Who Are You Trying to Impress? - Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 24, 2018
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! First 250 people who head to skl.sh/2pg2H31 will get 2 months of Skillshare for only $0.99
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Amazon: geni.us/geaWa
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Newegg: geni.us/A6gG
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 at their store: geni.us/Pf1cl
    The Thinkpad X1 Carbon 6th Gen is the suit of laptops, but is it still good when the tie comes off?
    Buy Thinkpad X1 Carbon:
    On Amazon: geni.us/yinG
    On Newegg: geni.us/D2fV
    Discuss on our forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/920107-who-are-you-trying-to-impress-thinkpad-x1-carbon-6th-gen-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - instagram.com/linustech Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 638

  • Skwrl Fuzz
    Skwrl Fuzz 21 hour ago

    NOT A TRACKPOINT GUY? WHAT

  • Brad B.
    Brad B. 6 days ago

    I was considering getting one just because it's a good desktop replacement with LTE-A.

  • Bojan Kotur
    Bojan Kotur 9 days ago

    Dude complaining about a small trackpad when trackpoint is 10x better! Must have never tried a Thinkpad x230 either :P

  • Johanna Segura
    Johanna Segura 10 days ago

    Dude. Sorry. But if you check the website it says carbon....not plastic.

  • marcusdumitru
    marcusdumitru 10 days ago

    Linus, stop being sorry that your not a "nipple" guy, and actually learn how to use one. Than, you'll understand us, why we evolved and never ever touch a touchpad. I don't even know why they do exist on a Thinkpad...

  • Adeesh
    Adeesh 11 days ago

    Really the clickable pad as a whole is very annoying for some people like me :P

  • Pavan Maddipatla
    Pavan Maddipatla 13 days ago

    Hi sir I love lenovo thinkpad x serious but I don't have full amount money if u give seconds I will buy
    Thank you

  • Steve Brule
    Steve Brule 13 days ago

    but doesn't the touch screen get more use than the track pad? so why do you need a large track pad?

  • Coding Traveller
    Coding Traveller 17 days ago

    So what? Use a headset.

  • Kyle Lambert
    Kyle Lambert 17 days ago

    your acting is so cringe, just review the damn thing!

  • Levo75
    Levo75 20 days ago

    I know how to count all the way to schwifty five.

  • theBraxil
    theBraxil 23 days ago

    Girlfriends age? My IQ?

  • Brah
    Brah 28 days ago

    MacBooks used to be seen as a status symbol now it's Think Pads.

  • Bryan Kerr
    Bryan Kerr 28 days ago

    My work bought this for me. I love it. It’s incredible.

  • Pete E
    Pete E Month ago

    Snipping tool on the Print Screen button = SnagIt

  • Finian Blackett
    Finian Blackett Month ago

    Just got the X1 Extreme, the performance oriented variant. It's amazing.

  • Afro Shit
    Afro Shit Month ago

    RIP maxine!LOL

  • Jannis Adamek
    Jannis Adamek Month ago

    what's with all the reviews judging the speaker sound, who would watch a movie using them anyways? use headphones, speakers...

  • AirIUnderwater
    AirIUnderwater Month ago

    Trackpoint is love.

  • Jonathon Doig
    Jonathon Doig Month ago

    3.29 Mouse nipple 🤔 They should only ever be on mice 😂

  • John Appleseed
    John Appleseed Month ago

    3:09 Look at that comically massive touchpad. How do you comfortably keep your palms from touching it and randomly clicking on things? You don't!

  • World Wide Music
    World Wide Music Month ago

    I still have my 240p Webcam from 2001, never use it since like 2003 - cause nobody do video chats anymore! Just throw away all the damn cameras and make it all display

  • AtomKiLLa OnE
    AtomKiLLa OnE Month ago

    Thinkpad's rule, Linus ... end of statement and any discussion sir. !

  • Live Leak
    Live Leak Month ago +1

    Speakers are crap on X1 as well as keyboard it’s a lot of noise when you typing and you don’t even mention that in the video, therefore I’ll keep my MacBook Air

  • Drugz and Medicines

    What happened to the girl with blue hair , who used to try those things ?!? Why I have to tolerate this hideous Chinese guy ?!? ..... is Linus gay ?!

  • ALHAMIM MAH
    ALHAMIM MAH Month ago

    Seriously! mouse nipple? 😒

  • Charles Yeo
    Charles Yeo Month ago

    I like my tools to look like tools. I don't want my tool to look like a unicorn.

