Underwater OnePlus 7 Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • My review and water test of the OnePlus 7 Pro. This is the fastest android phone on the market - has no notch, no hole but is somehow VERY water resistant.
    OP7 Pro - amzn.to/2WIlJ1J
    The pop-up camera on the OnePlus 7 allows this camera to have a completely clean front with no protrusions or visual obstructions. The curved edges look awesome but it's a change to the oneplus design that can hinder usability.
    Background Music Fili - Closure
    If you want to support the channel, consider a Dave2D membership by clicking the “Join” button above!
    Dave2D
    Dave2D
    discord.gg/Dave2D
    Purchases made from store links may give me some money.
    (It doesn’t cost you extra, so please buy everything)
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 399

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  6 months ago +3450

    The distortion and shimmering water in the jug made the phone look like it was turning off constantly. I was so distracted. Thanks for watching!
    Is the OnePlus 7 what you hoped for? Is it too expensive for what it is?

    • Jonathan Salvador
      Jonathan Salvador 8 days ago

      Oneplus Fan here!!
      Camera not best in low light.
      Waiting for the dual pixel Camera Sensor for Low light Picture.. .
      Hoping.. .

    • khrom
      khrom 11 days ago

      Really wish they took after Samsung and made a smaller version similar to the S10E personally, I would buy it in a heartbeat!

    • John Doe
      John Doe 17 days ago

      @Milos Vucinic I dropped my OnePlus a million times and it only has one scratch, and it's only visible when it's off with a flashlight on it

    • Sepa9
      Sepa9 28 days ago

      Just bought it and I'm super satisfied!!! The phone is just great, don't mind the curved edges and 7-8 hours of on screen time is a reality I also love! Thank you for the "ip test". I am even more happy now! 😉

    • Anto Miskovic
      Anto Miskovic Month ago

      Give us the wallpaper dammit 😂

  • littlec916
    littlec916 4 hours ago

    Just wanted to comment that the face unlock feature on my 7 pro is insanely fast. I don't even notice the camera. I just got the phone so maybe its something that has been fixed since this video was posted.

  • Frank
    Frank 10 hours ago

    btw its not a 10s + its a s9 +

  • BossForAReason
    BossForAReason 20 hours ago

    The best tech reviewer ever ✌🏻 Love from India.

  • Sederick Hardy
    Sederick Hardy 2 days ago

    It's the fasted pop up camera to this day

  • Dolan Bright
    Dolan Bright 3 days ago

    he looks at the phone every 3 seconds. cannot unnotice. subscribe to pewds

  • Sub
    Sub 3 days ago

    Really disappointed that you didn't take an underwater photo.

  • Bad Weatherfreak
    Bad Weatherfreak 3 days ago +2

    I like the camera been pop up. No one hacking and see you lol

  • eta gg
    eta gg 4 days ago

    Yow man can i get this device pls 🙏

  • Alexis Duarte
    Alexis Duarte 5 days ago

    David is gay

  • Nuovo
    Nuovo 6 days ago

    Oh, this is the best review of this phone.
    Got it a few days ago upgrading from a 5T and I love it!
    The only thing that I feel it's a downgrade is the unlocking experience. Not just the face unlock, but every option I have of unlocking the phone is slower or worse than the 5T. The face unlock is slower, and while the fingerprint scanner is fast, I can't unlock the phone without turning the screen on. With the 5T, tap the sensor and you're in! With the 7 pro I have to double tap, wait for it to turn on, tap again, and only then I'm in.
    The real downgrade is the absence of a pocket mode. It has a proximity sensor, why can't I use it? The camera pops up in my pocket some times, and I have the fear it might break. Also, I've turned on my flashlight, airplane mode, turned off WiFi/data and the automatic rotation too many times in those two days while the phone was in my pocket. Why isn't anybody talking about this?

  • aishath inasha
    aishath inasha 8 days ago

    Give away

  • quincy sampson
    quincy sampson 8 days ago

    Is anyone else having an issue with the front facing camera? I'm not able to use any of my app including the camera app while using the front facing camera. The camera will automatically retract itself then give a pop up a msg saying "Please insure there no obstructions. If the issue persist, please contact our customer services".

  • Peter Lewis
    Peter Lewis 9 days ago

    You had to do it ... and you did. Good testing, dude

  • V BB
    V BB 9 days ago

    gooz

  • Jeevan Batla
    Jeevan Batla 10 days ago

    Face unlock is blazing fast on the 7T Pro I enjoy using it

  • brostelio
    brostelio 11 days ago

    You are a really great reviewer!

