Who Are You Trying to Impress? - Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 24, 2018
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! First 250 people who head to skl.sh/2pg2H31 will get 2 months of Skillshare for only $0.99
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Amazon: geni.us/geaWa
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Newegg: geni.us/A6gG
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 at their store: geni.us/Pf1cl
    The Thinkpad X1 Carbon 6th Gen is the suit of laptops, but is it still good when the tie comes off?
    Buy Thinkpad X1 Carbon:
    On Amazon: geni.us/yinG
    On Newegg: geni.us/D2fV
    Discuss on our forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/920107-who-are-you-trying-to-impress-thinkpad-x1-carbon-6th-gen-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - instagram.com/linustech Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 638

  • Tank M
    Tank M 2 days ago

    Only fatal flaw in my opinion with this laptop, that I found, (which includes all of the late model Thinkpads) is the relocation of the CTRL and FN keys. There was no reason to swap those keys. For those of us that also have company PCs or docking stations with regular keyboards docked, it’s a total pain to have to consciously remember when switching between the two. The Ideapads don’t do this and neither does any other manufacturer. They took one of the best keyboards in the industry and messed it up in one fell swoop.

  • Fridde von Frankenstein

    It's really too bad that Lenovo is still unable to use decent trackpads in their laptops. I've been a longterm Thinkpad user myself and still am, i grew up with the trackpoint as well but nostalgia doesn't make that thing any better than the shitty, outdated pointing device that it is. It's just there, because trackpads used to be even shittier and in lenovos case they unfortunately still are. Use a great trackpad with decent palm recognition for a while (aka. Razer Blade Stealth, MBP, Surface Book,...)and you won't shed a tear for this red little pimple whose only purpose (imho) it is to leave a dull spot on your screen if you carry it around a lot. Yes I know you can take it off but then theres this empty spot with the plastic holder which just looks like something has broken off. It's like picking between cancer in the left or the right testicle. Ok, I'm done ranting. Now, I shall be stoned....*grabspipe* xD

  • Timothy J. Holloway
    Timothy J. Holloway 5 days ago

    Linus seems like a geek. Not a normal geek but someone who doesn't want to be or act reasonably normal. Why? It doesn't help anyone. Why not talk in a more normal tone of voice? Maybe it's branding. If he was more normal in his voice and mannerisms, he might not be as recognizable after all these years.

  • temp_name_change_later

    X1 extreme review?

  • AetherDash
    AetherDash 5 days ago

    SkEELshare

  • Apoptosis
    Apoptosis 6 days ago +7

    Bad review for a great laptop.

  • NETVO TV
    NETVO TV 13 days ago +6

    1:32 so if laptop like MacBook Pro doesn’t have that Ethernet port, what it have to do to connect to cooperation network?

  • Nick Souza
    Nick Souza 15 days ago

    I got the same laptop, now running Ubuntu. I need to somehow run a triple external monitor setup, all extended, no need for the laptop screen. I've read contradicting opinions about the lenovo usb-c dock (40AC). Do you happen to know if it works with ubuntu, have you tried to run such setup?
    thanks,
    Nick

    • Nick Souza
      Nick Souza 6 days ago

      +Joeri Dijkstra Hi Joeri, thanks for the reply. I wasn't able to find the answer anywhere so I ended up buying the cheaper option, the lenovo DU9019D1 dock, it runs off of an USB 3.0 port, it has outputs for two screen via two dvi ports coming out of the docking station. I haven't received it yet, I hope it works, I am just looking to run two older 1080p monitors off of it plus another monitor off of the hdmi port coming out of the laptop it self, giving me a total o 3 screens. Thanks again for the help.

    • Joeri Dijkstra
      Joeri Dijkstra 6 days ago

      Hey Nick, the ports aren't really an os thing as much as a firmware thing. So it should be fine, but remember, that bandwidth might be a limiting feature. If you have 2 screens running off of your USB c output, they will most likely be 1080p60hz or 4k30hz.