  • Thomas Reid
    Thomas Reid Month ago

    Been using this for just over a year for uni work like taking notes or just small things in unity, game maker or unreal engine and then the odd bit of gaming like hearthstone and wow when I'm waiting around and it's been great, light as fuck, small and since it was a refurbished one it was 50% of the price where the only bits of damage on it is where the cpu and OS stickers have been worn.

  • Alan Oswald
    Alan Oswald Month ago

    old boy has a cat worth of hair on his blazer.

  • Odorous Smegma
    Odorous Smegma Month ago

    Tell your boy to comb the lice out of his beard and brush his teeth.

  • Sebastiano Busato
    Sebastiano Busato Month ago

    You can use autohotkey to configure snipping tool to any key combo, on any laptop. I've got mine set to alt+print screen.

  • Karthik S Purushotham

    3:34 soorry soory

  • Andreas H Nielsen
    Andreas H Nielsen Month ago

    Sry Linux, but if you are used to the fingerprint reader being at the right of the touchpad, then it's the right and fastest. It's also the closed place for you hand, when you opening the lid of the laptop.
    The touchpad could indeed have a better used of the space, but in my opinion with the buttons moved to the bottom the touchpad, and maybe without the trackpointer. Like an old school laptops touchpad .

  • Pale Blue Geek
    Pale Blue Geek Month ago

    1809 automatically maps to the PrtScn with the new Snip and Sketch update.

  • rednight
    rednight Month ago

    It successfully impresses people that actually do real work with their computer.

  • ZesPak
    ZesPak Month ago

    Rofl 7:20.
    Linus: We built a fricking bedroom, we're going to use it goddammit!

  • Ruemer Santillan
    Ruemer Santillan Month ago

    The keyboard has 18mm key travel????

  • RadicalEdward37
    RadicalEdward37 Month ago +1

    Didn't you guys already kind of do this video when you compared the thinkpad 25 anniversary edition to the 97 one? Maybe there's a big difference but i personally just watched that video and if i knew this was the same one i probably wouldn't have clicked on it, just saying...

  • Cato Rodi
    Cato Rodi Month ago

    A Thinkpad is a Thinkpad, you don't compare it to other laptops.

  • John Ledbetter
    John Ledbetter Month ago

    Gay porn vibe.

  • Fabio Akita
    Fabio Akita 2 months ago +3

    Please do a Thinkpad P1 review. None of the big channels reviewed the P1 and it's the one workstation that far surpass the MacBook Pro top configuration

  • Erik Kubica
    Erik Kubica 2 months ago

    You for get one very important point, dell and others have no "military" grade stuff which adds on price and lifespan of the device.

  • NovaDelta
    NovaDelta 2 months ago

    glossy screens are gay

  • Damian M
    Damian M 2 months ago

    Linus it would be cool if you could make a video about Lenovo and how they white-list parts by an integrated chip so you cannot upgrade or replace your batteries and WiFi cards.

  • kar oma
    kar oma 2 months ago

    Will you just shut up about webcams!.. if I could order a laptop without webcam or mic I would

  • camelazo
    camelazo 2 months ago

    7:23 speaking about urinary diseases, we can recommend antiurine, the only solution to help you with that irruption!! CMON this channel sucks

  • unabonger777
    unabonger777 2 months ago

    this guy is a complete dipshit, absolutely complete, and he has 7 million subscribers.

  • Olimato !
    Olimato ! 2 months ago +1

    18mm key travel....... ok.........

    • unabonger777
      unabonger777 2 months ago

      guy is an absolute moron, but tawks like a geeek so he must smurt errr

  • eric guizzetti
    eric guizzetti 2 months ago

    damn those bezels are ugly...

  • Breathingspace
    Breathingspace 2 months ago

    WQHD anti-glare is just the best option for this laptop. The HDR might be nice but once you've started using matte displays the gloss is even more horrific.

  • Big Bird
    Big Bird 2 months ago

    Someone fire Colton

  • Ahmed Boussabeh
    Ahmed Boussabeh 2 months ago

    i feel a bit frustrated when you guys struggle for a 6 hours battery life . and then i remember that i bought a lenovo ideapad 320 with a shitty 3 hours AT MAX as a batterylife . so , is using a battery extender ( as a power bank ) something good ??

  • Jesse Bulk
    Jesse Bulk 2 months ago

    I have bought this laptop. I'm a student and I got something like $400 discount for students. Very nice laptop.

  • antihero3zx
    antihero3zx 3 months ago

    Trackpoint forever! shame shame shame!

