Blair Witch Spoilers Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 16, 2016
  • The Collider Nightmares crew of Perri Nemiroff and Mark Reilly are joined by Wendy Lee to give their SPOILER HEAVY review of 'Blair Witch,' the sequel to the original 'The Blair Witch Project!' The new movie is written by Simon Barrett and directed by 'You're Next' and 'The Guest's' Adam Wingard!
    Follow us on Twitter: ColliderVideo
    Follow us on Instagram: ColliderVideo
    Follow us on Facebook: colliderdotcom
    Follow Perri: PNemiroff
    Follow Reilly: Reillyaround
    Follow Wendy: WendyLeeSzany
    As the online source for movies, television, breaking news, incisive content, and imminent trends, Collider Videos is more than an essential destination.
    Visit Collider: collider.com
    Follow them on Twitter: ColliderNews
    SUBSCRIBE TO THE SCHMOES TVclip CHANNEL HERE: tvclip.biz/user/schmoesknow
    Collider Show Schedule:
    MONDAY: TV Talk | bit.ly/29BR7Yi
    TUESDAY: Nightmares | bit.ly/29BQUV3
    WEDNESDAY: Heroes | bit.ly/29F4Job
    Top 10 | bit.ly/29MyswD
    THURSDAY: Jedi Council | bit.ly/29v5wVi
    FRIDAY: Schmoedown | bit.ly/29C2iRV
    SATURDAY: Mailbag | bit.ly/29UsKsd
    Best of the Week | bit.ly/29Bo7yF
    SUNDAY: Mailbag | bit.ly/29UsKsd
    MOVIE TALK: every week day | bit.ly/29BRtOO
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 185

  • new voice
    new voice 2 years ago

    The last ten minutes is scary as hell.

  • new voice
    new voice 2 years ago

    I don't care what people think this movie is great!!!

  • Juan Ayala
    Juan Ayala 2 years ago

    this was a solid horror movie but the ending was SO disappointing that it almost ruined the movie for me. But it had some solid scares, the lore of the original movie is used really well and the witch's powers are pretty terrifying.

  • Edward Non
    Edward Non 2 years ago

    I just watched it and I can see elements of a good movie, but there was too much that personally took me out of the immersion. There was like zero ambient wilderness noise, no owls or crickets, which I thought was really weird and honestly took me out of it a little. The campers woke up in the middle of the night because they heard bushes and leaves rustling outside the tent, yet they can't hear each other until they're a foot away from their faces? I understand it's for a jump scare, but it just didn't make sense to me.
    also the ear piece camera angles bug the shit out of me, like there's no WAY those things are positioned perfectly to their lines of sight. an example is early on in the bar scene, one of them is taking a drink of beer and the bottle goes right under the camera as if it's a first person view, but in reality if the camera were really a bluetooth headpiece, the bottle would be under the person's ear. no one drinks like that. also later on when they're trying to use their walkie-talkies, they're in frame of the camera, usually held by the opposite hand. who the heck holds a walkie-talkie with their left hand up to their right ear instead of just holding it under their mouth?
    The found footage "loop" where the beginning footage is also the end footage is kinda cool until you think about how that means predeterminism stretches outside of the woods itself. The campers were always supposed to go to that house and make those tapes at the end because otherwise they wouldn't have the footage in the beginning... It's a time travel issue like Back To The Future where choice is an illusion and everything that happens is supposed to happen.

  • Michael Olivella
    Michael Olivella 2 years ago

    I thought the thing in her leg was possible a dobson fly larva. They live in the water on and under rocks under water in creeks and rivers. I had to collect them for an aquatic ecology class. I LOVED this movie. Forget Book of Shadows, this is the only sequel that exists. I kinda want a third so we can get some more concrete answers. There is so much unknown with the new elements of this universe.

  • StarfighterX1
    StarfighterX1 2 years ago

    I would give it a 4.5/10. Bad characters, bad dialogue, repetitive jump scares and at times it made me laugh, unintentionally.

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 2 years ago

    That bit with the girl split in two was the best bit

  • Basket Case Reviews
    Basket Case Reviews 3 years ago

    The part about the infection from walking across the stream actually connects back to the legend of coffin rock and the story Mary Brown told the original cast about the hand coming up out of the water.

  • LowkeyLoki
    LowkeyLoki 3 years ago

    I just watched it and I'm so confused right now. Not sure if I saw the same movie. Bored me to tears. Adam Wingard is one of my fav. directors working today but this was so underwhelming cause he usually goes against clichés and this was pretty much the first movie, in the third act.

  • DannyWilliamH
    DannyWilliamH 3 years ago +1

    This was SUCH a bad movie. So damn bad. Genuinely a 2/10 type movie.

