The Shape of Water - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 826

  • William M ATL
    William M ATL Day ago

    Soooo this is a movie about beastiality? No thanks... Why don't u watch a movie about incest next.. I'm sure you'll love it!

  • SLIMGRIZZY
    SLIMGRIZZY 6 days ago

    I honestly thought this movie was complete cheesy garbage

  • iconoclast
    iconoclast 18 days ago

    To my mind, one of the underlying themes was women's urge to civilize, save, or humanize less-than-civilized creatures, often understood by them to be men. Overall, I wasn't impressed by the movie. It seemed to be heavily influenced by the over-the-top, whimsical films Jean-Pierre Jeunet used to make in the 90's.
    Furthermore, some of the French-sounding music, while good, was incongruent with the film's American setting, especially in the scene when a woman started singing in French. The renowned and skillful composer, Francis Desplat, should've done a better job of fitting the music to the locale.

  • sky net
    sky net Month ago

    Did he mention Pan's labryinth??? IMO that is better than the shape of water

  • Joseph Bierowski
    Joseph Bierowski Month ago

    Same plot as Free Willy

  • zhonghe zheng
    zhonghe zheng Month ago

    gay+blacks+antiUSgovernment+woman protagonist/women right+Hispanic director+boring plot+dark color theme=oscar

  • swati singh
    swati singh Month ago

    Overrated stupid movie!! feels like watching porn😜

  • i asimov
    i asimov Month ago

    The bad guy lacked only a top hat and a Snidely Whiplash moustache to be the quintessential villain.

  • Bill Dunning
    Bill Dunning Month ago

    And now that I have seen this movie, I feel incomplete. Short of nudity, it had nothing going going for it. Yes there was good acting, even decent writing. The biggest void here was an original plot, which explains the large amount of nudity. She did have a nice butt Thow😁.

  • don miller
    don miller 2 months ago

    Could have been a good movie. I’ll call it for what it is, “hate baiting!” Grow up..very UnAmerican!

  • Jeffery Matuszak
    Jeffery Matuszak 2 months ago

    This movie blows...try Pan's labyrinth, Cronos, Mimic, or Devil's Backbone....fuck his new shit, seriously. But u still cool, bro! U just got caught up in a b.s. movie, it happens....

  • BJH 2112
    BJH 2112 2 months ago

    Yea this movie is pretty overrated. Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name, and Three Billboards were all way better

  • The BREAKER
    The BREAKER 2 months ago

    Guillermo del Toro did hellboy also so it must be connected lol

  • Apexfab Tablet9
    Apexfab Tablet9 2 months ago

    The next movie she should fall in love with a donkey maybe it can talk like the one from shrek

  • Kelley Medcalf
    Kelley Medcalf 2 months ago

    nope. i usually agree with you. but no. i want my two hours back.

  • Natsu Dragion77
    Natsu Dragion77 2 months ago +1

    No offense to anyone who loves this movie - But Three Billboards lost to this shit!!! (It's not really that bad)

  • nuclear kid
    nuclear kid 2 months ago

    Whaaaat?? You didn't like Pacific rim. I loved it.

  • Ellie The Cockatiel :3
    Ellie The Cockatiel :3 2 months ago

    I personally liked it. It was very long and at some points it was very boring, but all in all, I think it was good. No haters, it's my opinion! :)

  • cHeStEr5434
    cHeStEr5434 2 months ago

    Eh, I'd give it a D+

  • gerrixx
    gerrixx 2 months ago

    I knew it was going to win Best Picture, great movie and it hit all the political points Hollywood loves to champion.

  • hosam jaber
    hosam jaber 2 months ago +2

    You must review Pan’s labyrinth

  • James Gant
    James Gant 3 months ago

    It seems almost like a Hellboy prequel of sorts? That fish like man is in Hellboy, and Del toro was involved in those movies as well.

  • Viki Dadsev
    Viki Dadsev 3 months ago

    I was so waiting for this movie and then i saw it.... so diseponted ...just not a good movie..sorry that what i think

  • Donald Trump
    Donald Trump 3 months ago +1

    No comment

  • Daniel Maldonado
    Daniel Maldonado 3 months ago

    Pc garbage. Immoral and disgusting!

  • Tuffy Baxton
    Tuffy Baxton 3 months ago

    Garrus is sexy as F
    Fish-face from this movie is unsexy as anything and everything that's unsexy!

