Who Are You Trying to Impress? - Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 24, 2018
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! First 250 people who head to skl.sh/2pg2H31 will get 2 months of Skillshare for only $0.99
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Amazon: geni.us/geaWa
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 on Newegg: geni.us/A6gG
    Buy ZOTAC's MEK1 at their store: geni.us/Pf1cl
    The Thinkpad X1 Carbon 6th Gen is the suit of laptops, but is it still good when the tie comes off?
    Buy Thinkpad X1 Carbon:
    On Amazon: geni.us/yinG
    On Newegg: geni.us/D2fV
    Discuss on our forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/920107-who-are-you-trying-to-impress-thinkpad-x1-carbon-6th-gen-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - instagram.com/linustech Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 502

  • Hasibul Haque
    Hasibul Haque Day ago

    Linus don't encourage Lenovo X1 carbon series to have a bigger track pad. We use it for typing and non stop functionality. It's better and more ergonomic to have a middle sized track pad is better.

  • Andrei Agulescu
    Andrei Agulescu 7 days ago

    that camera looked pretty well imo. the sound not so much.

  • Shayn Hacker
    Shayn Hacker 8 days ago

    So I could use this with Android Studio and lots of coding and have fast build times even as the code gets bigger and bigger?

  • 6809Darton
    6809Darton 14 days ago

    can you tell me is that the non touch X1 , is that screen LCD shiny look like glass or not

  • Pandhêga Palibaya
    Pandhêga Palibaya 17 days ago

    Track Point just for retro aspect. It's more like branding

  • Bacon
    Bacon 20 days ago

    Trackpoint shits all over touchpad so no point even talking about the touchpad.

  • rufiao
    rufiao 20 days ago

    Stupid reviewer

  • stockjonebills
    stockjonebills 21 day ago

    Terrible docks that dont work well with their own laptops. Recall on the 5th gen.

  • S Tea
    S Tea 21 day ago

    Chinese spy laptop

  • Yuki Akahaka
    Yuki Akahaka 21 day ago

    i like thinkpad niple//////

  • alejandro73atl
    alejandro73atl 22 days ago

    Can this joint run Fortnite ?

  • Tanishq bhaiji
    Tanishq bhaiji 23 days ago +1

    It looks like a nice gaming laptop

  • D Roberts
    D Roberts 23 days ago

    I LOVE my ThinkPad, it's a 2015 model yoga 12 but it has a Wacom digitizer in the screen so I can draw on it. It does everything I need it to Including low end games like minecraft and Garry's mod

  • Dat Nguyen
    Dat Nguyen 25 days ago

    how long the battery is?

  • Apphi Bios
    Apphi Bios 27 days ago

    Please review P52.

  • t0nyc0nde
    t0nyc0nde 27 days ago

    I found this video to be a waste of my time. You say that the speakers are bad but don’t say how. Tinny sound? Volume too limited? Why bad? Then you say that the webcam is awful. Again, how is it awful to you? What makes it awful?

  • cwbh10
    cwbh10 27 days ago

    For 99

  • Matias Cufaro
    Matias Cufaro Month ago

    Every single review, every one, complains about the webcam. It's there a good one?

  • Sergio Díaz Nila
    Sergio Díaz Nila Month ago

    i want a thinkpad with an apple trackpad (2015, not the new big ones) , and at least the option to get rid of the numpad, i want a centered keyboard.

  • Ire Min Mon
    Ire Min Mon Month ago

    NO!
    NO BIGGER TRACKPAD!! WE NEED SMALLER TRACKPADS SO THAT WE DON'T HIT RANDOM SHIT ON THE SCREEN AS WE TYPE WITH TRACKPAD ENABLED. FUCK PALM REJECTION, GIVE ME A GOOD DRIVER THAT ALLOWS ME TO INCREASE SENSITIVITY AND A SMALL TRACKPAD.
    Also fingerprint sensor on the power button is gay, take into account people who don't want to put their fingers on random fingerprint sensors on computers that come preinstalled with a spy OS. Fingerprint sensor is a nice addition, but it shouldn't be imposed on the consumer.