  • Allan Alberts
    Allan Alberts 3 years ago

    25:53 - i think it was a way to show time passing. her health got worse because even though to her it seemed liked what 2-3 hours it was actually several days later and whatever infected her leg was growing faster as if it was several days. The moment they all went to sleep is when they all passed into the other realm where the witch lives imo. Kinda like stranger things did but with a witch.

  • Allan Alberts
    Allan Alberts 3 years ago

    The way it ended was difference from a 7 out 10 for me. brought it down to 5/10. Would have been great if that whole end sequence was her going backwards outta the house. friggen dumb that director wanted it to end like how it did.

  • Twoclaw
    Twoclaw 3 years ago

    This is my face when you three gave your initial impressions O.O I'd be yelling at you if I could, "ARE YOU SERIOUS?!" Did you guys watch the same movie that I did? It was a piece of shit movie! Did they pay you? Please tell me they did! A movie strewn with ineffectual jumpscares, bad, unoriginal creature work, RACIST TROPE inserted too! BE HONEST WITH YOURSELVES, guys. VERY disappointing.

  • Critic Uncle
    Critic Uncle 3 years ago

    Book of Shadows is tampered with and underrated. I love it better than this one

  • Alexa Extraordinaire
    Alexa Extraordinaire 3 years ago

    Stupid people discussing a stupid film. Go see Mama and stop trying to make Blair Witch happen!

  • Alexa Extraordinaire
    Alexa Extraordinaire 3 years ago

    I love the original Blair Witch, I love The Guest and You're Next but I HATE Blair Witch 2016. Dumb, ugly and totally unnecessary. Book of Shadows, I forgive you.

  • TheWolverineX2
    TheWolverineX2 3 years ago

    The witch looks like a monster from grave encounters

  • DonPeyote
    DonPeyote 3 years ago

    Did they see the same movie I saw? The drone in this was absolutely WASTED! We get 2 shots from it and that's it!

  • Renee Benson
    Renee Benson 3 years ago

    Why not a prequel

  • Ut_dt 94
    Ut_dt 94 3 years ago

    How can you be satisfied with the bullshit? Jesus.
    "I like just about everything" oh shut the fuck up... I guess it's your opinion, but in my opinion your opinion sucks ass....

  • Edward Branscomb
    Edward Branscomb 3 years ago

    Spoiler: This movie sucked

  • George Snickerz
    George Snickerz 3 years ago +1

    I'm genuinely the biggest fan of the original blair witch film. I'm shocked you guys praised is so much as fans of the first one. It was TOO fast for me, I didn't get to know or care about these people at all. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my time in this movie and I want to see it again, but I didn't want to see the witch! That was the worst move ever!!! It lost me 100% on that one. They could've got away with one time, but you see it a good three times for two seconds each time. On top of that, the jump scares really brought it down as well... but I didn't hate this movie... I'm only being hard on it because I love the first one so much. The time loop thing kind of changes the genre for me almost, it's very BIG compared to the first one in that way that makes it hard to be actually frightened. I would've done things so differently...

  • jothegreek
    jothegreek 3 years ago

    so this movies is great but dc movies suck youtube critics ruin the whole thing about movies and especially dc movies with their rotten expectations

  • MOUNTAIN
    MOUNTAIN 3 years ago +3

    i am floored about the amount of people, well known critiques, liking, even praising this movie.
    one of the many aspects that made the original so great and creepy, was that you DONT SEE THE WITCH. it isnt even clear if there was a witch or not.. it was ambiguous and brave, because the makers didnt have anything to loose. in 2016 there is a LOT the production company could loose, and so they play it save. they show the witch, they make it clear that something supernatural is going on. jump scares, a bit of blood, HD picture - there you go. lets see how many people will talk about this a year from now. i am not saying the "blair witch" is bad, there were good moments in it, and wingard know how to build up tension, but give me a break here.. it is NOT a new step in horror, it is nothing special.. it is a 2016 remake/sequel of a classic. and with so many remake/sequels these days, the guys behind it simply failed to understand what made the original so special.

    • George Snickerz
      George Snickerz 3 years ago +1

      YES THIS THIS THIS I dont hate it but I can't stand that it's so.... 2016 horror. I wanted it to break ground and change the game again like the original did. I did the opposite.:///

  • Antonio B
    Antonio B 3 years ago

    It's like the original.

  • shaunii
    shaunii 3 years ago +3

    The most uncomfortable moment in the film is when the girl gets stuck in the underground tunnel. I felt claustrophobic watching!

  • ZEGS i
    ZEGS i 3 years ago

    Can you guys do a spoiler review of VHS and VHS 2?

  • Lin Mac
    Lin Mac 3 years ago

    everyone is saying they loved the original but they forget that in the first one they didnt need to look at the witch in order for her to kill them. in this one its the same till the end when the stupid brother says look in the corner, dont look at the witch made no sense compared to what the first one does. i think the movie was fun but not accurate mythology wise.