  • Joshua Fisher
    Joshua Fisher 12 days ago +5

    If the 12 gb model comes down a bit more, I'd buy it as my daily driver for the next 5 years at least xD
    Edit: I posted this when I thought I could only get one for like 900-1000 bucks through newegg. Apparently they are 750? That's a steal compared to the 7t @ 650 right now. I would honestly pay 650 for the 7 pro 12gb model though. I feel almost stupid agreeing to spend that much money on a damn cell phone but I honestly think it's worth it. That's a good handful of tech in one small package.

    • Vũ Lương Lân
      Vũ Lương Lân Day ago

      7t is like that poor combo of a smaller battery but still awesome screen, pretty sure the usability is gonna be hit hard on that phone; while the 7t pro feels more like an Apple-ish update. 7 pro is still the best bang for the buck oneplus phone in 2019

  • Ayman Hazim
    Ayman Hazim 13 days ago

    just got this great phone then throw my iphone away... im so happy with it.... the only issue is the weight and its large but other than that its SUPER

  • Dh Rafi
    Dh Rafi 15 days ago

    Should I buy iPhone xr over OnePlus 7pro for long term use ?

  • Mahammed Ben Ashour
    Mahammed Ben Ashour 16 days ago

    at 12:36 video time it's 15:45 in the phone we are missing three minutes xD

  • Sean Polley
    Sean Polley 20 days ago +2

    5:47 The reaction when you realize you might be about to drop your phone

  • Conqwiztadore22
    Conqwiztadore22 20 days ago

    f-ing gay ass phone reviews is what western society has come to, never mind the massive influx of "no background checks needed" refugees with questionable religious beliefs, with no skills or whatsoever, relying on tax payer money to stay afloat,, sorry the rant was completely unrelated, the reviewer just reminded me of justin truduea because of the gay/spineless liberal mannerism

  • John Bow
    John Bow 22 days ago

    its better than an s10+?

  • Mridul Deepanshu
    Mridul Deepanshu 24 days ago

    OnePlus are making the best performing phones lately! Their OxygenOS version of Android is even better than the stock Android! Comparable to iOS! Definitely worth the price!

  • JSIK
    JSIK 25 days ago

    My question is where TF can you find the s10+ for $750 lol

  • Michael Caplan
    Michael Caplan 25 days ago

    Just bought this piece of s***you are also worried about a water testI have never been stupid enough to drop my phone in waterbut this time I was stupid enough not to check and bought a phone with no MP3 player what bullshit!

  • No Name
    No Name 25 days ago

    pls don't torture the phone just give it to me. i can't afford a $200 phone.

  • ThsbkSan Maxor
    ThsbkSan Maxor 27 days ago

    Great Video!

  • Amanda Xu
    Amanda Xu 27 days ago

    So go running in the rain .

  • Matt Greenland
    Matt Greenland 27 days ago

    While the Oneplus phones have great face unlock accuracy and timing, I'm willing to trade having a pop-up camera that's disabled just to lose the front camera. The finger scanner is good enough not to really miss it.

  • Waddling Cucumber
    Waddling Cucumber Month ago +1

    My OnePlus 7 pro is so heavy and big, but those are the only cons

  • PG Plays Video Games
    PG Plays Video Games Month ago +1

    this is how I've customized my OP7pro:
    First, I disabled home buttons and used gestures. So now the bottom of
    the phone is bezel-less and does not have a software "bezel"
    next, I turned on developer mode + USB debugging
    Now, run these commands once you've installed ADB:
    adb shell wm overscan 0,-100,0,0
    adb shell pm disable-user com.android.traceur
    adb shell pm disable-user com.oneplus.opbugreportlite
    adb shell pm disable-user com.oneplus.brickmode
    adb shell pm disable-user net.oneplus.odm
    adb shell pm disable-user net.oneplus.odm.provider
    adb shell pm uninstall -k --user 0 com.android.cellbroadcastreceiver
    The overscan removes the top notification bar. If you want. Now my phone
    is 100% bezel free. You can install widgets to give you the information
    you need (Battery, etc)
    The android.cellbroadcastreceiver will disable amber alerts as well as
    presidential alerts. THIS IS USEFUL FOR CANADIANS as all alerts are
    presidential level.
    The brickmode one is the zen mode. At the very least I think most people want this option (to disable it)
    forum.xda-developers.com/oneplus-7-pro/how-to/increase-battery-life-t3939843

    • PG Plays Video Games
      PG Plays Video Games Month ago

      video recording is available in wide screen:
      Step 1: Go in dialer app
      Step 2: Type #*#1597#*#
      Step 3: Go to video and just swap cameras

  • Ilan Ben
    Ilan Ben Month ago

    Five months later a OnePlus7 pro live again??