  • QuidQuoPro
    QuidQuoPro Month ago

    Sorry Linus but I had to down vote because the complain about the touchpad. We who love the trackpoint almost only have Lenovo.

  • Yasmin Yacoub
    Yasmin Yacoub Month ago

    Can u do the Lenovo idea pad 8th generation

  • Rezan moh
    Rezan moh Month ago

    it wasn't enough for you to compare it with XP but also to a mac?!!

  • Traumglanz
    Traumglanz Month ago

    Fuck thin and light. P-Series and T-Series is where the fun starts.

  • Pasi Sallinen
    Pasi Sallinen Month ago

    You know if someone can buy a $1000+ machine i think they can afford a proper mouse and not torture their fingers by using a fucking trackpad

  • TotalSmashTV
    TotalSmashTV Month ago

    Speakers are straight horrible. Rest of the laptop is boss. And I mean... they are HORRIBLE.

  • Robson Parma
    Robson Parma Month ago

    Because Lenovo does not implement graphics and preformance cards in a 4k-screen notebook, offering high connectivity, processing power and speed, and a truly attractive design in carbon-fiber taking the x1 really to the top of the technology and at attractive prices because the ThinkPad X1 6th generation still looks like a middleman close to what many companies are proposing in notebooks with similar configurations. There's still something left for the public to love Lenovo just like IBM and it happens some time ago with Apple and Alieware.

  • Robson Parma
    Robson Parma Month ago

    Please, make a comparative video between ZBOOK STUDIO x360 and MACBOOK PRO taking into account videomakers and designers and professional musicians. Which platform offers better performance and responsiveness without bugs and processing bottlenecks on these respective machines. MAC OS or Windows. Which one is the champion.

  • gtrmusic69
    gtrmusic69 Month ago

    18 mm keyboard travel......yeah.....ok

  • SimSimHH
    SimSimHH Month ago

    Hi, can someone please explain to me whether the Intel processor number (i5 vs. i7) or the generation of the processor (6th, 7th, 8th) makes a bigger difference in processing power/speed/stability? For example, if I have the choice between an i5-8th gen or an i7-6th/7th gen, which should I go with? I use the laptop for business purposes, so a lot of MS Excel, web-browsing, many windows open at the same time. Looking to start learning coding (probably Python) soon as well.
    Any insight would be greatly appreciated! Thank you

  • Peelin it Back
    Peelin it Back Month ago

    I actually love my X1 Carbon. Love it more then my surface book 2.

  • Zahir Raihan
    Zahir Raihan Month ago

    Its a very nice laptop....man dont be so rude

  • Muzikman127
    Muzikman127 Month ago

    How on earth is 720p video not good enough for conference calls...? The picture is clear and literally far higher resolution than the box your face will be occupying on the screen of whoever's calling you... Even if you're fullscreen, why on earth is like 4K ultra HD video necessary for... for conference calls?
    I'm literally watching this video fullscreen on a work's laptop with a 1080p resolution, fullscreen and like... the video at 5:48 is crystal fucking clear... 1366x768 isn't even an uncommon resolution on in service laptops to this day, and, again, you're rarely going to be full screen anyway....
    As for the audio quality, you clearly have noise reduction enabled which is what gives it the "in a box" audio effect, and this effect is usually enabled by default on work machines to block out the sound of background chatter. If you turned it off you'd probably have pretty good audio quality too.

  • Muzikman127
    Muzikman127 Month ago

    I get this is maybe not the habit of most consumers, but for from my point of view:laptop speakers are always going to be shitty. The nature of what a laptop is and how it's built means that, at best, you're going to have some speakers that are completely shitty for music and just about passable for movies/TV.
    For that reason, I pretty much always use a laptop either with headphones, or, more likely, a bluetooth speaker like a JBL flip 3 (or even a clip 2 which is tiny and mono and cheap but still miles better than literally any laptop speaker on the market)
    I'd say, if you're going to watch movies (or especially if you're going to listen to music), spend 40-100$ on a small bluetooth speaker, and don't let the quality of the inbuilt speaker be a factor in your laptop choice...

