The Shape of Water - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 817

  • Freddy Ayala
    Freddy Ayala 9 hours ago

    Aquaman Origins

  • David Walsh the chicago bear

    This guy likes fish sticks. Gay review

  • Gilly
    Gilly 7 days ago

    i can give you a better and shorter review. if you like watching a mute woman go to work, masturbating in the bathtub, falling in love with a half fish thing and in the end fucking the damn thing. Then this is your movie. Thats it, the end.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 12 days ago

    After finally seeing I can say that this was 100% not my type of movie, don’t get me wrong, the visuals, prosthetic work and acting were all great, it was just way too artsy for me

  • водка
    водка 13 days ago

    I saw this movie with my mom and entire family, and it was one of the most awkward things I have ever endured.. nothing like watching a fish man screw a mute.

  • Skell09
    Skell09 17 days ago

    Gorgeous, yes, some good performances..yes. But that does not make a good movie. It was so predictable and not original in any way. You knew what was gonna happen 10 minutes in the movie. You knew what was gonna be the deal with the scars 10 minutes in the movie. Give me Free Willy any day, cause that's basically what they did here...they just threw in a creature of the black lagoon in the mix. De Toro dissapointed me yet again.....

  • zen
    zen 17 days ago

    The scene where the guy rips his re-attached fingers off is one of the darkest things ever filmed.

  • TheFikri136
    TheFikri136 18 days ago

    I know I'm late. But, Shape of Water didn't deserve the Oscar. Three Billboards is better.

  • DK Dempcey Knight DK
    DK Dempcey Knight DK 22 days ago

    I give up, I can't grasp you at all. I was sure you would dislike this movie, sure you were going to pick this movie apart like a pack of starving piranha on a rotisserie chicken in a small tank. But no! I watch you to understand what you see and don't see (I like to write and you actually help me in this feat), but you confuse the hell out of me when you do this sort of thing! Don't tell anyone, I will deny, deny, DENY, but I did not care for the remake of "IT", it seemed quite cheesy to me and again, you liked it! Sigh. I give up!

  • The Wolverine
    The Wolverine 25 days ago

    This movie was terrible

  • The Real Natsu Dragneel

    This movie is stupid AF. Its like a fetish. My mom watches it 24/7 like she used to watch the creature of the black lagoon. Its stupid. A fetishy stupid ass movie. The monster has powers and all that shit. Its stupid af. Af. I swear

  • Rose Kennedy
    Rose Kennedy 28 days ago

    The whole beastiality thing was a turn off for me the moment I saw the poster but your review has definitely made me consider actually watching/reading it, thanks!

  • Lucas Overall
    Lucas Overall Month ago

    Awesome videos!!!! Subscribed😜

  • utkarsh pant
    utkarsh pant Month ago

    The only thing Oscar worthy in this movie was Michael Shannon.

  • RIZADON the RAT
    RIZADON the RAT Month ago

    I love this movie more then any other

  • Lance W
    Lance W Month ago

    this movie was visually stunning but wild trash.

  • Ghost with A heart
    Ghost with A heart Month ago

    It looks interesting and different
    I like different or basically something that I wouldn’t consider normal

  • just another black man

    The fact that you actually like this movie is pure proof that you are an true fan of beastiality. People like you don't deserve to have a TVclip channel, yet alone a life. This is why TVclip is going down hill as it is.

  • chris venegas
    chris venegas Month ago

    loved this movie

  • infinity paradox
    infinity paradox Month ago

    this film is pure crap

  • Jallek
    Jallek Month ago +1

    I wondered beforehand if this movie was safe to see with my mom. It was not.
    I really liked it though. I am slightly surprised that it won best picture, but Im also happy that it did. It kinda broke the monotony of best picture winners, and its truly a unique film.

  • My_ Khaleeci
    My_ Khaleeci Month ago

    What about del toros pans labyrinth? Ireally wish he would review it 😭

  • Migel Vazkez
    Migel Vazkez Month ago

    So i saw the movie. It's good. But then l was thinking, janitors working in a top secret facility!
    ▫▪◽🔶◽▪▫
    Not plausible〰but then we won't have a plot.
    ▫▪◽🔶◽▪▫
    U agree? Or no?

  • Jam
    Jam Month ago

    This is a terrible terrible film

  • Bill 'I Did Not Bang That Woman' Clinton

    The fish fucking movie

  • TheHSdropout
    TheHSdropout Month ago

    Shit was coo until she started fuking cuz.