  • dave1105
    dave1105 3 years ago

    I hated this movie. I hated the first one and I really hated this one. Found footage movies suck.

  • Draven G
    Draven G 3 years ago

    Am I the only one that didn't care for the look of the witch? I mean she was pretty much just that thing with the long limbs from the end of Quarantine/REC

  • PlagasX
    PlagasX 3 years ago

    Can't believe they didn't talk about one of the most horrifying scenes (and also featured heavily in the trailers..) when she was stuck in the hole... O_O the claustrophobia killed me!

  • NoxZero
    NoxZero 3 years ago

    I'm not as thrilled over the mythology because there's alot of found footage movies out there. Two are VHS and Grave Encounters and Blair Witch borrows from both. Specifically the UFO short from VHS.

  • JOE SELF
    JOE SELF 3 years ago

    It was...ok. I think it stole from the original a little too much at times. I think the original is a brilliant film and should have been a standalone film. Way better than the 2nd movie but nowhere near as good as the original. 7/10
    P.S. MORE WENDY LEE!!

  • Wilks363
    Wilks363 3 years ago

    Didn't enjoy it. They relied far to much on the simple jump scare =
    Someone runs up quietly behind another person taps them on the shoulder
    "Its me" Aaaahh.repeat every 5mins. = Watch the original instead (And
    they make better use of daytime and still make it more unsettling)

  • Theclaw Yaww
    Theclaw Yaww 3 years ago

    blair witch is the most boring movie i have ever seen

  • JDM408
    JDM408 3 years ago

    lol, the Blair Witch design is pretty much the Medeiros girl design and the demonic spirit from Mama.

  • Angelo1218
    Angelo1218 3 years ago

    Overall, I was disappointed. I got a few scares out of it to be worth the price of admission but in the end they used the same old scary movie tropes.

  • Blue Side of Manchester

    You guys are losing credibility if you think that the drone was used in a great way in this movie. It was practically USELESS. How can you defend the use (or lack thereof) of the drone? What a joke.

  • Horrorhouse 00
    Horrorhouse 00 3 years ago

    12:40 - best description ever!

  • Thatmoviegeek
    Thatmoviegeek 3 years ago

    I loved the original Blair Witch. It's one of my favorite horror movies ever and I love how the movie feels like an actual found footage film that looked like real footage that somebody found somewhere. The actors we're great and there we're no jump scares. I thought this film was okay. It is certainly better than Blair Witch Book of Shadows. First off, the Cons: The actors and characters we're all mostly bland and poorly written and they weren't as memorable as the original crew and the jump scares annoyed the crap out of me. There's also the girl with her feet that is wounded to the point of being taken off and she decides that it's a good idea to climb the tree to get the drone (which is impossible because of her injury). Now with the Pros: the last twenty minutes are really intense and while i wish the film would have left it open ended for a sequel, it was still great to see the house recreated and the witch (which kind of look like a giant monster/alien) and I love how they expanded on the mythology of the woods and the witch. I actually like the way they used the witch and how they showed it which I didn't think I would. Now on to the ending, is Heather still alive and lost in time or she dead and the witch played mind tricks on them?

  • Insanity Gaming
    Insanity Gaming 3 years ago

    Good movie but very frustrating at times

  • Chris Patino
    Chris Patino 3 years ago

    I absolutely loved this movie! I'm a fan of the original and I thought this was a creative, creepy, & intense horror movie and a great sequel. 9.5/10. I know, right?! Pretty damn high score I know, but hey, I thought it was terrific. Great review, Collider crew 👍👍 Keep bringing the filthy!

  • Shelby Kist
    Shelby Kist 3 years ago

    Is anyone going to mention how the spot where lane found the tape was where the house was at? It was literally at the entrance of the forest. Remember the tree that was hit by lightning? The house must exist in its own dimension.

  • Brian Hurst
    Brian Hurst 3 years ago +2

    I loved the subtle commentary on jump scares, after the movie does a few the characters themselves are like "can people stop doing that?"

  • Brian Hurst
    Brian Hurst 3 years ago +1

    This was a great sequel/soft reboot in the vein of Fury Road, Force Awakens and Creed. Fans of the original get new things built into the mythology but it also stands alone for new viewers and recreates/updates the feel for this generation. Great review guys

  • Woe Sha Ling
    Woe Sha Ling 3 years ago

    it was ok, but i got so peeved with all the characters moving like ninja's. walking in the woods is never silent

  • Sauron Merciful
    Sauron Merciful 3 years ago

    there is no need for another blair witch movie, this movie explains that there is this evil area in the woods for which there is no escape, controlled by the witch. its a death trap basically. hence the sign at the 'boundary' which writes no entry after dark. which implies maybe other people have been lost there. if they make another blair witch movie, it will have to involve destroying the witch, to bring it to an end!!