  • Jay Chimo
    Jay Chimo 3 months ago

    Whom

  • brickedmyphone
    brickedmyphone 3 months ago

    Poor upgradiblity broke the deal for me i need to be able to upgrade my computer

  • Wally Hamdan
    Wally Hamdan 3 months ago

    just do't buy the OLED Screen, mine last 13 months. And It will cost $600 to replace it. LENOVO didn't cove it with the warranty, because It is over 12 months. I paid almost US $2,500.00 for this Laptop.

  • Hiro
    Hiro 3 months ago

    Can I play Indies with it?

  • Glory Gaming
    Glory Gaming 3 months ago

    Do a Lenovo thinkpad e480 review @linustechtips

  • Dukez Venom
    Dukez Venom 3 months ago

    Am i the only person that really loves extremely low key travel? I dont like long key travel at all

  • Kimheng Srun
    Kimheng Srun 3 months ago

    a moouse nippleeeee WTF

  • KajiRider1997
    KajiRider1997 3 months ago

    I hate that Lenovo is trying to make ALL the thinkpads ultrabooks instead of making many series for many uses. they even cancelled the P series. which sucks because I was hoping of getting a newer model with a modular drive. ALSO that whole modular thing, Remember when IBM thinkpads where known for that stuff? Its like Lenovo forgot why they bought the brand. Like EA does with pretty much everything they can get their greedy little hands on.

  • INΦNITI
    INΦNITI 3 months ago

    Is that JingYang in Silicon Valley??

  • Vladimir Ljubopytnov
    Vladimir Ljubopytnov 3 months ago

    best keyboard on the market... so sad :/... we had such great keyboards in past... it would have been such a differentiator for lenovo to have at least the option for the non-chiclet keyboard with layouts we loved... just buying a t25, but thats pre-owned.. thing of a past also..

  • Mohammad Saputra
    Mohammad Saputra 3 months ago

    Can you make a video review thinkpad x1 carbon vs eurocom shark 4

  • Adrienn Pinter
    Adrienn Pinter 4 months ago

    thinkpad owner

  • Yousitech
    Yousitech 4 months ago

    Lol I disabled my track pad and use only the trackpoint

  • Edwin Trejo
    Edwin Trejo 4 months ago

    Shitty porn music

  • Inter-dimensional Lizard

    What's bad about the webcam? It looked fine in this video.

  • SN4VИ DJ F!SH BEATS M4Я7!И [SDFBM]

    FEELS SOFT AND GOOD ON THE HANDS THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID LOL

  • Freedom Fighter
    Freedom Fighter 4 months ago

    thinkpads are favorite among certain hackers. i think the thinkpad is prettier than surface & dell xps. and old time ibm thinkpad users are fans of the 7 row keyboard and hate the new chicklet lenovo keyboards.
    the camera is good enough for conference calls, why because bandwidth isn't quite there to support greater definitions, everyone i know that uses video conference calls ends up turning the video off and staying with only audio, because wifi just won't cut it, and nowadays using RJ45 cable feels just awkward for most people, feels ancient. And if the call has more than 2 oh boy it becomes harder even for audio only calls. so that argument goes out of the window.

  • Dave
    Dave 4 months ago

    "shmattering"?
    Are you out of your mind?
    SMATTERING.

  • Zhang Bao
    Zhang Bao 4 months ago

    I came here for the review, few seconds into the video, it came to a short gaming device review

  • BHUSHA BHUSHA
    BHUSHA BHUSHA 4 months ago

    Lol I got mine at 33%off

  • Jensi Oquendo
    Jensi Oquendo 4 months ago

    "not a TrackPoint guy"
    *Heretic.*

  • Sanakh
    Sanakh 4 months ago +1

    Can not understand why laptops webcam are always crap… Even on a 100$ smartphone, it is better … That's a shame.

  • Trash Bin
    Trash Bin 4 months ago

    Can this run warthunder

  • LegendaryVegeta
    LegendaryVegeta 4 months ago

    who the fuck even uses speakers?
    everyone should headphones lol
    and no peakers = larger battery

  • ini the man
    ini the man 4 months ago +49

    ThinkPads are supposed to be ThinkPads, not macbooks. I don't understand the obsession with bigger trackpads. If anything, it is easier to type if you have a smaller or nonexistent trackpad. That seemed like a pretty good webcam to me but, then again, it is hardly the thing that I value most in a laptop. Now when it comes to being able to replace RAM, the X1 Carbon is a FAIL. It seemed pretty great up until that point.

