Underwater OnePlus 7 Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • My review and water test of the OnePlus 7 Pro. This is the fastest android phone on the market - has no notch, no hole but is somehow VERY water resistant.
    OP7 Pro - amzn.to/2WIlJ1J
    The pop-up camera on the OnePlus 7 allows this camera to have a completely clean front with no protrusions or visual obstructions. The curved edges look awesome but it's a change to the oneplus design that can hinder usability.

    Questions? Discord server is up! - discord.gg/Dave2D
    Background Music Fili - Closure
    Follow me:
    twitter.com/Dave2D
    instagram.com/Dave2D
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 473

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  9 days ago +2833

    The distortion and shimmering water in the jug made the phone look like it was turning off constantly. I was so distracted. Thanks for watching!
    Is the OnePlus 7 what you hoped for? Is it too expensive for what it is?

    • jorge barrantes
      jorge barrantes Day ago

      Don't worry Dave we were all sharing your concern :)

    • Emi Yuu
      Emi Yuu 2 days ago

      It appears that the wide angle doesn't work in Video format.

    • Emi Yuu
      Emi Yuu 2 days ago

      No 5G and No update to WI-FI 6 :(

    • Mahaveerprasad8109 Yogi
      Mahaveerprasad8109 Yogi 2 days ago

      Please please please please help Me contact

    • biocybernaut
      biocybernaut 3 days ago

      +sparkes44 for your information, this phone starts at $ 820 and goes all the way up to $ 950 in my country, NOT WORTH IT. Also, DONGLES SUCK: tvclip.biz/video/Ly-bSBHOSIo/video.html

  • FantasyNero
    FantasyNero Day ago

    3:52 My Big Point to Samsung and other Flagships please share my comment, Flat Screen is the best for use in everything even watching videos

  • BILLYCHIU.com
    BILLYCHIU.com Day ago

    can you use the sim card in an IPhone X with one of these?

  • Doctor Tamiz
    Doctor Tamiz Day ago

    How about when the camera is open in water

  • Shane Moore
    Shane Moore Day ago

    I like this phone. I would definitely buy this if it had inductive charging.

  • Noobwreckspros Fps

    Watch 11:18 in slow-motion.Thank me later😂😂😂

  • DavDifKi3 Brother
    DavDifKi3 Brother Day ago +1

    We just bought a bucket: They were buy a bucket for test the OnePlus 7 or more their product in the water to make the phone become *water* *resistant.*

    • DavDifKi3 Brother
      DavDifKi3 Brother Day ago +1

      OnePlus developer: we just bought a bucket, this is the link: tvclip.biz/video/2l7iiX5fHRc/video.html

  • Taufik Johari
    Taufik Johari Day ago

    One question, how did the phone survive 16 minutes underwater when the video is only 13:38 minutes long?

  • Travis Bickle
    Travis Bickle Day ago

    I hate curve edges

  • ZF H
    ZF H Day ago

    I want one.

  • M. Kucharski
    M. Kucharski Day ago

    is it still working, after couple of days?

  • Sampat K
    Sampat K Day ago

    They dropped a $700 phone for the US market because you guys are used to buying premium phones at upwards of $1000. They are providing a flagship service at a cheaper price than the "affordable" iPhone XR. Hypocrisy abounds.

  • Lyricc Master
    Lyricc Master Day ago

    You should do give away.

  • Harish KR
    Harish KR Day ago

    5:52,how that light works

  • AkoKumainTAE
    AkoKumainTAE Day ago

    What's the third party app

  • Rafael Liriano
    Rafael Liriano 2 days ago

    Anxiety is killing you!!!😂

  • Emi Yuu
    Emi Yuu 2 days ago

    Now drop the phone into a pool at least 6 ft to 12 ft and lets see what happens when the phone is under water pressure. Because most likely people will have the phone in the back pocket and jumping into a Pool.

  • Stealther
    Stealther 2 days ago

    please test out the connectivity of the phone with different bluetooth headphones/earbuds, and see if there's any with 0 latency thanks dave

  • iobawan
    iobawan 2 days ago +1

    This is not a real test. It says nothing. You had to disassemble it to check if water penetrated. And you had to measure conditions when the 'splash proof' fails -- e.g. at depth of 10m under water for 1h.

  • MN Design
    MN Design 2 days ago +1

    Underwater test idea is cool, BUT how will phone work two/three weeks after?
    Water make damages in the phone not so fast, you know

  • zermello franck
    zermello franck 2 days ago

    One plus 7 pro Better, cheaper

  • GSVTech
    GSVTech 2 days ago

    Dave Lee how about the Razor Phone does it has a 120 herts ?

