Who Are You Trying to Impress? - Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 24, 2018
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! First 250 people who head to skl.sh/2pg2H31 will get 2 months of Skillshare for only $0.99
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Amazon: geni.us/geaWa
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Newegg: geni.us/A6gG
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 at their store: geni.us/Pf1cl
    The Thinkpad X1 Carbon 6th Gen is the suit of laptops, but is it still good when the tie comes off?
    Buy Thinkpad X1 Carbon:
    On Amazon: geni.us/yinG
    On Newegg: geni.us/D2fV
    Discuss on our forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/920107-who-are-you-trying-to-impress-thinkpad-x1-carbon-6th-gen-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - instagram.com/linustech Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 457

  • Evlo
    Evlo 7 hours ago

    they should not have, now that i know (semi)matte and touch is possible, i will just want it everywhere :(

  • Jacob David Cunningham

    I was so obsessed with this laptop briefly but not a fan of those red dots and also it's 14" ahh
    "mouse nipple" haha

  • Rejor111
    Rejor111 5 days ago

    So many people getting butt-hurt about the track-point. I've tried the track-point several times and I can't justify its existence when there are more versatile trackpads. This is one thing I think Lenovo could improve on the Thinkpad. Make a trackpad that is as good as Apple's or Dell's, and it'll be much better.

  • ryan2390
    ryan2390 6 days ago

    I would like to see more reviews of these business laptops. I use a T470 for work and it's a fantastic machine. It's got a decent selection of I/O ports and whilst the screen resolution and brightness on the model I have leaves room for improvement it's a solid notebook and would consider buying one for personal use if I was after a new laptop.

  • atsporty
    atsporty 6 days ago

    Almost an honest review +++

  • ahmnad hasan
    ahmnad hasan 11 days ago

    Hey linus can you do the asus vivobook f510ua ?

  • Eduardo Avila
    Eduardo Avila 12 days ago +1

    Everything soldered? NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!!

  • Ryoku Hasu
    Ryoku Hasu 13 days ago

    Lenovo sucks, they claim "water damage" on anything RMA'd

  • Jimmy James
    Jimmy James 14 days ago

    What's the coil whine like?

  • AthruZGaming
    AthruZGaming 15 days ago

    $2k... nah

  • THERAZORKILLE
    THERAZORKILLE 15 days ago

    I just wish they'd bring back the 7-row keyboard at least as an option for ALL models, not just the anniversary edition (which was a big middle finger to the enthusiasts in my view).

  • Michael Smith
    Michael Smith 17 days ago

    Gg

  • Jaroslav Reznik
    Jaroslav Reznik 17 days ago

    I had Carbon X1 2nd gen before, it was a great device but as I have T470s now, I really don't see many reasons why should I grab another X1. Yes, it's a bit heavier, slightly thicker but much more powerful, does not overheat that much and feels more solid. And then price...

  • Royce Barber
    Royce Barber 17 days ago

    I miss the asian lady. The hand model. She was my fav of all your employees by a long shot.

  • Mmm
    Mmm 19 days ago +1

    This earrings are the gayest things on TVclip

  • EnusHouston
    EnusHouston 21 day ago

    I prefer the acer nigr\
    o 5 gay

  • Robert Hill
    Robert Hill 21 day ago

    a sponsored video with a sponsor in it and another sponsor in the link

  • Ross Zhu
    Ross Zhu 21 day ago

    You should see how much they sell this in China. They charge way more in China than in US. A Chinese company? LOL

  • Konata Izumi
    Konata Izumi 21 day ago

    What’s keeping me buying the ThinkPad is the TrackPoint.
    Little red dot are awesome, I never tried Carbon. But I love my T470. They aren’t on the top of the line but heck they are reliable.

  • Handsome_Hero
    Handsome_Hero 21 day ago

    Linus the MacFag

  • PlatinumEagleStudio's

    Linus stop talking shit about the track pad. It doesn't matter if its slow or small because Lenovo isn't trying to make this laptop the best. Plus, the track point is better then a track pad cause its way more accurate. So please stop talking shit and cut Lenovo some slack ok? You don't need to bash them that hard all because of a stupid track pad. Sorry but I'm disliking this cause you hate the track point. Why you can't see that the track point is awesome is beyond me.