  • gardensofthegods
    gardensofthegods 3 months ago

    I haven't seen the movie yet but it looks to me that it's humanoid meaning it's not a beast or animal

  • Leohardson Stevenson
    Leohardson Stevenson 3 months ago

    I just watched that shit and I felt like watching the weirdest porn ever! The weird Elaiza, the weird creature that breathes water and air, fucks women, doesn’t die, give hair...the old gay disgusting painter, the fucked up psychopath investigator, the traitor professor, the fat black cleaner with her loser husband, what else was there?? The movie is a C- only the weird plot was keeping me..

  • Freddy Ayala
    Freddy Ayala 3 months ago

    Aquaman Origins

  • david walsh the chicago bear

    This guy likes fish sticks. Gay review

  • Gilly
    Gilly 4 months ago

    i can give you a better and shorter review. if you like watching a mute woman go to work, masturbating in the bathtub, falling in love with a half fish thing and in the end fucking the damn thing. Then this is your movie. Thats it, the end.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 4 months ago

    After finally seeing I can say that this was 100% not my type of movie, don’t get me wrong, the visuals, prosthetic work and acting were all great, it was just way too artsy for me

  • водка
    водка 4 months ago

    I saw this movie with my mom and entire family, and it was one of the most awkward things I have ever endured.. nothing like watching a fish man screw a mute.

  • Skell09
    Skell09 4 months ago

    Gorgeous, yes, some good performances..yes. But that does not make a good movie. It was so predictable and not original in any way. You knew what was gonna happen 10 minutes in the movie. You knew what was gonna be the deal with the scars 10 minutes in the movie. Give me Free Willy any day, cause that's basically what they did here...they just threw in a creature of the black lagoon in the mix. De Toro dissapointed me yet again.....

  • zen
    zen 4 months ago

    The scene where the guy rips his re-attached fingers off is one of the darkest things ever filmed.

  • TheFikri136
    TheFikri136 4 months ago

    I know I'm late. But, Shape of Water didn't deserve the Oscar. Three Billboards is better.

  • DK Dempcey Knight DK
    DK Dempcey Knight DK 4 months ago

    I give up, I can't grasp you at all. I was sure you would dislike this movie, sure you were going to pick this movie apart like a pack of starving piranha on a rotisserie chicken in a small tank. But no! I watch you to understand what you see and don't see (I like to write and you actually help me in this feat), but you confuse the hell out of me when you do this sort of thing! Don't tell anyone, I will deny, deny, DENY, but I did not care for the remake of "IT", it seemed quite cheesy to me and again, you liked it! Sigh. I give up!

  • Star Wars Talk
    Star Wars Talk 4 months ago

    This movie was terrible

  • Rose Kennedy
    Rose Kennedy 4 months ago

    The whole beastiality thing was a turn off for me the moment I saw the poster but your review has definitely made me consider actually watching/reading it, thanks!

  • Lucas Overall
    Lucas Overall 5 months ago

    Awesome videos!!!! Subscribed😜

  • Utkarsh Pant
    Utkarsh Pant 5 months ago

    The only thing Oscar worthy in this movie was Michael Shannon.

  • RIZADON the RAT
    RIZADON the RAT 5 months ago

    I love this movie more then any other

  • Lance W
    Lance W 5 months ago

    this movie was visually stunning but wild trash.

  • Ghost with A heart
    Ghost with A heart 5 months ago

    It looks interesting and different
    I like different or basically something that I wouldn’t consider normal

  • just another black man
    just another black man 5 months ago +1

    The fact that you actually like this movie is pure proof that you are an true fan of beastiality. People like you don't deserve to have a TVclip channel, yet alone a life. This is why TVclip is going down hill as it is.

  • chris venegas
    chris venegas 5 months ago

    loved this movie

  • infinity paradox
    infinity paradox 5 months ago

    this film is pure crap

  • Jallek
    Jallek 5 months ago +1

    I wondered beforehand if this movie was safe to see with my mom. It was not.
    I really liked it though. I am slightly surprised that it won best picture, but Im also happy that it did. It kinda broke the monotony of best picture winners, and its truly a unique film.

  • Kaycee
    Kaycee 5 months ago

    What about del toros pans labyrinth? Ireally wish he would review it 😭

  • Migel Vazkez
    Migel Vazkez 5 months ago

    So i saw the movie. It's good. But then l was thinking, janitors working in a top secret facility!
    ▫▪◽🔶◽▪▫
    Not plausible〰but then we won't have a plot.
    ▫▪◽🔶◽▪▫
    U agree? Or no?

  • Sanguinius
    Sanguinius 5 months ago

    This is a terrible terrible film

  • Bill 'I Did Not Bang That Woman' Clinton

    The fish fucking movie

  • Bald Uzi Vert
    Bald Uzi Vert 5 months ago

    Shit was coo until she started fuking cuz.