  • Alan Campbell
    Alan Campbell 15 days ago

    4:25 Why not just plug in so decent headphones?

  • Alex D
    Alex D 17 days ago

    Its good that you were able to come out and say that you are not a trackpoint guy. Lenovo, its time to let go.

  • Mike Baas
    Mike Baas 19 days ago

    Suit is substance.

  • Rylie Alferez
    Rylie Alferez 22 days ago

    Then what it's your favorite laptop?

  • Sanjivan Rane
    Sanjivan Rane 23 days ago

    Its about time to make a review video for Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Extreme, isn't it?

  • Silver Ace X
    Silver Ace X 23 days ago

    I never use my laptop's speakers

  • Jack Windensky
    Jack Windensky 25 days ago +3

    I used to use this laptop for work. It was good, keyboard was awesome, resolution was awesome, the only downfall was a bit less style (that port was awesome too). I thought about buying one for myself but man it's pricy as hell.

    • Tianze Zhang
      Tianze Zhang 2 days ago

      Lenovo s high price is only bluffing, go to the slickdeal or DealMoon app, you will find the thinkpad is always on 30-40 percent off

    • marco fava
      marco fava 15 days ago

      Look into the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro (Both normal and GTX Editions).
      Amazing laptop, good build quality, long battery life, same components available and they don't run higher than 1200$ (the top model with the i7 8650U, 16 gigs of ram, GTX1050 and 256 gig ssd with one open slot)

  • Stefan Hansen
    Stefan Hansen 27 days ago

    Is this gen 5 or 6?

  • Brenton Edwards
    Brenton Edwards 27 days ago

    Linus is without a doubt the biggest tosser in tech.

  • Darkstar
    Darkstar 28 days ago

    Steadily creating a mess?
    Step in front of a runaway train, just to feel alive again
    Pushing forward through the night, aching chest and blurry sight
    Aching chest and blurry sight, aching chest and blurry sight

  • Justin Kim
    Justin Kim Month ago

    Is that really called the "mouse nipple"? lmao

  • Sonari N. Roulette
    Sonari N. Roulette Month ago

    What even is a thinkpad without a nipple??

  • Indrayani sawargaonkar

    I know who I am 1:22 I want thin and ligt and I want to plug My stuff in

  • Kiriiya
    Kiriiya Month ago +1

    2:57 shift + win + s
    yw

  • Michael Heins
    Michael Heins Month ago

    Lenovo ThinkPad 👍

  • The Real Cool Pup
    The Real Cool Pup Month ago

    Who are you trying to impress Linus with your two ads.

  • Boeing 797
    Boeing 797 Month ago +1

    Laptops need more variety these days. Don't discourage Lenovo now, guys.

  • Boeing 797
    Boeing 797 Month ago

    I'd still have a ThinkPad T61 alongside it. Older ThinkPad keyboards always comfort me.

  • Moonface00z
    Moonface00z Month ago +6

    18mm keyboard buttons travel. LOL sorry i know there is correction but i was like WTF for a moment

  • Sajith Dharmasena
    Sajith Dharmasena Month ago

    This video is hard to watch

  • Jon
    Jon Month ago

    2:55 Macs already aha e been doing this

  • Peter F. Wolf
    Peter F. Wolf Month ago +2

    I actually like small track pads, cause the large ones always in my way when I'm writing my novel :D so mainly that's why I will go with this laptop for work! :)

  • Hal
    Hal Month ago

    Nice laptop but... DDR3. In 2019. And to add insult to injury, soldered to the mainboard.

  • Romain Provost
    Romain Provost Month ago

    This or huawei matebook x pro for photo/vidéo éditing ?

  • Scheff
    Scheff Month ago

    This laptop was amazing! It was my workhorse for 4 years, no problems. The only reason I gave it away was because the screen wasn't glossy style.

