The Shape of Water - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 18, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Shape of Water, starring Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer. Directed by Guillermo del Toro.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 711

  • KNOCK KNOCK who's here

    This movie was kinda disgusting. A fish f$cking a woman ?

  • Gecko I
    Gecko I 15 days ago +1

    As for me i give the movie a C+
    (Hollywood is at a clear crisis to rank this as Best Movie.)

    • Gecko I
      Gecko I 6 days ago

      @Tuna simply because i consider it to be not even a good movie, but a plain average movie.

    • Tuna
      Tuna 13 days ago

      Gecko I how come?

  • Sarah Grace
    Sarah Grace Month ago

    I hated it

  • Lets Go
    Lets Go 2 months ago

    This movie was lame

  • Văn Vinh Nguyễn
    Văn Vinh Nguyễn 2 months ago

    Just watched it lol.Really late to the party I am.
    In short,a beautiful,although sometimes a bit slow,movie,but the atmosphere is created to me is absolutely on point,and I love every moment the creature is on screen,especially all the times they bonded with each other in the lab.The relationship building between the 2 main characters felt a bit rush at first but the end changed all that.Before I watched it I expected to be grossed out a bit but by the idea but it turned out to be a very sweet and touching love story,one that I actually cared for and at the end I actually felt happy they were together.I wish I had seen this movie in a theater lol the cinematography and music are breathtaking sometime watching it on a TV just doesnt cut it lol

  • Hart Ponder
    Hart Ponder 2 months ago

    Did anyone else laugh when we saw fish man dance?

  • Elizabeth Hui
    Elizabeth Hui 2 months ago +1

    review pan's labyrinth please!

  • toolisgod6
    toolisgod6 2 months ago +1

    Please do a review for Pan's Labyrinth.

  • Nacho Pop's
    Nacho Pop's 2 months ago

    I like your review some other channels managed to make it political af lol

  • ElectroShock
    ElectroShock 3 months ago

    I never seen this movie but I heard about the plot and seen parts of it since I used to work at the movie theater and had to do random auditorium checks. The movie is horrible from what I heard and seen. A girl basically fucks a goddamn sea creature. GROSS! How did it win all those fucking oscars? Hollywood can kiss my ass. Fuck you for being the grotesquely and repulsively sex-obsessed fetish freaks that you are.

  • Ilhan Tele
    Ilhan Tele 3 months ago

    Pacific rim was a really enjoyable movie wit great visuals. I liked it alot more than this

  • SoulSociety5
    SoulSociety5 3 months ago

    You mentioned Crimson Peak and I think people had the wrong idea about it from the marketing which made it seem like it was supposed to be a horror. It was definitely meant to be a Gothic romance, in a similar vein to southern Gothic literature. If it had been advertised this way I think people wouldn't have held such high horror expectations and it would be seen in a much better light. It's a good film, not amazing by any means, but the marketing really let it down.

  • Kainan The Pink Scorpion

    Coraline Movie Review

  • Arcade Assassin
    Arcade Assassin 3 months ago

    1 year later and i'm still so pissed off that universal turned down this script.

  • demondojr
    demondojr 3 months ago

    This should have been titled, the rape of water.

  • White Simurgh
    White Simurgh 4 months ago +1

    Fuck You!

  • Labot.234
    Labot.234 4 months ago +2

    I kinda found that your taste of movies quite similar with mine.. that makes me wonder how u feel about Pan's Labyrinth..
    Can you make a review of it? I think its one of the greatest movies ever made
    Thank u

  • Calvin West
    Calvin West 4 months ago

    Dumbest fucking movie whoever made this needs to kill thereself

  • Jacob Coryell
    Jacob Coryell 4 months ago

    I'd fuck a mermaid

  • GW GW
    GW GW 5 months ago +6

    This film is totally unremarkable I can’t believe it won best picture. The story line lacks originality