  • ArmedPenguins
    ArmedPenguins Month ago

    Which should I buy? - Dell XPS 15 9565 or Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon (both 2018 models)

  • McRibs
    McRibs Month ago

    *whom

  • zeroinone inzero
    zeroinone inzero Month ago

    is this fake dolby vision/hdr display panel?

  • Kyle
    Kyle Month ago

    1:12
    This is the same guy who skips his IQ tests and makes bad life decissions.

  • JIONGSEN LAI
    JIONGSEN LAI Month ago

    The feel of the touchpad is really good. So I would like to suggest them building a larger touchpad into a non-trackpoint version. Let the market determine which is the best.

  • creates_things
    creates_things Month ago

    "sorry, i'm not a trackpoint guy." *TRIGGERED*

  • Thomas Bekkenes
    Thomas Bekkenes Month ago

    For companies: Problems with Lenovo is getting the drivers into SCCM . Its not on par with Dell in regards to simplicity.
    Secondly, i have always struggled with getting the 4G working without downloading the update app after the laptop has been reimaged, even if all drivers are in SCCM.
    Secondly, they use Microsim, and for Norway and Telenor at least, its a #"%"¤T#QT&#, simply because the SIM cards are no "3 in 1", meaning you break out the part you need, from full size to nano. And they specifically tell you not to use "adapters".
    Most times its ok, sometimes very fidgety .
    And in regards to the laptops design, its a bit dated, and aimed and people in their late 40s who wear a striped suite.
    The keyboard is not very nice to use unless you are used to them over a longer timeperiod.

  • Imperiom
    Imperiom Month ago

    WOW
    THATS PRETTY GOOD
    1TB and so thin

  • TheArrogantOne
    TheArrogantOne Month ago

    because of stupid wankers like you we got the T540 stupid shit. you want bigger pad, buy a macbook and stop giving stupid ideas to lenovo.

  • Damidu Sandaruwan
    Damidu Sandaruwan 2 months ago

    Dude....I'm not particularly sure if you get paid from some other brand to work on this thing. But I reckon you have some serious comparison problem. You make one video about apples and keep talking about oranges most of the time. You remind me of a taller version of Howard Wolowitz in The Big Bang Theory.....! :D

  • Evlo
    Evlo 2 months ago

    they should not have, now that i know (semi)matte and touch is possible, i will just want it everywhere :(

  • Jacob David Cunningham
    Jacob David Cunningham 2 months ago

    I was so obsessed with this laptop briefly but not a fan of those red dots and also it's 14" ahh
    "mouse nipple" haha

  • Rejor111
    Rejor111 2 months ago

    So many people getting butt-hurt about the track-point. I've tried the track-point several times and I can't justify its existence when there are more versatile trackpads. This is one thing I think Lenovo could improve on the Thinkpad. Make a trackpad that is as good as Apple's or Dell's, and it'll be much better.

  • ryan2390
    ryan2390 2 months ago

    I would like to see more reviews of these business laptops. I use a T470 for work and it's a fantastic machine. It's got a decent selection of I/O ports and whilst the screen resolution and brightness on the model I have leaves room for improvement it's a solid notebook and would consider buying one for personal use if I was after a new laptop.

  • atsporty
    atsporty 2 months ago

    Almost an honest review +++

  • ahmnad hasan
    ahmnad hasan 2 months ago

    Hey linus can you do the asus vivobook f510ua ?

  • Eduardo Avila
    Eduardo Avila 2 months ago +1

    Everything soldered? NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!!

  • Ryoku Hasu
    Ryoku Hasu 2 months ago

    Lenovo sucks, they claim "water damage" on anything RMA'd

  • Jimmy James
    Jimmy James 2 months ago

    What's the coil whine like?

  • AthruZGaming
    AthruZGaming 2 months ago

    $2k... nah

  • THERAZORKILLE
    THERAZORKILLE 2 months ago

    I just wish they'd bring back the 7-row keyboard at least as an option for ALL models, not just the anniversary edition (which was a big middle finger to the enthusiasts in my view).