  • Tovarisch Mayor
    Tovarisch Mayor Month ago

    2:55 you can press win+shift+s for it

  • Right Wing Safety Squad

    The thing that struck me about the webcam wasn't the camera, but how unaccably bad the microphone is.

  • camXmile
    camXmile 2 months ago

    That shitty title though.

  • Bacho.chanturia Bacho.chanturia

    Mazafaqa lenovo👎👎👎👎

  • Red Phoenix
    Red Phoenix 2 months ago +2

    @3:22 ... because Thinkpad customers apparently like physical buttons, that's why Lenovo changed it.
    @5:59 Do you know any build-in webcams that do better and are more suited for conference calls or are you trying to be nitpicky?

    • Pwnde
      Pwnde 26 days ago

      surface go has a marginally better webcam..

  • KennyKartel
    KennyKartel 2 months ago +1

    The power button is the not necessarily the right placement when you have multiple users on one machine

  • SaigoNoBoss
    SaigoNoBoss 2 months ago

    What 13inch laptop/ultrabook has the best keyboard?

  • ishmam rahman
    ishmam rahman 2 months ago

    I hate the fat guy with white hair

  • Anoniimooz
    Anoniimooz 2 months ago

    So is an XPS 15 better or worse than the thinkpad x1

  • Gabriel Leung
    Gabriel Leung 2 months ago

    People buy Thinkpads for their incredible durability. My ThinkPad has survived a hot chocolate attack on the keyboard and is still working at its peak condition.

  • acon571
    acon571 2 months ago

    I work in IT for a company and we have deployed many of these along with the docks. They are decent but we are switching to Dell. Too much proprietary crap.

  • Ferdie Adlwn
    Ferdie Adlwn 2 months ago +1

    Small trackpad? There's a mouse for that. 😒

  • WILLYBOY WALLACE WOLF
    WILLYBOY WALLACE WOLF 2 months ago

    Your videos are terrible

  • CasualYoutuber
    CasualYoutuber 2 months ago +5

    I work in consulting for almost 5 years, never used t f webcam. Don't recall anyone using it ever...

  • Ade2Bee
    Ade2Bee 2 months ago +3

    Nothing could be as bad as the Macbook 12"?

  • zirthu
    zirthu 2 months ago

    consistently good in reviewing in gadget... all i need to know in one video clip

  • homie beaglePG
    homie beaglePG 2 months ago

    no lan

  • Biak Hui
    Biak Hui 2 months ago

    Why all these wanker descriptive animations featuring same assholes as you are ? Plus your fucking high pitch voice ! What a fucking pathetic anal tool ! 😀 😀 😀

  • Red and Blue Yo
    Red and Blue Yo 2 months ago

    1:22 yes i want thin and light and want to plug my stuff in 😎

  • davidothedorito
    davidothedorito 2 months ago

    why are your reviews so negative?

  • Livet på to hjul
    Livet på to hjul 2 months ago

    Can you make a video about Carbon Black Defense?

    • iukeay
      iukeay 2 months ago

      It is trash.....

  • The Ace TroubleShooter
    The Ace TroubleShooter 2 months ago

    Schigity shwo!

  • CompliceBeginings
    CompliceBeginings 2 months ago

    "Let's stress test the thermal throttling of a laptop that people are going to use for Microsoft Office." Is that how that meeting went?

  • Evarate
    Evarate 2 months ago +3

    TrackPoints are something you will learn to appreciate if you fly a lot.IMO.

  • Ash Ryver
    Ash Ryver 2 months ago +8

    We use Thinkpads in our company and I can say that Lenovo's keyboard is one of the best typing experience that I've ever had.

    • roz
      roz 2 months ago

      Is it good to use in light video edit

  • Yue Fan
    Yue Fan 2 months ago

    2:32 video title haha.