  • Mr. Tarafder
    Mr. Tarafder 22 days ago

    Who watches movie on Thinkpad ? Those who buy thinkpad got their very own personal room, and they don't waste their time when they are outside or on the go.

  • Moe Bol
    Moe Bol 22 days ago

    I never understood how every reviewer seems to hate the front facing webcam. I don't think there is a single front facing webcam on the planet that is good. They just don't make it.

  • ANO NA MGA PEENOISE GG NA LARRIORS HAHAHAHA

    *PLEASE DO A rEVIEw ON THE LENOVO ideapad 720s*

  • Zackery Toler
    Zackery Toler 23 days ago

    They changed the title!!!

  • Fred Fang
    Fred Fang 23 days ago

    I think Lenovo is basically a lost case.

  • Sunny Chen
    Sunny Chen 24 days ago

    Linus can you comment on this Lenovo X1 carbon 6gen VS dell xps 13 9370? Which one do you prefer?

  • Ryouhei Sumitomo
    Ryouhei Sumitomo 26 days ago

    Track point is middle mouse and touchpad .. so useful .

  • weedbreeder
    weedbreeder 26 days ago

    You don't buy thinkpads. You get assigned a thinkpad. The only reason you buy a thinkpad is if you are part of the procurement team buying it for your company.

  • Kino Zomby
    Kino Zomby 27 days ago

    Ur mom

  • Jose Mattey
    Jose Mattey 27 days ago

    Please review the T480S is an interesting comparison with its ddr4, 1050gpu, LTE and Qhd panel. It’s a tough decision to choose between the x1 carbon and t480s

  • TheMightyMedia
    TheMightyMedia 27 days ago

    XPS 13 9370 or X1 Carbon Gen 6?

  • Manos Protonotarios
    Manos Protonotarios 29 days ago

    can somebody explain to me why nobody is reviewing the x1 tablet??

  • Carl Leo
    Carl Leo 29 days ago

    That red nipple is so disgusting

  • Tong Zou
    Tong Zou Month ago

    Webcam quality looks fine to me... I mean its only going to be used to see someones face so 720p is fine..

  • Emile de Jong
    Emile de Jong Month ago

    >Using a trackpad.

  • Mark Wright
    Mark Wright Month ago

    I think if I was going to take a lot of notes i'd probably buy a mac. They are thin and lightweight and MacOS is pretty much designed for productivity. They look nice and have decent screen and battery life. And they just hold their value better in the long run. If I wanted to sell it after 1 year of use, i'd most likely be able to get a decent wad of money back again. The ergonomics are designed for comfortable and efficient working. I've had both Windows and Mac laptops before and I have to say. I always enjoyed using Mac on the go more. But obviously my gaming PC will always run windows, i'd never get a mac as a desktop. That would be foolish

  • How to Suck at Gaming

    Downvoted for 3 reasons. #1. No mention of gaming ability, which is usually in every review. #2. Comparing a PC to a Crapbook for any reason. And #3.

  • Muhammad Fikkar Faruqi

    I rarely comment on yt, but This Thinkpad 1X is my favorite and I decide it deserve a positive comment on LTT channels. I runs small local company providing network infrastructure services. I have 1st gen X1 carbon (2012-2013), and I use it roughly. Sometimes I even use it on outdoor area, like On rooftop with some rain exposed to the laptop when I have to go on field to help my colleagues setup Wireless Radio devices. And inside the office, I rarely turn it off, usually i let it powered on besides my work desk to monitor network traffic and use it as my secondary PC. And yet it still working relaibly until today. The only issue now is the battery can barely hold a charge, but that is it. I used to have Fujitsu S series and HP Spectre, but none of them can hold up reliably with my type of usage. I think, it would be interesting if Linus do some kind of reliability test for this laptop like he did with the Dell XPS 13, or even like drop test he did with the Corsair AX1200i PSU. Do it Dell XPS 13 vs X1 carbon. I will be very happy to see the result.

  • Codeplayer
    Codeplayer Month ago

    Fluorescent lights? Does anyone really still use them? Fluorescent is far more expensive and the light is also very bad quality, compared to quality brand LED luminaires from either Osram or Siteco or similar.

