • After all the social media build up, one thing is for sure...the comment section will be the nicest comment section in the history of comment sections! So here's my review of Marvel Studios' 21st film CAPTAIN MARVEL!
    #CaptainMarvel
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 22 333

  • Bobby Brian
    Bobby Brian 11 hours ago

    Short story long a 6/10 movie , that tipe of movie that you see only one time

  • Patrick Robie
    Patrick Robie 9 days ago

    I have to say the same exact thing about the friend I felt the friend was just there to give her an emotional tie other than that I was it I was that was literally all that character was for him maybe two to have a possible love interest with Nick Cage witch went no were
    And then you have to agree about the movie man I’m just like it was told in a weird pace I felt like it was scrambled I felt like it would do a lot better and yeah you’re on the money on this man

  • Josiah Theobald
    Josiah Theobald 13 days ago

    I think we all know that you talkin about that stupid thing that they added in that you can't talk about that snow Cannon is obviously Nick Fury's eye, it's the dumbest thing ever

  • Osamudiamen Osaghae
    Osamudiamen Osaghae 14 days ago

    Her being stoic was intentional, cause the kree trained her that way,

  • Godzilla Fanboy
    Godzilla Fanboy 25 days ago

    I hated this movie but I'm a white male so my opinion doesn't matter

  • DJ Mutt
    DJ Mutt 26 days ago +1

    Princess Peach is stronger than Captain Marvel
    ...in Smash, at least.

  • SunTai
    SunTai 27 days ago

    I saw this turd of a movie, then watched this review, then realized that I had literally FORGOTTEN that I’d seen the movie. That’s the impression it made...

  • general phoenix
    general phoenix 27 days ago +1

    I say it 7 months ago and i thought the film was great captain marvel is my favorite avenger
    Ps:brie larson is my favorite actress

  • SunTai
    SunTai 27 days ago

    Jahns is a REAL movie critic because he doesn’t care about the culture war and is objective in his movie reviews. Rotten Tomatoes’ critics on the other hand...

  • jjledzep
    jjledzep 29 days ago

    I really liked the movie. More than Black Panther.

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All Month ago

    This movie is beyond shitty.

  • Jack Edwards
    Jack Edwards Month ago

    I feel like the point was that she was told to keep her emotions in check, whether or not the resonates is different, but I feel that was definitely the point, and by the end of the movie she’s able to not be “held back”.

    • B R
      B R 25 days ago

      In terms of character, they was no change to how she was from the beginning to the end. She was better I guess in Avengers Endgame.

  • Zack Hawkins
    Zack Hawkins Month ago +1

    All I can say is..... Wonder woman is better!!

    • B R
      B R Month ago

      Agreed.

  • Scott Hyland
    Scott Hyland Month ago

    Marvel releases mediocre film

    Now THIS is an Avengers level threat

  • 대자타노스
    대자타노스 Month ago

    이거 누가 한국어 자막으로 올려주세요

  • Sammy DeGuido
    Sammy DeGuido Month ago

    worst MCU movie by far

    • Jack Edwards
      Jack Edwards Month ago

      I feel like Thor 2 is for me

    • B R
      B R Month ago

      @John Smith Chill out. What is your problem?

    • John Smith
      John Smith Month ago +1

      Sammy DeGuido end your life, you sexist idiot

  • Jai Cilento I Love That Guy ʕ•ᴥ•ʔߛ ̋

    ☼ pick a side traitor

  • sheek1982
    sheek1982 2 months ago +1

    Raise your hand if you're tired of the term "relatable" in reference to movies

  • Kasino80
    Kasino80 2 months ago

    I like the story, I like the themes, I like the 90s nostalgia I like most of the movie...I just don't give a crap about Brie Larson's portrayal of the character. It becomes blatantly clear when interacts with Maria Rameau. She's a MUCH better character.

  • Andrew Neilson
    Andrew Neilson 2 months ago

    This movies dog shit

  • Silverbreaker
    Silverbreaker 2 months ago

    i like this movie - blonde is hot

  • Hall Mike
    Hall Mike 2 months ago

    I bought the 4k DVD to watch on a new curved 65 4k TV... should have just listened to the reviews..started out pretty dam good..but the movie plateued real quick..20 minutes in...stayed there and went down at the end.didnt feel like a marvel superhero movie.. rather something like Hancock..super average flick..

  • Racist Brownie
    Racist Brownie 2 months ago

    Who is this empowered bitch ? Why is there people who see that kind of stupidity?

  • B88
    B88 2 months ago

    The outcome of making such ultra perfect and unrelatable mary sue characters will be a generation of girls that will look up to them, will fail, and will build they-are-not-strong-enough insecurities

  • Sammy DeGuido
    Sammy DeGuido 2 months ago +2

    worst MCU movie

  • Ahmad Wasi
    Ahmad Wasi 3 months ago

    Why don't top reviews talk about the biggest change, the elephant in the room ?
    It is something that is in no other marvel movie. Why ignore this but not any other controversial topics ? because people want this to be a positive impact in the world and change peoples point of view by not talking about it because it is "okay" ?
    Seriously you all know what i am talking about but since no one is talking about it than i wont waste my time with people who want to be closed with the topic. those who agree and know then let me know.