  • Tenferenzu
    Tenferenzu 2 months ago +1

    Make them 16:10 then we would:
    1) get bigger batteries
    2) bigger trackpads
    and everyone is happy! :)

  • Francis Osuna
    Francis Osuna 3 months ago

    Like Huawei, ZTE, Taiwan-registered Lenovo too is found by the Chinese Communist Party military to spy on the West. They work for Xi Jinping. (ck it out)

  • KeenAesthetic1
    KeenAesthetic1 3 months ago +2

    Not a trackpoint guy?!!
    Sir, please. Remove your hands from that Carbon. Please.

  • Ruel Smith
    Ruel Smith 3 months ago

    The smaller track pad prevents you from accidentally touching it while typing and getting strange mouse movements.

  • Brenton Edwards
    Brenton Edwards 3 months ago

    Linus is just getting more and more annoying as time goes by.

  • Nathan Hromanik
    Nathan Hromanik 3 months ago

    Track point is life!

  • Bojan Knezevic
    Bojan Knezevic 3 months ago

    Omg only TVclip content creators complain about camera!!! Don’t you realize that?

  • Ella G.
    Ella G. 3 months ago

    😂 The best review ever! 😁🤣🤣👍

  • Arnav Chadha
    Arnav Chadha 3 months ago

    I got it for 1299 from costco and it is 16 gb lpddr3 and i7-8650 with a 512 gb. I love it with my rx580 egpu

  • Talitha Fetty
    Talitha Fetty 3 months ago

    It’s for work, it’s made for people who have to have something like that because they have to take care of the vital functioning of society, and probably to plot our destruction. Everything else gets in the way. I’m serious when I say, if that trackpad gets in the way, or apple does one planned obsolescence update, people will die.

  • Ricky Thompson
    Ricky Thompson 3 months ago

    Not a track point guy...lost all respect

  • Orson S
    Orson S 3 months ago

    Is no one going to mention the amount of cat hair on that guy's blazer?

  • Eddie O'Connor
    Eddie O'Connor 3 months ago

    I've been a ThinkPad user since 2011!....and my T-420's?...T-430's....and T-450?...KICK ASS!...I'm just saving up my pennies for an X1 Carbon to add to my collection!...

    • Eddie O'Connor
      Eddie O'Connor 2 months ago

      +Tina Mathur Yeah....and I've been in IT since '99...so I've gotten to "play" with almost ALL of the high-end devices out there. (Desktop Support...Exchange Admin) so when the guys from DevOps need "customized" Razer laptops?..I get to sample them for at least a week or two....that also includes the Advertising Execs who need Dell XPS's...and the corporates who need MacBooks or HP Elitebooks....but to my mind?....of all the laptops I've ever handled....used...owned?...NOTHING beats that "Lenovo Keyboard"!...LoL! Sleek and light is nice, but if it feels like you're typing on RICE PAPER?...then none of the speed or processing power matters!....gimme "heavy and great" over "light and cheesy"! hahaha!!

  • PentiumMMX133MHz
    PentiumMMX133MHz 3 months ago +1

    I've been using a trackpoint everyday since I had my first thinkpad maybe 7 years ago.I would never use a touchpad again (well... i kinda like the macbook touchpad,but the computer... meh)

    • Xuanpu Qian
      Xuanpu Qian 29 days ago

      Agreed. Just got the X1 Carbon. This very reason has been a big factor of my choice(I've used it before). I do not regret a bit, it's just sooooooo good.

  • Martin Zanichelli
    Martin Zanichelli 3 months ago +3

    3:34 HERESY HERESY !!! You criticized the red track point !! You even dared to mention its sacred name !!

  • Nathan Grodsky
    Nathan Grodsky 3 months ago

    Linus you must respect the nipple!

  • Scotty Zepplin
    Scotty Zepplin 3 months ago

    I've tried track point and i find them utterly ridiculous. But that's just me.

  • Toto Ortiz
    Toto Ortiz 3 months ago +2

    So why is this so pricey? When I can get a gaming laptop with same specs plus a dedicated GPU for similar if not cheaper? Legit question.
    I really like this laptop, but that's what's stopping me.