  • Mush V. Peets
    Mush V. Peets Month ago

    For me the mouse nipple tends to usually be nothing more than a productivity-reducing device... Having the opportunity to play with nipples is just too distracting. :P

  • Jeff Groves
    Jeff Groves Month ago

    Trackpoint is cancer.

  • Creep Eye
    Creep Eye Month ago

    Anyone else think that the thumbnail was Mark Zuckerberg before clicking?

  • Fiftyy
    Fiftyy Month ago

    Uh oh. You've angered /g/

  • Ameerhun1996
    Ameerhun1996 Month ago

    For some reason, the name sounds like a reference to a car in Burnout Paradise

  • Facehunter2003
    Facehunter2003 Month ago

    The good ol nipple in the keyboard.

  • Peter Xu
    Peter Xu Month ago

    thumbnail looks like the zucc

  • ROOFAKT
    ROOFAKT Month ago

    Sleep well at night XD

  • Jack L. Frost
    Jack L. Frost Month ago

    x260 has a clickable trackpad :(
    Shame the X1 doesn't.

  • StainlessSteve
    StainlessSteve Month ago

    ur dad gay

  • Roen
    Roen Month ago

    mouse nipple ?

    • Roen
      Roen Month ago

      my ex had that disease

  • NAchOLIbReee_
    NAchOLIbReee_ Month ago

    Track Point =

  • Emmanuel Istace
    Emmanuel Istace Month ago

    Thinkpad X series is the worst, it's like a consumer grade thinkpad laptop. Just buy the T or P entry thinkpad, those are the real deal.

  • BananaDoe
    BananaDoe Month ago +1

    This is more focused on businesses to give their employees the ability to take their work around the office/home.

  • Stefano Di Gregorio

    Like my new insta. Its a doggo
    instagram.com/p/Biz4IaCnoXU/

  • Frankie Miller
    Frankie Miller Month ago

    Enormous plot whenever excited can routine norm creature mix reinforce desire.

  • Otter
    Otter Month ago

    The berkel video in the keyboard test part... 👀👀👀

  • Crazycatman
    Crazycatman Month ago +2

    Linus: *I really like unlocking my computer with my face*
    Me: Smacks face into laptop

  • Luis Gonzalez
    Luis Gonzalez Month ago

    Why would you admit to not being a track point guy? Are you trying to make me unsubscribe

  • hibou647
    hibou647 Month ago

    So I've noticed you are quite a glossy screen enthusiast. Please remember that for some of us Mate is the only viable solution because of our sensitive eyes.

  • Sam
    Sam Month ago

    My last couple of computers have been Lenovos. I like them. Only exception is the keyboard and mouse is a little off center and hard to get used to. I still put my fingers in the wrong spot if I'm not looking. Limus seems to like this keyboard, but I'm skeptical of that. It doesn't look like they changed it.

  • Justin Bagdon
    Justin Bagdon Month ago

    Gimme a t420 with new ram and ssd and i'd be happier

  • wokeboi202
    wokeboi202 Month ago

    2:25 when he said 18mm I was like "Holy shit that's some serious workout for each finger!"

  • ranoonay
    ranoonay Month ago

    Unless you’re a complete vacuum, you have substance 😉🤓

  • napalmhavica
    napalmhavica Month ago

    Most people don't need a laptop like this, but I've been tracking this niche market of laptops. You see, for those of us who work on the road, we have to rely on wifi and mobile hotspot data for internet on most laptops, and carriers severely limit how much hotspot data you can use every month. With devices like this you can put a sim card in it and have unlimited data. I'm waiting for a gaming laptop that has a sim card slot. Right now the best you're gonna find I think is the Microsoft surface pro, but that is far from a gaming laptop.

  • Tiago de Aviz
    Tiago de Aviz Month ago

    Dude, compare apples to apples. A ThinkPad should be compared to the Latitude, not the XPS.

  • cheeseburger
    cheeseburger Month ago

    I clicked away when I saw the red dot

  • felixthefox
    felixthefox Month ago

    please send it to me.

  • gameflux
    gameflux Month ago

    Interesting !

  • gregor bencat
    gregor bencat Month ago

    the small trackpad is fucking gold for linux users i hate big ones so much

  • Fionn Anderson
    Fionn Anderson Month ago

    Please review the x1 yoga next

  • The Shadow Man
    The Shadow Man Month ago

    What the hell happened with the basic convenience to upgrade the RAM, why does it need to be soldered on the board ?