  • Dandypanty
    Dandypanty 5 months ago

    I don't get the whole masturbation stuff. Why was that in the film? To show that she was horny? Okay.. Then what was the deal with the homosexual scene? What did that add to the film? What was the deal with the painting? It kept coming up but I never figured how it came into play. I feel like the movie built up the relationship with the mute woman and black lady then completely forgot about it. I feel like the gay mans character was completely unnecessary. The black woman should have been her room mate. And lastly I feel like they should have spent more time developing the bad guy. Why did he have to be sleazy? Again, so many things in the film I felt added nothing to the character or story. The only character I really cared for was the monster. I just wanted to see him learn to communicate with the woman. The sex stuff was like that movie Splice. Totally weird and just unnecessary. I bought it on blu ray so I'll definitely watch it again to see what I'm missing but I don't see this as award winning at all except for the style and atmosphere.

  • Sylvia Lopez
    Sylvia Lopez 5 months ago

    Chris, i turned to you for reviews at redbox, do you have an A list for current redbox rentals?

  • Karla Ocampo
    Karla Ocampo 5 months ago

    Your cowboy bebop shirts are the best

  • QuartuvLarry
    QuartuvLarry 5 months ago

    Jesus Christ! You actually LIKED this film? Ugh! The fuck is wrong with you?

  • Carmen Stigter
    Carmen Stigter 6 months ago

    Style over substance...

  • Tom J
    Tom J 6 months ago

    Awful review from an obvious liberal sympathizer.

  • Don Vito Corleone
    Don Vito Corleone 6 months ago

    i was so disappointed with this movie, i expected it to be an original Del Toro film, but instead i wasted 2 hours of my life watching a beauty and the beast and La La Land "Wannabe", music didn't fit at all, and the amount of coincidence in this movie is unfucking believable, i felt so stupid after watching it, too many holes and just plain fucking stupid.

  • Andres Terrazas
    Andres Terrazas 6 months ago

    This is a prequel for Abe from Hellboy............. no wonder you dont get it XD

  • Emmanuel Walker
    Emmanuel Walker 6 months ago

    Personally, didn't like that this movie was shot in 1000 frames per second. It felt like a bad soap opera. The story was decent but didn't move me emotionally, couldn't really relate to any of the characters. Just didn't do anything for me emotionally or visually. Makeup, costume, production design, and music were awesome though.

  • Javier Sanchez
    Javier Sanchez 6 months ago

    Michael Shannon is underrated

  • Michael Garcia
    Michael Garcia 6 months ago

    Shape of water = Splash

  • Rachelle Lucero
    Rachelle Lucero 6 months ago

    I don't like this movie, at all. Sorry.

  • Music Philex
    Music Philex 6 months ago

    I think you should review Pan's Labyrinth! I think it's more better than this.

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 6 months ago

    Fantastic film I am shocked that this film didn't pick up any acting awards at the Oscars

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 6 months ago

    A adult version of Splash lol

  • Mihai Bravu
    Mihai Bravu 7 months ago

    Grinding Nemo.

  • ADjustinG2013
    ADjustinG2013 7 months ago

    fish sticks, anyone?

  • Ron Wylie
    Ron Wylie 7 months ago +1

    Richard Jenkins is fabulous in this, he is always good but the beautiful underplayed acting in this is Oscar worthy, the trouble is, they are ALL that good, they could share it I guess.

    • lurch321
      lurch321 5 months ago

      Ron Wylie Nah, Hawkins and Spencer were FAR from Oscar-worthy in this. They've both done FAR better.

  • Patricia Jessica Paays
    Patricia Jessica Paays 7 months ago +1

    I'm agree with you

  • Not Bob
    Not Bob 7 months ago

    Shittiest movie of 2017. Holy shit was this bad.

  • Benny26
    Benny26 7 months ago

    It's a predictable, eye rolling cliched film that's been done to death before in many ways. Acting and set design was well done but that was it.
    He rammed it full of "artsy" stuff like with the 60s music and dancing, but it was just to sucker the judges into thinking this film is meaningful and has some sort of underlying message. They even have two scenes just to tell you "being gay is alright" and "treating black people differently is bad"....just eye rolling.

  • Peter Müller
    Peter Müller 7 months ago

    hmmm, i was really disappointed by this movie.
    A corny and flat 'Amelie' ripoff....rather uninspired and uninspiring.
    And typical 'we pad our shoulders' oscar bait.

  • Joshua Fogg
    Joshua Fogg 7 months ago

    Ugh. Just freaking awful. I can't believe that this came from the same mind that created Hellboy 1 and 2.