  • vilvanathan M
    vilvanathan M Month ago +1

    How the two lights on the corner is emitting light? What is the name of that.?

  • Manendar Verma
    Manendar Verma Month ago +1

    you should just leave the phone in the water with the timer on, and maybe leave it recording to see how long it can last. Just to see..

  • Rohit Srivastava
    Rohit Srivastava Month ago

    Fake reviewer...been paid by OnePlus!!

  • Haitao Liu
    Haitao Liu Month ago

    the timer name pls🙏

  • NovaZek
    NovaZek Month ago +2

    For the people watching this: Jerry Rigs Everything revealed, that every entrypoint of this device, sim tray, camera mechanics and so on are sealed with a rubber-seal, and the speakers are covered with tight mesh.
    It is probably as water proof as other IP## smartphones, but it is highly water resistent, that is for sure.

  • Lel Lel
    Lel Lel Month ago

    OP7 pro or huawei?

    • Lel Lel
      Lel Lel Month ago

      Kevin McDaniel why? Im thinking more of buying the P30 Pro..

    • Kevin McDaniel
      Kevin McDaniel Month ago

      Pro ALL DAY

  • Brian Evans
    Brian Evans Month ago +1

    He's standing up

    • Brian Evans
      Brian Evans Month ago

      @Alien Man Yep. Never forget. It's a standing desk. And he's standing up

    • Alien Man
      Alien Man Month ago

      Wait really?

  • Boonchai Ruangvarapith

    Not really waterproof

  • Anam Purwanto
    Anam Purwanto Month ago

    Please.
    Don't you ever drop your oneplus 7pro into water / pool.
    I've used oneplus 7pro about a month ago, and yesterday my phone wes dropped into a pool about 5 minutes (my stupid friend did it). I've drained it, and then the camera was fogging, after 2 hours, the device couldn't start.
    Poor me, am in Indonesia and there's no service center for oneplus....

  • 4mana7/7rino Kripperino

    i really hope high refresh rate phones become a norm in the future. also phones take an extremely good advantage of high refresh rate. i dont know if its just my eyes or what, but the smaller the device is, the better the higher hz feels like. this is coming from a person who owns a 144hz 24" monitor.

  • Omar Riaz
    Omar Riaz Month ago

    You like high refresh gaming? Stop this Smartphone gaming nonsense and join "real gaming", the glorious PC Master race
    4K@144FPS

  • XxGoldExpertxX
    XxGoldExpertxX Month ago

    Yea im not believing this shit. This is how i messed up my oneplus 6t and i only had it for like 2 or 3 weeks. Never again will i put a phone into water without water resistance.

  • Wail Teach
    Wail Teach Month ago

    U speak too much without sammarization

  • TITAN GAMES
    TITAN GAMES Month ago +1

    Lul

  • townbiscuit
    townbiscuit Month ago

    Seems that nobody is mentioning this - the wide angle lens on the OP7 PRO (I had it for 2 months now) distorts so much it is close to useless, in the sense that the quality of the photo is quite bad - distortion and corner softness is very very bad! So I`m not sure that the wide angle lens camera counts if the photos have such low quality. sure you have it but...

  • Nandu Kusi
    Nandu Kusi Month ago

    Why is it 12mins at 10 mins

  • Ian Dyson
    Ian Dyson Month ago

    Dave Lee listening to Tinlicker, eh? What you think of the new album?

  • sL සරා
    sL සරා Month ago

    Can you do me a favor?

  • Utsho Paul Ayeeda's lover

    He is getting really distracted by the phone 😂

  • Mark7com
    Mark7com Month ago +1

    so S10+ screen is 60Hz? or 90Hz?

  • Jayden Lee
    Jayden Lee Month ago

    u are scared that
    ur phone will die

  • Ryan Walk
    Ryan Walk Month ago +3

    Watching phone tear downs of this device shows that all the necessary rubber grommets are installed for it to be an IPV certified device (even one on the camera module that protects both open and closed) so water wont get into the internals through any of the holes, obviously oneplus just didnt pay for the certification to keep costs down.

  • harshil sharma
    harshil sharma Month ago

    what game is that??

  • Don Flamingo
    Don Flamingo Month ago +5

    This phone is absolutely awesome. I think I found my new go to brand.

  • gorrumKnight
    gorrumKnight Month ago

    Definitely appreciate the look at the water resistance. Agree on the curved edges though, it kinda bugs me. Still love the phone feel. And my coworkers who use iPhones love the fingerprint response time.

  • GodZHawK
    GodZHawK Month ago

    My phone has 120 hz