  • Michael Smith
    Michael Smith 2 months ago

    Gg

  • Jaroslav Reznik
    Jaroslav Reznik 2 months ago

    I had Carbon X1 2nd gen before, it was a great device but as I have T470s now, I really don't see many reasons why should I grab another X1. Yes, it's a bit heavier, slightly thicker but much more powerful, does not overheat that much and feels more solid. And then price...

  • Royce Barber
    Royce Barber 2 months ago

    I miss the asian lady. The hand model. She was my fav of all your employees by a long shot.

  • EnusHouston
    EnusHouston 2 months ago

    I prefer the acer nigr\
    o 5 gay

  • Robert Hill
    Robert Hill 2 months ago

    a sponsored video with a sponsor in it and another sponsor in the link

  • Ross Zhu
    Ross Zhu 2 months ago

    You should see how much they sell this in China. They charge way more in China than in US. A Chinese company? LOL

  • Konata Izumi
    Konata Izumi 2 months ago

    What’s keeping me buying the ThinkPad is the TrackPoint.
    Little red dot are awesome, I never tried Carbon. But I love my T470. They aren’t on the top of the line but heck they are reliable.

  • Handsome_Hero
    Handsome_Hero 2 months ago

    Linus the MacFag

  • PlatinumEagleStudio's
    PlatinumEagleStudio's 2 months ago

    Linus stop talking shit about the track pad. It doesn't matter if its slow or small because Lenovo isn't trying to make this laptop the best. Plus, the track point is better then a track pad cause its way more accurate. So please stop talking shit and cut Lenovo some slack ok? You don't need to bash them that hard all because of a stupid track pad. Sorry but I'm disliking this cause you hate the track point. Why you can't see that the track point is awesome is beyond me.

  • Mr. Tarafder
    Mr. Tarafder 2 months ago

    Who watches movie on Thinkpad ? Those who buy thinkpad got their very own personal room, and they don't waste their time when they are outside or on the go.

  • Ninety
    Ninety 2 months ago

    I never understood how every reviewer seems to hate the front facing webcam. I don't think there is a single front facing webcam on the planet that is good. They just don't make it.

  • ANO NA MGA PEENOISE GG NA LARRIORS HAHAHAHA

    *PLEASE DO A rEVIEw ON THE LENOVO ideapad 720s*

  • Zackery Toler
    Zackery Toler 2 months ago

    They changed the title!!!

  • Fred Fang
    Fred Fang 2 months ago

    I think Lenovo is basically a lost case.

  • Sunny Chen
    Sunny Chen 2 months ago

    Linus can you comment on this Lenovo X1 carbon 6gen VS dell xps 13 9370? Which one do you prefer?

  • Ryouhei Sumitomo
    Ryouhei Sumitomo 2 months ago

    Track point is middle mouse and touchpad .. so useful .

  • weedbreeder
    weedbreeder 2 months ago

    You don't buy thinkpads. You get assigned a thinkpad. The only reason you buy a thinkpad is if you are part of the procurement team buying it for your company.

  • Kino Zomby
    Kino Zomby 2 months ago

    Ur mom

  • Jose Mattey
    Jose Mattey 2 months ago

    Please review the T480S is an interesting comparison with its ddr4, 1050gpu, LTE and Qhd panel. It’s a tough decision to choose between the x1 carbon and t480s

  • TheMightyMedia
    TheMightyMedia 2 months ago

    XPS 13 9370 or X1 Carbon Gen 6?

  • Manos Protonotarios
    Manos Protonotarios 3 months ago

    can somebody explain to me why nobody is reviewing the x1 tablet??

  • Carl Leo
    Carl Leo 3 months ago

    That red nipple is so disgusting

  • Tong Zou
    Tong Zou 3 months ago

    Webcam quality looks fine to me... I mean its only going to be used to see someones face so 720p is fine..

  • Emile de Jong
    Emile de Jong 3 months ago

    >Using a trackpad.