  • Agent Lemon
    Agent Lemon 7 months ago

    Style over Substance the movie

  • Farah N Huq
    Farah N Huq 7 months ago

    It was a dissappointment....

  • Ayush Singh
    Ayush Singh 7 months ago +1

    It was bad!!😫

  • Tariq Mansour
    Tariq Mansour 7 months ago

    The most overrated movie

  • Slicker Rick
    Slicker Rick 7 months ago

    Does anyone give shitty movie reviews anymore? This deserves one

  • Calipurnio, el Rey del Odio

    This movie is special for me. I always feel a void (Aspie, fat, shy, geek... The anti-ladies for a lot of women) that I try to cover. I saw this movie and I could understand all the characters, because They also try to feel their own void, a void that grows up every day of their lives.

  • Kapil Dev
    Kapil Dev 7 months ago

    amazing film

  • TacticalGolfer
    TacticalGolfer 7 months ago

    A woman who wants to f*** a fish. Nice

  • Lunatic Cringe
    Lunatic Cringe 7 months ago

    WHY are *all* of your t-shirts from the little boy's section at Target?!

  • Pepsikanin
    Pepsikanin 7 months ago

    I agree that this movie looks amazing, and I liked it. BUT I was very taken aback by the sexuality between her and the creature, I mean, romance is fine, but sex was a step too far for me

  • Ahmad Asyraf Abdul Jalil

    Terrible movie. I don't get how it won Best Picture.

  • Michael Cherne
    Michael Cherne 7 months ago

    Stuckman, you got way too artsy fartsy on this one. it was hellboy lll at best. Please at least admit it had no business winning best picture, or even nominated. We know the real reason it won. This may be top 10 worst movies of all time. Good lord son, stop looking so deep to attempt to find something good about this garbage. It bombed at the box office because viewers fell asleep half way threw, and nobody (but you) give a rats ass about the "beautiful production design". Just entertain us. and don't think for a second you could flood a 2nd floor apartment in the 60's. And how is sex possible?

  • kaine08
    kaine08 7 months ago

    I don't see what was so "good" about this move. Del Toro always produces beautiful, artistic movies, but nothing that any character, other that the artist neighbor did anything that would remotely occur in real life. Really? A woman is going to sex it up with a fish man? In a time of explosive racism, a black woman is going to risk getting "disappeared" in a government facility? Mute janior is going to risk her life to share a boiled egg with a creature that just tried to eat a man? This was actually painful to watch because of all the nonsensical decisions made by the characters. Whole bathroom filled up with water...yeah right. I get it. It's artistic, but come one. Inject a little bit of reality.

  • Charbel Elaro
    Charbel Elaro 7 months ago

    When I can't put your finger on what was missing in a film, Chris Stuckmann always points it out. I liked the Shape of Water but there were minor issues everywhere which restricted me from loving it in the end

  • NOBLE CHILLS
    NOBLE CHILLS 7 months ago

    I think I would love this film if it were an anime...but this movie didnt deserve an Oscar...I guess the award givers were remembering the crap fx films from the 60s 70s

  • Da BUTCHER
    Da BUTCHER 7 months ago

    Beastiality... Yuck!

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 7 months ago +1

      Do you think Mass Effect handled the human X xeno love thing better than this movie while the asset in this movie had more in common with a sea-monkey than a sea-man?

  • arturo Velasquez
    arturo Velasquez 7 months ago

    Shitty movie

  • Sunworks Roblox
    Sunworks Roblox 7 months ago

    Does it have an ocean man music part?

  • CatZ ReZetZ
    CatZ ReZetZ 7 months ago +1

    I dont like some scenes they are Disturbing....You know it , if you watched it of course

  • John Johnson
    John Johnson 8 months ago

    Creature from the black lagoon 2.0. This version the creature gets to bang the girl.

  • abdelrahman mohamed
    abdelrahman mohamed 8 months ago

    a little creepy seriously just a little

  • Shotta Tkhelidze
    Shotta Tkhelidze 8 months ago

    whole point of movie was propaganda. thats why it won oscar. white straight man are evil. thats all that movies wanted to tell.

  • Randy Brady
    Randy Brady 8 months ago

    What a garbage, cheesy and believably predictably stupid movie smh oscars you’re a joke!

  • Hans Hoerdemann
    Hans Hoerdemann 8 months ago

    This movie promotes bestiality, the next focus of the Leftists.

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 8 months ago

      Do you think Abe Sapien is more of a human level intelligent adult being than the Asset in this movie and the Abe Sapien and his elf woman lover worked better than this movie?