  • Pragun Handa
    Pragun Handa 2 days ago

    Which third party app os being used for the edge interface? 4:12

  • Gal
    Gal 2 days ago

    I love the 90hz.. but...Curved screen, pop up camera... Meh, don't want neither in a phone. Disappointing..
    Also, there are much cheaper options with similar specs.
    Mi9 and Poco F2 (next week) both around the 350-450 USD.

  • Abhishek Sutar
    Abhishek Sutar 2 days ago

    The OnePlus is so fast that the clock ticks super fast than the video

  • Jc Mercadejas
    Jc Mercadejas 2 days ago

    I thought you were in front of me talking.. it feels different from you and I like it.

  • jan rico
    jan rico 2 days ago

    The point is they are getting expensive.. look at xiaomi ? Its high end is? Price is? .. that was one plus b4....then xiaomi will get expensive to.. thats samsung b4 when iphone leads... and thats huawei getting samsung..

  • Jian Wu
    Jian Wu 2 days ago

    我曾经说过 再买超过2999的手机 我就吃屎 .. 今天 直到 一加的出现 嗯

  • Adityan Krishna Rajendran

    @Dave So in order to evolve to an almost bezel-less display, we need to make some sacrifices which in this case is a motorized front facing camera. I see all reviewers complain about how slow the face unlock is. Don't you guys think that OnePlus intentionally made this mechanism slow in order to encourage users to use the fingerprint scanner instead in order to expand the life of the motor? There was a time when phones could only be unlocked one way, either front camera or fingerprint and we never complained. I mean nobody can obviously use both systems at the same time so why complain?

  • Mir Muneem Ahmad
    Mir Muneem Ahmad 2 days ago

    What's the name of the game 12:10 ?

  • Leighton Pitman
    Leighton Pitman 2 days ago

    I have a 6T and absolutely love it. Stereo speakers and improved haptics would make it near perfect in my opinion. This 7 pro though.... Oh my God it's taking everything in me not to buy it. It just looks so amazing. I have given up alcohol because I know the first thing I'm going to do when I get drunk is buy this phone.

  • Nicolas Roussel
    Nicolas Roussel 2 days ago

    Is it possible to take a picture underwater ?

  • Fiske
    Fiske 2 days ago

    So can we expect the One Plus 8 Pro to be $800 then? XD

  • Władysław Jagiełło

    I think that the word you wanted to use was "apple". "It just felt apple"

  • Vidheyesh Prabhu
    Vidheyesh Prabhu 2 days ago

    Did anyone come here from MKBHD ?

  • Muhammed Ashraf
    Muhammed Ashraf 2 days ago

    U guys hear tht weird sound while poping up n down ??

  • Balkan Forever
    Balkan Forever 2 days ago

    Who is here after Moriz water test?

  • Karan Malhotra
    Karan Malhotra 2 days ago

    Who else came here after mkbhd video ❤️❤️❤️

  • Sarita Kumari
    Sarita Kumari 2 days ago +2

    S10 vs 1+7pro
    *s10*

    *Reason - Jack*

    • Latos
      Latos 2 days ago

      Who uses wired earphones in 2019

  • SimmyTM Mwakina
    SimmyTM Mwakina 2 days ago

    The intro 🔥😅

  • Vivek Surve
    Vivek Surve 2 days ago

    Why is Franco screaming at the intro? 😂

  • Karthi Karthi
    Karthi Karthi 2 days ago

    Apple must need to give bullet proof for their rate!

  • Outside The Box
    Outside The Box 2 days ago

    New Water Resistant standard: D2D1338

  • Max Lu
    Max Lu 2 days ago +1

    You can see the anxiety in Dave...

  • DarkPa1adin
    DarkPa1adin 2 days ago

    One Plus, if you hear me, please make a bezel-less 16:9 display without being so tall. I think 153-158mm is about right!

  • DarkPa1adin
    DarkPa1adin 2 days ago

    Officially! OP7P is IP rated by Dave2D! Thumbs up to dave!

  • DarkPa1adin
    DarkPa1adin 2 days ago

    Dave did you notice the bottom left of the frame has a white line/block?

  • dd t
    dd t 2 days ago +8

    1980 in 2019 we will have flying cars
    2019 *were dropping cell phones into jugs of water*

  • Shakib M
    Shakib M 2 days ago

    I don't believe it. We don't want any special review units being tested with water. Go to a random TMobile store, pick one up and do the same procedure

  • Djentstructer 5000
    Djentstructer 5000 2 days ago

    Oneplus 7 is uncircumsized.