  • Zian Rabbani
    Zian Rabbani 5 months ago +1

    One of the worst movies I've seen in 2017

  • nowaypunk
    nowaypunk 6 months ago +2

    The film was awful an A- was too generous

  • Spottehd _
    Spottehd _ 6 months ago

    I loved pacific rim

  • belly QBE6878
    belly QBE6878 7 months ago +1

    This movie sucked..... I really disliked everything about this movie.... 😝

  • Tim Sevigney
    Tim Sevigney 7 months ago +1

    This movie was ass on so many levels

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 8 months ago

    At least Frances Mcdormand won best actress for three billboards outside ebbing, Missouri because of Sally fuckin Hawkins won for the shit of water I would’ve lost it. I was so pissed when shape of water won best picture. In 2016 I thought a war movie about Desmond Doss, a man who saved 75 people during the Okinawa battle in ww2 without using a gun at all would win but nope a movie about a gay man growing up won. One year later we get Dunkirk, another true story war movie that was phenomenal loses to a mute woman who likes to have sex with a fish.

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 8 months ago +1

    I don’t know why people like this movie. Just why. You can’t just like a movie because it has decent visual effects. This movie was complete ass

  • Space Emo Cosplay
    Space Emo Cosplay 9 months ago +1

    I had heard about this and I thought it was a bit fishy, but I ended up enjoying it

  • Piper Tudhope
    Piper Tudhope 9 months ago

    Great review!

  • f2mel2
    f2mel2 9 months ago +2

    So, if you want to by reminded what a 1950's bigot you and your values are, this movie is for you as the movie successfully casts a nuclear family as the antagonist and alternative life styles that are oppressed by white America as the protagonist. At least this is how you should read it if you want to make the most of the 2 hr or so you spend watching this "Academy award winner". Look on the bright side, from now on many more deserving actors will now be banished to the back of the bus wilst oppressed characters such as gay/black, Muslim/female are awarded. Ironically actors both shoot themselves in the foot for us and practice the discrimination they claim to fight simultaneously. Movies are now one boring commercial for Hollywood value system.

  • moviebuff1275
    moviebuff1275 9 months ago

    4:31 for the grade

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 9 months ago

    It’s about a woman who has sex with a fish

  • Jen _29
    Jen _29 9 months ago

    Disappointed because I expected more sci-fi futuristic ya’know? It was predictable and she literally had sex with a water god creature monster thing

  • Dawn star
    Dawn star 9 months ago +3

    I know this is old but the movie's basically a reverse splash

  • GA y Y AYYAYY YA YY ay y YYAGA Y Gaya yag ay GAYA GAGAYA Ygay yakashi fuck mehard bruh gay ya

    The directing and pictures of the movie we're fantastic as a romantic fantasy film, but the plot doesn't do much, I get the message and the theme of the movie which is why some people liked it but having a fish man character in this kind of movie is out of nowhere, his the kind of character I would see in Superhero or Marvel movies because he seems to be some god with cool designs or almost healing ability when he glows part of his scale blue, his totally opposite of a romantic genre.

    • dam ian
      dam ian 10 months ago

      Throughout watching the movie The Fish Monster remunds me of LAGOON BOY from Young Justice

  • sandeep gaur
    sandeep gaur 10 months ago +4

    THIS MOVIE IS OVERRATED AND HOW THE HELL DO U FEEL IN LOVE WITH THAT THING

  • OneEyedGhoulX
    OneEyedGhoulX 11 months ago +1

    How in the world has Chris Not Seen Pan's Labyrinth? He probably would have enjoyed Guillermo Del Toros work if he saw that film.

  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth 11 months ago

    I am going to have to disagree with you on some aspects. I was actually disappointed when the movie ended. It was beautifully done and incredibly artistic. I think, even when you know where it's going, a movie can still surprise you and this one did.

  • ichatterbot
    ichatterbot 11 months ago

    Worst film ever to win the best picture Oscar, and that is saying something...the symbolism and “meaning” in the movie are like Saturday morning cartoon level sophisticated.

  • Beardedpower
    Beardedpower 11 months ago

    Just because you look like a monster doesn't mean you are one. When you take into account on the outside people would look at the amphibian creature as a monster. But is very capable of of love and sympathy. Where as on the outside Richard looks like a very successful man with a family and a nice car, but is truly a monster lacking empathy and any care for other human being and animals. The message I got from this movie was just that, what makes any person a monster is how they act not how they look.