  • emil engen
    emil engen 3 months ago

    I hate brie Larson. She is extremely narcissistic.

  • Samuel Limas
    Samuel Limas 3 months ago

    I'm glad you like the movie

  • Mr Wayne
    Mr Wayne 3 months ago

    Just a sjw society peace of crap like the rest of there political movies

  • Ethan Otto
    Ethan Otto 3 months ago

    It kind of annoys me that they completely took out Mar Vel, the original (male) Captain Marvel. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with female superheroes, I just don't see how pretending the male hero ever existed is necessary for the heroine to take the stage when Carol Danvers had already become Captain Marvel in Mar Vel's place in the comics. Or, I'm sorely mistaken, which is entirely possible.

  • Kirk Douglas
    Kirk Douglas 3 months ago

    @3:42 Spot on! Or even Scarlett Witch in endgame was badass, but then hokey girl power scene happens?!

  • L.A. November 2019
    L.A. November 2019 3 months ago

    That Impala SS was cool; don't remember mush else & I just watched it.

  • Shirley Allen
    Shirley Allen 3 months ago

    I loved it!!!

  • MJ - FERMEZ LA
    MJ - FERMEZ LA 3 months ago +1

    The quality of the movie aside (not good, not bad, just meh, I agree with you) I Don't think that the movie is feminist.
    Of course, yes, they pretend that it is in the marketing, but I Don't think it is. The only feminist thing is that… the main character is a woman… I mean… the resident evil Movies are not feminist, Supergirl is not feminist, Catwoman is definitly not, so clearly, it's not enough to be feminist, or does that mean than the rest of the MCU is masculinist ? It would be feminist if they exploit the fact that she's a woman, have difficulties because she's a woman, and surpass the difficulties because, as a woman, she learned something that a man would not understand alone.
    Wonder Woman for exemples is feminist, because the fact that she's a woman have a role in the plot : She's a Amazon, she never seen a man, she have an optimist opinion about them despite the warnings of her mother and sisters, when she go to the civilisation, she's judged for beeing a woman, she defying the patriarchy and proove herself, and her unique experience is what vanquish the main vilain. Same thing for Mulan, it's feminist because the movie treat the poor condition of beeing a woman in this country and time, she proove herself, and her feminity is what make her a hero, because she's counting on other ressources than pure masculin strengh.
    In fact, Guardians of the galaxy Vol. 2 is more feminist despite the fact than the main characters is a man, because the movie exploit the consideration of a man for a woman and his emotions. Peter, Yondu and Rocket have to fight their "toxic masculinity", accept their emotions instead of hidding it behing their assholiness. And Peter have to accept that the woman he love… is not a price, she's don't own him anything just because he's the hero or a god, she will be with him on her own terms.
    So… no… captain marvel is not feminist, it's just a super hero movie with a woman, that's it, they even rarely mention that she's a woman. She would have been a man, the movie will stay the same… but less succesfull. The movie is more about military than gender right. The all movie is about "Don't trust blindly the orders, do what's moral first". Good moral… but still not enough to be a good movie.
    BY THE WAY ! All this idiots who complains about the "feminist propaganda" of the movie just because there is a woman in it… why Don't you complain about the military propaganda who's a 10000 times more obvious, so obvious than there is TV Spot for military recruetment who use the imagery of the movie. It's almost like propanda is bad ONLY IF IT'S NOT ON YOUR POLITICAL SIDE !

  • youtube commentor
    youtube commentor 3 months ago +1

    the most disappointing part of the movie was that Brie Larson just did not emote enough!!!

  • RockstarrClarke
    RockstarrClarke 3 months ago

    There was a villain in this movie ? I thought that there was just a deceptive and angry computer ?

  • St T.
    St T. 3 months ago

    what do you expect, comic book movies are overdone. I am boycotting every single marvel and dc movie because of their tasteless mony grabbing movies.

  • manav bhalla
    manav bhalla 3 months ago

    Solid 2/5
    Even lower than Thor 2 and Antman 2 in my MCU tier list

  • Bobby Brian
    Bobby Brian 3 months ago

    Wonder woman 6/10
    Cpt marvel 4/10
    2 of the worst movie i ever seen

  • Bobby Brian
    Bobby Brian 3 months ago

    I belive is one of the worst marvel movie i ever seen , even hulk and thor 2 are better

  • Devildog13
    Devildog13 3 months ago

    nailed it. love the character, but the actress was a bad choice, writing failed

  • Jonathan Hayward  (STUDENT)

    This movie is my least favourite film in the MCU.....😐 but I liked talos and uh fury and coulson and uh goose??? still can’t look at fury’s eye patch the same way😑

  • Luis Mateo
    Luis Mateo 3 months ago

    I respect all females and believe in equal rights. But lets be real this movie was just horribly feminist, all the males in this movie were either a sexist jerk or useless clown.