  • Thelonius
    Thelonius 3 years ago

    The original movie was not about a Witch! It was about two murders using the guise of a Witch to murder someone! If you don't get that you don't get the Blair Witch original!!! Which completely undoes this so called sequel.. cause the Witch was never real!! And undoes Book of Shadows too!

    • ScrapMetalHead
      ScrapMetalHead 3 years ago +1

      Someone recently watched film theory from matpat

    • GoggleFoetus
      GoggleFoetus 3 years ago

      There creators of the origin
      al have done but come out and said "There was no witch". Opinion is irrelevant and only highlights ignorance.

    • GoggleFoetus
      GoggleFoetus 3 years ago

      There creators of the origin
      al have done but come out and said "There was no witch". Opinion is irrelevant and only highlights ignorance.

    • gaiuslittleboot
      gaiuslittleboot 3 years ago +1

      Whatever dude-- original was ambiguous, but there was obviously a witch (IMO). In a companion piece they even said the footage was found buried under a structure that had been constructed before they even went missing. Witch was playing with time.

  • Ian Smart
    Ian Smart 3 years ago +2

    Is it me, or is this movie GRAVE ENCOUNTERS in the woods? I liked it, but I got such a vibe of those 2 films.

    • AQUA NEON
      AQUA NEON 3 years ago

      i said the same thing to myself after i saw it. but that is some scary shit being trapped in eternal night in the woods with no way out, creepy stuff there. same thing with the hospital in grave encounters.

  • Jayne S.
    Jayne S. 3 years ago

    I got so motion sick from this movie I found it to hard to appreciate it.

    • Larry Lachmann
      Larry Lachmann 3 years ago +1

      I had the same reaction, plus a mild headache. That's never happened to me before. very strange.

    • Jayne S.
      Jayne S. 3 years ago +1

      I really like Adam Wingard's films so I wanted him to make changes for the better not relying on cheap found footage tricks.

  • Prodigy
    Prodigy 3 years ago +6

    Hated it. Jump scares was so overused that it actually started to piss me off after the third. They're in the woods! Leaves and branches are covering the ground! How many times can anybody fucking sneak up at you out of nowhere!?!?!

    • Brody Ellis
      Brody Ellis 3 years ago

      True. Instead of saying hi or something, these characters like to greet each other by tackling each other out of nowhere

    • RipleyE2092
      RipleyE2092 3 years ago

      I counted 7 fucking annoying false jump scares 😒😔

  • Jackie Welch
    Jackie Welch 3 years ago +2

    I like the 'entered a he'll dimension' theory

  • 3:33
    3:33 3 years ago

    wow.... u guys are easily impressed for "horror fans".

  • Tekk Luthor
    Tekk Luthor 3 years ago

    19:51 because they Star Wars 7nth the Blair Witch project

  • Tekk Luthor
    Tekk Luthor 3 years ago

    17:47 fill in the blanks

  • J.C. MOVIE REVIEWS
    J.C. MOVIE REVIEWS 3 years ago +1

    It's better than the original....I SAID IT!

    • gaiuslittleboot
      gaiuslittleboot 3 years ago

      It's the original remade on a higher budget.But since it sold itself as a sequel, it fucked up. Totally disappointing. No film has made me this mad in awhile-- terrible, terrible ending. Fuck this film.

  • Eli Acevedo
    Eli Acevedo 3 years ago

    I enjoyed the exploration of the time travel aspect of the first movie, with Lane from the future having uploaded the footage that starts the movie in the first place

    • Eli Acevedo
      Eli Acevedo 3 years ago

      I mean, it wouldnt be the strangest thing for him to find his own footage, especially in the delirium he was stuck in. But the whole "never getting out of the forest" would put a damper on it

    • gaiuslittleboot
      gaiuslittleboot 3 years ago +1

      Lane never made it out to upload it. Or do you think he found his own footage? But why would he leave it to warn himself, if he knew that's what got him into it?

  • Trevor Kortum
    Trevor Kortum 3 years ago

    Why do people hate Book of shadows? You want a film to push the mythology? It did so very well. I enjoyed book of shadows more than this new one. I'm in the rare area of liking all 3 Blair witch films with the new one being the worst of the trilogy.

  • MrAlcazar
    MrAlcazar 3 years ago

    2016: The year of disappointments. I like PerrI, but she has horrible taste in movies.

  • mrcooldeadly85
    mrcooldeadly85 3 years ago +6

    Pretty much majority of ppl comments say this film was a disappointment and basically the same.

    • Juan A.
      Juan A. 3 years ago +1

      The movie almost has the same vibe as the first but the last 10-20 mins is intense.