    • The Garden of Eatin
      The Garden of Eatin Day ago

      The webcam looked fine, especially for video conferencing. The microphone, on the other hand, was a diaper fire.

    • Adrian
      Adrian 27 days ago +2

      The fuck are you on about, just buy a tablet?

    • Dead Dinosaur
      Dead Dinosaur Month ago

      Agreed, i really wish they still made laptops without trackpads/touchpads/whatever, just have touchscreens and trackpoint and you got a great combo.

  • Memory Foam
    Memory Foam 4 months ago

    The thumbnail makes you look like the zucc with cheekbones

  • himynameistim
    himynameistim 4 months ago +1

    Linus is completely out of touch with business laptops and why people buy Lenovo. You should just stop reviewing them, it's embarrassing.

  • himynameistim
    himynameistim 4 months ago

    Those kids that are using the lenovo, look retarded. Can they not figure out how to use the trackpoint and the click? Or the trackpad and the click? Clicking on the trackpad is a nonsense apple gimmick. no improvement over what lenovo offers you.

  • Rehman Khan
    Rehman Khan 4 months ago

    lenovo needs to come up with a better touch pad and screen for thinkpads, there is so much competition in the market that thinkpads will not get away just because of good keyboards now days. Even their 1080p screen is too dull and pathetic.

  • Builder
    Builder 5 months ago

    You didn't say if you can use a pen on the touch screen like on the Yoga 920...

  • grady jr
    grady jr 5 months ago

    Sometimes there is a need to impress. Some of us can't do the young guy, no nothing thing, showing up in a t-shirt w/an apple product. If that's the case then Thinkpad is the choice.

  • Cees Timmerman
    Cees Timmerman 5 months ago

    Just hook up some proper speakers when you want to watch movies.

  • Martin Endres
    Martin Endres 5 months ago

    For Snapping Tool on the Print screen I use a tool called greenshot, it allows you to save your screenshot, forward it to Office applications or edit it and it launches with the print screen button

  • Hasibul Haque
    Hasibul Haque 5 months ago +44

    Linus don't encourage Lenovo X1 carbon series to have a bigger track pad. We use it for typing and non stop functionality. It's better and more ergonomic to have a middle sized track pad is better.

    • The Garden of Eatin
      The Garden of Eatin Day ago

      +Haden Odom I use trackball mice, so I've been known to use my trackball while walking around with a laptop. I never have understood the point of huge trackpads; I tend to rest my wrist on the computer while using it, so if I have to pick up and move my wrist...Why don't I just pick up and reposition my finger?

    • Haden Odom
      Haden Odom Month ago +7

      That, and nobody ever uses the trackpad on these. If you're at a desk you have a mouse (admit it: everyone plugs in their mouse to their laptop when at a desk) and if you're not a desk, the trackpoint is just fine. Trackpads need to go extinct.

    • Cato Rodi
      Cato Rodi Month ago +5

      Yeah, I freaking hate maxipads that rely on software to not move when you're typing. The size of the X1C is more than enough.

  • Andrei Agulescu
    Andrei Agulescu 5 months ago

    that camera looked pretty well imo. the sound not so much.

  • Shayn Hacker
    Shayn Hacker 5 months ago

    So I could use this with Android Studio and lots of coding and have fast build times even as the code gets bigger and bigger?

  • 6809Darton
    6809Darton 5 months ago

    can you tell me is that the non touch X1 , is that screen LCD shiny look like glass or not

  • Pandhêga Palibaya
    Pandhêga Palibaya 5 months ago

    Track Point just for retro aspect. It's more like branding

  • Bacon
    Bacon 5 months ago

    Trackpoint shits all over touchpad so no point even talking about the touchpad.

  • rufiao
    rufiao 5 months ago

    Stupid reviewer

  • stockjonebills
    stockjonebills 5 months ago

    Terrible docks that dont work well with their own laptops. Recall on the 5th gen.

  • S Tea
    S Tea 5 months ago

    Chinese spy laptop

  • Yuki Akahaka
    Yuki Akahaka 5 months ago

    i like thinkpad niple//////

  • Alejandro
    Alejandro 5 months ago

    Can this joint run Fortnite ?

  • Tanishq bhaiji
    Tanishq bhaiji 5 months ago +1

    It looks like a nice gaming laptop

  • egg
    egg 5 months ago

    I LOVE my ThinkPad, it's a 2015 model yoga 12 but it has a Wacom digitizer in the screen so I can draw on it. It does everything I need it to Including low end games like minecraft and Garry's mod