  • Chenduo Huang
    Chenduo Huang 2 days ago

    what game is that lol

  • Mahaveerprasad8109 Yogi

    Please please please help me

  • Jinchao Han
    Jinchao Han 2 days ago

    The US will ban all the Chinese phone...don't buy anything!!!! go for iPhone

  • Jinchao Han
    Jinchao Han 2 days ago

    The US will ban all the Chinese phone...don't buy anything!!!! go for iPhone

  • Wesley Slippers
    Wesley Slippers 2 days ago +1

    Commission channel.

  • Anis Tarek
    Anis Tarek 3 days ago

    After watching MKBHD video

  • H C
    H C 3 days ago

    Hi Dave, totally random. May I know where did you buy your tube lamp? The one leaning on the wall :) thanks

  • WeMakeVideosCA
    WeMakeVideosCA 3 days ago +2

    I worked in tech manufacturing. Get your device ip rated can be expensive.
    Also just get your users to test it.
    Honestly if this one plus were to be in rated it would def be on the high end

  • Random Guy
    Random Guy 3 days ago +1

    & people laughed when phablets came out back on 2013 ,seriously 😂

  • Skyhighrockhound1
    Skyhighrockhound1 3 days ago

    Purchased this phone on Friday, and absolutely love it! I agree with you about the curved edges,but everything else on this phone is stellar. At $700 it is still a tremendous value

  • derrick gomes
    derrick gomes 3 days ago

    I'm the only one who distracting by his breathing noise?

  • Kidner Shanthikumaran

    3:44 That aint an S10 Plus

  • NSXPN6GS-4NXP-OMEGA 4PXS6-16-8-BIT

    I'd always have to remember my password..."but...i can also use my..."


    MIDDLE POINTERS, if anyone has to get offended, then yes😏👌

  • lante07
    lante07 3 days ago

    I really love this phone. I was considering the XR or the S10e.. But this is beautiful. And I'm a big OS guy, that's why I've stayed away from Samsung and Android for years. But OxygenOS looks smooth and effortless. And now I know I can take this phone in the shower with me. I'm pretty much sold. 700$ for 8gb of RAM and 256gb of storage.

  • lante07
    lante07 3 days ago

    Hey Apple,

    Deuces!

  • Siva Chandramouli
    Siva Chandramouli 3 days ago +2

    Just one thing
    How did the timer became 15 min for a 13:39 minutes video

    • SAM_the _FAM
      SAM_the _FAM Day ago

      He cut the video to think what he had to say

  • MultiOwnag3
    MultiOwnag3 3 days ago

    What app is that? i like the app where you swipe from the corner of your screen and some little shortut menu pops out. App name please :)

  • Rahul Shingala
    Rahul Shingala 3 days ago

    you are the best tech guy available in youtube who gives honest review
    🥰😍😘👍

  • CF542
    CF542 3 days ago

    Make sure to give us an update if this phone still is working without issue

  • Adhi Suryana
    Adhi Suryana 3 days ago +3

    Imagine if one day Google stop letting Samsung or other OEM use Android like Huawei and we left by either overpriced Pixel or iPhone ☹️

  • grtent
    grtent 3 days ago

    how much One Plus pays you ? employed !

  • Kim Pius
    Kim Pius 3 days ago

    instagram.com/verifiedkim/

  • TornadoBarrage
    TornadoBarrage 3 days ago

    Wonder if I could be in a pool with the phone in my pocket

  • TornadoBarrage
    TornadoBarrage 3 days ago

    Most reviewers say 4 hours of screen on time and that slightly turned me off but he says 7 hours now I gotta try it

  • Saem Sarguroh
    Saem Sarguroh 3 days ago

    The thing that saved the mechanism from dying in water when you opened up the pop up camera was the orientation of the device.
    Had it been correct side up, water would have trickled into the opening. Honest review as always though 👍

  • Mohit Agrawal
    Mohit Agrawal 3 days ago

    @Davelee How annoying is the curve display?

  • Erick Martinez
    Erick Martinez 3 days ago

    this phone is heavily praised. none of the reviews I've watched about the Oneplus 7 pro (or any Oneplus phone in fact) only work on T-mobile in the states. however this is i think i read that the pro works on Verizon now. but that's still too few for a phone that also says its carrier unlocked.

  • sandipan saha
    sandipan saha 3 days ago

    Subscribed you, loved ur simplicity and cuteness. Keep up.