  • Mark Wright
    Mark Wright 3 months ago

    I think if I was going to take a lot of notes i'd probably buy a mac. They are thin and lightweight and MacOS is pretty much designed for productivity. They look nice and have decent screen and battery life. And they just hold their value better in the long run. If I wanted to sell it after 1 year of use, i'd most likely be able to get a decent wad of money back again. The ergonomics are designed for comfortable and efficient working. I've had both Windows and Mac laptops before and I have to say. I always enjoyed using Mac on the go more. But obviously my gaming PC will always run windows, i'd never get a mac as a desktop. That would be foolish

  • How to Suck at Gaming
    How to Suck at Gaming 3 months ago

    Downvoted for 3 reasons. #1. No mention of gaming ability, which is usually in every review. #2. Comparing a PC to a Crapbook for any reason. And #3.

  • Muhammad Fikkar Faruqi
    Muhammad Fikkar Faruqi 3 months ago

    I rarely comment on yt, but This Thinkpad 1X is my favorite and I decide it deserve a positive comment on LTT channels. I runs small local company providing network infrastructure services. I have 1st gen X1 carbon (2012-2013), and I use it roughly. Sometimes I even use it on outdoor area, like On rooftop with some rain exposed to the laptop when I have to go on field to help my colleagues setup Wireless Radio devices. And inside the office, I rarely turn it off, usually i let it powered on besides my work desk to monitor network traffic and use it as my secondary PC. And yet it still working relaibly until today. The only issue now is the battery can barely hold a charge, but that is it. I used to have Fujitsu S series and HP Spectre, but none of them can hold up reliably with my type of usage. I think, it would be interesting if Linus do some kind of reliability test for this laptop like he did with the Dell XPS 13, or even like drop test he did with the Corsair AX1200i PSU. Do it Dell XPS 13 vs X1 carbon. I will be very happy to see the result.

  • Codeplayer
    Codeplayer 3 months ago

    Fluorescent lights? Does anyone really still use them? Fluorescent is far more expensive and the light is also very bad quality, compared to quality brand LED luminaires from either Osram or Siteco or similar.

  • Mush V. Peets
    Mush V. Peets 3 months ago

    For me the mouse nipple tends to usually be nothing more than a productivity-reducing device... Having the opportunity to play with nipples is just too distracting. :P

  • Jeff Groves
    Jeff Groves 3 months ago

    Trackpoint is cancer.

  • Creep Eye
    Creep Eye 3 months ago

    Anyone else think that the thumbnail was Mark Zuckerberg before clicking?

  • Fiftyy
    Fiftyy 3 months ago

    Uh oh. You've angered /g/

  • Ameerhun1996
    Ameerhun1996 3 months ago

    For some reason, the name sounds like a reference to a car in Burnout Paradise

  • Facehunter2003
    Facehunter2003 3 months ago

    The good ol nipple in the keyboard.

  • Peter Xu
    Peter Xu 3 months ago

    thumbnail looks like the zucc

  • ROOFAKT
    ROOFAKT 3 months ago

    Sleep well at night XD

  • Jack L. Frost
    Jack L. Frost 3 months ago

    x260 has a clickable trackpad :(
    Shame the X1 doesn't.

  • StainlessSteve
    StainlessSteve 3 months ago

    ur dad gay

  • Roen
    Roen 3 months ago

    mouse nipple ?

    • Roen
      Roen 3 months ago

      my ex had that disease

  • NAchOLIbReee_
    NAchOLIbReee_ 3 months ago

    Track Point =

  • Emmanuel Istace
    Emmanuel Istace 3 months ago

    Thinkpad X series is the worst, it's like a consumer grade thinkpad laptop. Just buy the T or P entry thinkpad, those are the real deal.

  • BananaDoe
    BananaDoe 3 months ago +1

    This is more focused on businesses to give their employees the ability to take their work around the office/home.

  • Stefano Di Gregorio
    Stefano Di Gregorio 3 months ago

    Like my new insta. Its a doggo
    instagram.com/p/Biz4IaCnoXU/

  • Frankie Miller
    Frankie Miller 3 months ago

    Enormous plot whenever excited can routine norm creature mix reinforce desire.