  • _Forg _
    _Forg _ 3 months ago

    Thanos alone would have made a better movie. I would definitely pay to watch a movie more about Thanos’s background.

    • B R
      B R Month ago

      Avengers Infinity War.

  • The Brown Knight
    The Brown Knight 3 months ago +4

    Samuel L. Jackson looks like he's had enough of playing Nick Fury.

  • AD-SD-vids and stop motion

    Thor the dark world and ant man and the wasp was more relevant to avengers endgame than captain marvel

  • 라이언
    라이언 4 months ago +2

    부탁인데 누가 이거 한글자막영상으로 따로 올려주세요

  • BlassReiter1100cc
    BlassReiter1100cc 4 months ago

    I didn't understand all the hate politically speaking either. At no point in this movie did I see any heavy feminist push of politics. They did a hell of a job with the Skrulls. But I think they took a nuanced story of the war between the Skrulls and made it a little shallow. For example The Skrulls are an invading race, but as the comics go on it shows they are not so evil but more of a dying planet-less race trying to survive. And the Kree are dicks but not "evil". The Kree come off as flat out villains in this and the Skrulls come off as this helpless refugee species. And I feel like the two species were far more nuanced than that. The Skrulls a hard hitting conquering race derived from survival, and the Kree a cop like race of heroes that are arrogant dicks derived from a place of good place and security. I did like the movie though for the most part, thought the 90's nostalgia was a pretty heavy handed instead of natural application for simply taking place in the 90's. I watched it twice had fun both times.

  • Han Trollo
    Han Trollo 4 months ago +2

    A movie shouldn't tell me that this woman is a "STRONG FEMALE CHARACTER." Its when acts of bravery convince the viewer to say " She is a strong female character."
    Ex: Everything Black Widow does feels earned. Her early life shows her progression to heroism in an understandable and admirable way. She has REAL FLAWS, ISN'T A STUCK UP JERK, AND ACTUALLY CARES FOR OTHERS AND IS WILLING TO GIVE IT ALL FOR OTHERS!!!!
    Captain Marvel:
    I'M AWESOME
    I'M STRONG
    I'M MORE ENTITLED THEN YOU
    Widow: Sure girl... Whatever you say...

  • Temi Asa
    Temi Asa 4 months ago

    Do a review for Alita battle angel

  • Eddie Costa
    Eddie Costa 4 months ago

    Was it just me or was there more going on between carol and Rambeau than just friends? It’s cool either way just thought I saw something

  • Tyler Bergen
    Tyler Bergen 4 months ago

    No rembember seeing this after people talked shit and before walking in thinning “eh, there is prob just something being overlooked...”. But nope, it was as bad as people said. It seemed to carry a certain agenda about it...I’m not a fan of feminism at all. My GF of almost 10 years was great because she was anti-feminist and thought all of it is stupid AF.
    It’s such bullshit that she got a movie before Black Widow, Scarlet Witch, or even Wasp for that matter. I could take a movie of Captain Marvel if it literally was just the scene of her getting punched in the face by Power Stone Thanos over and over and over my life ...lol, I busted up laughing in theaters when that happened after clapping loudly.

  • RagingBear
    RagingBear 4 months ago

    This movie was kind of confusing

  • Charlie Osbaldiston
    Charlie Osbaldiston 4 months ago

    Feminist Pisshead

  • Tim Green
    Tim Green 4 months ago

    This movie deserved a dogshit rating. There's not enough alcohol or weed in the world to make that film watchable. It was 100% worst than Dark Phoenix. Captian Marvel is the worst superhero film of all time. Its just 123 minutes of feminism / bad acting / plot holes after plot holes.

  • Inertia Juggernaut
    Inertia Juggernaut 4 months ago

    Got bored half way through the movie and ended up not finishing it. First time a marvel movie truly let me down. Far worse than original Thor and Captain America movies.

  • Malia Saavedra
    Malia Saavedra 4 months ago

    tbh the only mcu movie i don't mind never seeing again

    • B R
      B R Month ago

      I can agree on that. It's not a bad movie. But it's not something I care to see again.

  • UltraLeevi
    UltraLeevi 4 months ago +1

    what captain marvel did in endgame ALMOST NOTHING and she wants to be badass to fight thanos???

  • WTF Am I Even Doing?!?
    WTF Am I Even Doing?!? 4 months ago

    Best part of the movie was the feminist agenda stuff, because it felt like it was the most honest and heartfelt parts of the film. Making this statement as someone who is not a modern feminist

  • Kenith McIntosh
    Kenith McIntosh 4 months ago

    Shit was boring!