  • stockjonebills
    stockjonebills Month ago

    Meh Lenovo as of late wouldn't be my first choice. The proprietary ethernet connection docks on these things aren't the best. At my work we have T540p's and they are terrible.

  • ᚛᚛᚛ ᚜᚜᚜

    Linus you don't really need face recognition to unlock it. With that nose you may directly hit the keyboard from distance.

  • H. P.
    H. P. Month ago

    It would be worth looking at if it came with a different OS. Like RedHat or Pop!OS

  • The Anonymous Sir Backspace

    >I'm not a trackpoint guy
    *takes out pitchfork*

  • Don Parmezano
    Don Parmezano Month ago

    Can i do some gaming on this laptop with lenovo 1050 GTX egpu? I mean how effective is cooling system when we are talking about hours of turb boost performance.

  • sam work
    sam work Month ago

    18mm keytravel? really?

    • 6Datboi9
      6Datboi9 Month ago

      1.8mm, if you didn't see it.

  • Ahmet Refik Eryilmaz

    mousenipple.

  • robber98
    robber98 Month ago

    The price on Lenovo website is expensive. The price at Costco is much more reasonable.

  • Sylak
    Sylak Month ago

    I have a 3rd gen X1 and love it. Except that the FHD screen panel is a Cheap TN. The definition is perfect IMO for a 14" screen, but the viewing angle and color suck. And as weird a it sound. I love the look of it. I don,t like apple style. the rugged look appeal to me. So even design wise, I would choose the Carbon between the DELL and Surface.

  • eyaleng
    eyaleng Month ago

    Lots of homos in that house...

  • Animation World
    Animation World Month ago

    where does his all the pc , laptops , macbooks, xbox,ps and etc. goes ?
    hmm
    he could do a great giveaway if he dont need them :P

  • Belisarius SPQR
    Belisarius SPQR Month ago

    why do only user review mention serious overheating issues when Video youtube is on??? People measured 90 Celsius.

  • Jeffrey Samuels
    Jeffrey Samuels Month ago

    The only thing I could ever see a thinkpad being used for is to run a pen testing OS.

  • Acerbane
    Acerbane Month ago

    I still don't know who will go out and buy a $1500 laptop and then feel good about themselves.

  • Alexander Colon
    Alexander Colon Month ago

    You Guys could check out the Thinkpad X1 Yoga. Its basically the same device, but also a convertible and it is avaiibable with the HDR screen and a touchscreen.

  • Alan Wang #36
    Alan Wang #36 Month ago

    This sure brings back memories of playing games like megaman 3, final fantasy 7 and original pixel doom back in 2005. It all ended when it was smashed at the LAX airport. That's when my childhood ended.

  • Brandon Waldo
    Brandon Waldo Month ago

    Non-upgradable ram? Nope

  • areccus10
    areccus10 Month ago

    The webcam looks better than some of them that you said were okay, but then again you did say 2018.

  • stressball
    stressball Month ago

    Why haven't the Windows laptop world copied the MacBook trackpads yet? I don't understand. The Mac trackpads have been better than the PC equivalent for a decade at least.

  • Hgood1
    Hgood1 Month ago

    You’ve got scores of computer companies to choose from as well as tons of Lenovos without track point, so lay off my track point which makes it easier to navigate tight spaces. It’s obnoxious to put down those of us who year to year depend on Lenovo to provide the track point for those of us doing precise work.

  • Ming Wu
    Ming Wu Month ago

    Thunderbolt 3 ! I can use external GPU !!! I can finally edit video and use Photoshop

  • xcrafter_40
    xcrafter_40 Month ago

    The 18 mm key travel tho

  • Gus Kelty
    Gus Kelty Month ago

    For movies why do the speakers matter? At work, you would just use earbuds anyway.

  • jupitteer
    jupitteer Month ago

    i just got a 2nd gen one a few days ago, it's a great linux laptop

  • oof
    oof Month ago

    3:35 the Canadian in him is coming out

  • Magovit
    Magovit Month ago

    P51 review pls

  • Ser Garlan Tyrell
    Ser Garlan Tyrell Month ago

    I've got nothing against track pads, I just like nipples more.