  • 기현 Arikadou
    기현 Arikadou 3 days ago

    $700 S10+??? Actually, that's normal. Prices has come down, and the 7 Pro will come down in price as well.

  • Vasista Vasi
    Vasista Vasi 3 days ago

    What the fuck
    U kept the phone in water at
    50 sec after 5 minutes of your video phone will shows 7 minutes in the phone
    What the fuck
    Who noticed this hit the like

  • zaf sohnel
    zaf sohnel 3 days ago

    There was never a better phone in this planet....but now i will buy samsung $ becoz no more identical signature of one plus....it looks like every other phone now.

  • Alvin Alberto
    Alvin Alberto 3 days ago

    Does anyone know the name of the application that he's using in the video for the side panel on the right side of the One Plus 7 Pro??

  • Howard Batiste
    Howard Batiste 3 days ago

    Front facing camera unlock in my experience(I have the S10+ as well) is as fast as the S10, my issue is if you edit the dpi settings of ui in developer options, the light for the optical finger print sensor is moved further up making the fingerprint sensor practically worthless. Longevity will tell how the Front facing camera holds up, screen is fantastic, and its the first phone ive brought home the SO loves due to the front camera hiding itself. Good to know rain and a splash wont hurt it Dave.

  • Aso Rokay
    Aso Rokay 3 days ago

    tell me reason why they remove headphone jack while thiers fan ask not to

  • Glen Carolus
    Glen Carolus 3 days ago

    Good review, I enjoyed it. Thanks Dave

  • Supreme
    Supreme 3 days ago

    While The Video is 13:38, the stopwatch on phone exceeded 13:38 way ahead

  • Ashwin Israni
    Ashwin Israni 3 days ago

    I don't know guys, I got my Galaxy S10+ on eBay for $800 in the US (snapdragon variant) and love it. I do want wireless charging etc and it's a gorgeous screen too. The 60hz refresh rate doesn't bother me. I have my new iPad pro with 120hz and it's not that different. This is a great phone for One Plus but can't beat the GS10+ for $800 or so.

  • KingSam
    KingSam 3 days ago

    The 7 isn't available in the US. The 7 undercut the 6T in those markets but the 6t is barely discounted in the US. I'll stick to LG for value

  • Timothy Grant
    Timothy Grant 4 days ago

    Great review as usual Dave. I'm not sure why everyone is harping on the price. The budget options are still available for sale and, most important to me, expensive != a lack of value! Value for me is a price that directly correlates to the value you get from the components and software in the product. Often times, more expensive phones with longer lifespans, quality of software, and resale value provide more VALUE than budget options. But I agree that 1+ is changing from the budget-priced, flagship killer that the 1+1 was. Still, with flagships costing over $1k, I still think they are doing pretty well.
    Sent from my iPhone.

  • tirken eowin
    tirken eowin 4 days ago

    show me where you can get an s10+ for $700 without trade-in. They're like 1200 bucks.

  • Nalwadda Jeniffer
    Nalwadda Jeniffer 4 days ago

    This level of distraction is insane.... Just found my twin bro

  • Alex007
    Alex007 4 days ago

    I use OnePlus 5 and with op 7pro not having a good camera by good I mean good and they fucked up the front camera a big turn off

  • Suhas Vasisht
    Suhas Vasisht 4 days ago

    Please don't do the water test simultaneously. You constantly kept looking at it and it was soo annoying

  • tirken eowin
    tirken eowin 4 days ago

    Dave2d: "I like high-refresh gaming, high-refresh everything. All my laptops, high-refresh."
    Still putting youtube videos in 24p. in 2019.

  • ajpoppin gaming
    ajpoppin gaming 4 days ago

    Try recording a video with the front facing camera and dropping the phone

  • warak anda
    warak anda 4 days ago +1

    With such price for a China made device, I had better go for Samsung...

  • jt663
    jt663 4 days ago

    All these one plus fan boys don't realise how massive this phone is or something?

  • dominicd2011
    dominicd2011 4 days ago

    If you were gonna wet it, then just wet and pop out the camera. You just click baited the video and nothing was significantly water tested.

  • Siyabonga Nkosi
    Siyabonga Nkosi 4 days ago

    IT FELT LIKE IF SAMSUNG WOULD REMOVE THE HEADPHONE JACK

  • Harshrajsinh Jadeja
    Harshrajsinh Jadeja 4 days ago +1

    90hz refresh rate works only for screen navigation not for games and other apps.
    Games have not optimized for 90hz refresh rate.
    Next time you do a video have some research before saying something!