    • Panurge
      Panurge 2 months ago +2

      The security features, the durability, the I/O ports, the design features of the thinkpad line. It's more for business than for gaming so there isn't a ton of reasons to buy this over a gaming laptop if you don't need that other stuff

  • angus mclaren
    angus mclaren 4 months ago

    X1 Carbon does indeed make IT happy, hence I am happy. They're easy to config for our security and overall the end users are genuinely happy. As a personal machine, no, as a business machine heck yes.

  • sam Sam
    sam Sam 4 months ago

    I bought X1 carbon gen 6, It is a terrible design really. You can check it yourself. If you use Ethernet gen2 cable which comes by laptop (Lenovo ThinkPad Ethernet Extension Adapter Gen 2) in order to connect the normal Ethernet cable to the laptop, you cannot use USB-C that is located beside that as these ports are too close to each other and the design of the extension cable is too silly and thick that prevents you have two ports in the same time!

  • Skwrl Fuzz
    Skwrl Fuzz 4 months ago +1

    NOT A TRACKPOINT GUY? WHAT

  • Brad B.
    Brad B. 4 months ago

    I was considering getting one just because it's a good desktop replacement with LTE-A.

  • Bojan Kotur
    Bojan Kotur 4 months ago

    Dude complaining about a small trackpad when trackpoint is 10x better! Must have never tried a Thinkpad x230 either :P

  • Johanna Segura
    Johanna Segura 4 months ago

    Dude. Sorry. But if you check the website it says carbon....not plastic.

  • marcusdumitru
    marcusdumitru 4 months ago

    Linus, stop being sorry that your not a "nipple" guy, and actually learn how to use one. Than, you'll understand us, why we evolved and never ever touch a touchpad. I don't even know why they do exist on a Thinkpad...

  • Adeesh
    Adeesh 4 months ago

    Really the clickable pad as a whole is very annoying for some people like me :P

  • Pavan Maddipatla
    Pavan Maddipatla 4 months ago

    Hi sir I love lenovo thinkpad x serious but I don't have full amount money if u give seconds I will buy
    Thank you

  • Steve Brule
    Steve Brule 4 months ago

    but doesn't the touch screen get more use than the track pad? so why do you need a large track pad?

  • Earth Needs A Man
    Earth Needs A Man 4 months ago

    So what? Use a headset.

  • Kyle Lambert
    Kyle Lambert 4 months ago

    your acting is so cringe, just review the damn thing!

  • Levo75
    Levo75 4 months ago

    I know how to count all the way to schwifty five.

  • theBraxil
    theBraxil 4 months ago

    Girlfriends age? My IQ?

  • Brah
    Brah 5 months ago

    MacBooks used to be seen as a status symbol now it's Think Pads.

  • Bryan Kerr
    Bryan Kerr 5 months ago

    My work bought this for me. I love it. It’s incredible.

  • Pete E
    Pete E 5 months ago

    Snipping tool on the Print Screen button = SnagIt

  • Finian Blackett
    Finian Blackett 5 months ago

    Just got the X1 Extreme, the performance oriented variant. It's amazing.

  • The Wiedźmin
    The Wiedźmin 5 months ago

    RIP maxine!LOL

  • Jannis Adamek
    Jannis Adamek 5 months ago

    what's with all the reviews judging the speaker sound, who would watch a movie using them anyways? use headphones, speakers...

  • AirIUnderwater
    AirIUnderwater 5 months ago

    Trackpoint is love.

  • Jonathon Doig
    Jonathon Doig 5 months ago

    3.29 Mouse nipple 🤔 They should only ever be on mice 😂

  • John Appleseed
    John Appleseed 5 months ago

    3:09 Look at that comically massive touchpad. How do you comfortably keep your palms from touching it and randomly clicking on things? You don't!