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 11 months ago +1

    she had sex with a water monster....bestiality is a big theme

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 11 months ago +3

    bestiality

  • Nova
    Nova Year ago +4

    Just watched the movie! It is fabulous!

  • sky net
    sky net Year ago +2

    Pan's Labyrinth>The Shape of Water

  • Dan McPherson
    Dan McPherson Year ago

    Ah, yes... The fish-banging movie.

  • Tusita Dewi
    Tusita Dewi Year ago +2

    this movie sure crammed in all those political agendas of the creators into it.

  • MrEmanthedrummer
    MrEmanthedrummer Year ago +1

    Umm am I the only one bothered by the monster biting the cats head off??...

    • Jen _29
      Jen _29 9 months ago +1

      Yeah that was 😟😬

  • Mark Douglas
    Mark Douglas Year ago +1

    BORING!! Who cares if the characters are incomplete. The whole damn movie is incomplete. Except for its stupidity!

  • K G
    K G Year ago +1

    Chris hasnt reviewed Pans Labyrinth? Dude! Get on that!

  • Caterina Ciriani
    Caterina Ciriani Year ago

    I didn't like it honestly. I can't help but thinking about it as a really creepy and disquieting movie. Moreover, the end is really predictable.

  • ImRickMFJamesB
    ImRickMFJamesB Year ago

    Yes let’s just read into shit.

  • Mickey Flipper
    Mickey Flipper Year ago

    Oh nice Chris. You did do a review about Del Toro's TSoW. I noticed how you stated Del Toro has a knack for bringing out the bright colors and visuals. Interesting. Yet you cannot stand Jean Pierre Jeunet's Alien Resurrection? I highly suggest you watch Jeunet's Delicatessen and The City of Lost Children. You may be surprised by certain scenes and visuals that mirror TSoW. Or just look up here in YT. Merry Christmas

  • Lynn Abunai - Life & Fashion Vlogger

    In my personal opinion, the movie was terrible...
    You also didn’t dive deep into the movie. This YT video lacks deep analysis. I wonder if this was paid 😂. All you did was highlight that everyone was unfulfilled then, like you pointed out in the movie, rushed the other little details. I’m pretty sure you don’t know much about art.
    As to everyone in the comment section: A great side analysis is the setting. Why did the creator choose America in the 1960s?
    The American 60s was a golden era of alienating and shaming everyone who was not a white male and this sea creature exaggerated this societal problem.
    Ponder why the man threw his black rotten fingers on the ground.
    And even ponder why the gay older man strongly refused to watch public shaming on the television.
    Lady Bird should have won the Oscar. The special effects in this movie was great but the storyline was shit. If you want a great romance film and have a knack for dark dry humor, watch The Lobster.

  • Walker
    Walker Year ago

    I just saw this movie, it was very well played out. Didn’t think I would enjoy but I did 👍

  • William M Atl
    William M Atl Year ago

    Soooo this is a movie about beastiality? No thanks... Why don't u watch a movie about incest next.. I'm sure you'll love it!

  • Spectres Hand
    Spectres Hand Year ago +1

    I honestly thought this movie was complete cheesy garbage

  • iconoclast
    iconoclast Year ago

    To my mind, one of the underlying themes was women's urge to civilize, save, or humanize less-than-civilized creatures, often understood by them to be men. Overall, I wasn't impressed by the movie. It seemed to be heavily influenced by the over-the-top, whimsical films Jean-Pierre Jeunet used to make in the 90's.
    Furthermore, some of the French-sounding music, while good, was incongruent with the film's American setting, especially in the scene when a woman started singing in French. The renowned and skillful composer, Francis Desplat, should've done a better job of fitting the music to the locale.

  • sky net
    sky net Year ago +1

    Did he mention Pan's labryinth??? IMO that is better than the shape of water

  • Joseph Bierowski
    Joseph Bierowski Year ago

    Same plot as Free Willy

  • zhonghe zheng
    zhonghe zheng Year ago +4

    gay+blacks+antiUSgovernment+woman protagonist/women right+Hispanic director+boring plot+dark color theme=oscar