  • Dandypanty
    Dandypanty Month ago

    I don't get the whole masturbation stuff. Why was that in the film? To show that she was horny? Okay.. Then what was the deal with the homosexual scene? What did that add to the film? What was the deal with the painting? It kept coming up but I never figured how it came into play. I feel like the movie built up the relationship with the mute woman and black lady then completely forgot about it. I feel like the gay mans character was completely unnecessary. The black woman should have been her room mate. And lastly I feel like they should have spent more time developing the bad guy. Why did he have to be sleazy? Again, so many things in the film I felt added nothing to the character or story. The only character I really cared for was the monster. I just wanted to see him learn to communicate with the woman. The sex stuff was like that movie Splice. Totally weird and just unnecessary. I bought it on blu ray so I'll definitely watch it again to see what I'm missing but I don't see this as award winning at all except for the style and atmosphere.

  • Sylvia Lopez
    Sylvia Lopez Month ago

    Chris, i turned to you for reviews at redbox, do you have an A list for current redbox rentals?

  • Karla Ocampo
    Karla Ocampo 2 months ago

    Your cowboy bebop shirts are the best

  • QuartuvLarry
    QuartuvLarry 2 months ago

    Jesus Christ! You actually LIKED this film? Ugh! The fuck is wrong with you?

  • Mike McWilliams
    Mike McWilliams 2 months ago

    I loved the cinematography. Acting was amazing as well. A- seems pretty high up there but yeah 90% of movies these days fall in the C- category that probably deserve a D+ at best.

  • Carmen Stigter
    Carmen Stigter 2 months ago

    Style over substance...

  • Els Rulmyn
    Els Rulmyn 2 months ago

    I am the undefeated champion of guessing what the score will be

  • Tom J
    Tom J 2 months ago

    Awful review from an obvious liberal sympathizer.

  • Don Vito Corleone
    Don Vito Corleone 2 months ago

    i was so disappointed with this movie, i expected it to be an original Del Toro film, but instead i wasted 2 hours of my life watching a beauty and the beast and La La Land "Wannabe", music didn't fit at all, and the amount of coincidence in this movie is unfucking believable, i felt so stupid after watching it, too many holes and just plain fucking stupid.

  • Andres Terrazas
    Andres Terrazas 2 months ago

    This is a prequel for Abe from Hellboy............. no wonder you dont get it XD

  • Emmanuel Walker
    Emmanuel Walker 2 months ago

    Personally, didn't like that this movie was shot in 1000 frames per second. It felt like a bad soap opera. The story was decent but didn't move me emotionally, couldn't really relate to any of the characters. Just didn't do anything for me emotionally or visually. Makeup, costume, production design, and music were awesome though.

  • Javier Sanchez
    Javier Sanchez 2 months ago

    Michael Shannon is underrated

  • Michael Garcia
    Michael Garcia 2 months ago

    Shape of water = Splash

  • Rachelle Lucero
    Rachelle Lucero 2 months ago

    I don't like this movie, at all. Sorry.

  • Music Pile
    Music Pile 2 months ago

    I think you should review Pan's Labyrinth! I think it's more better than this.

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 3 months ago

    Fantastic film I am shocked that this film didn't pick up any acting awards at the Oscars

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 3 months ago

    A adult version of Splash lol

  • Mihai Bravu
    Mihai Bravu 3 months ago

    Grinding Nemo.

  • ADjustinG2013
    ADjustinG2013 3 months ago

    fish sticks, anyone?

  • Ron Wylie
    Ron Wylie 3 months ago +1

    Richard Jenkins is fabulous in this, he is always good but the beautiful underplayed acting in this is Oscar worthy, the trouble is, they are ALL that good, they could share it I guess.

    • lurch321
      lurch321 Month ago

      Ron Wylie Nah, Hawkins and Spencer were FAR from Oscar-worthy in this. They've both done FAR better.

  • Patricia Jessica Paays
    Patricia Jessica Paays 3 months ago +1

    I'm agree with you

  • Not Bob
    Not Bob 3 months ago

    Shittiest movie of 2017. Holy shit was this bad.

  • Benny26
    Benny26 3 months ago

    It's a predictable, eye rolling cliched film that's been done to death before in many ways. Acting and set design was well done but that was it.
    He rammed it full of "artsy" stuff like with the 60s music and dancing, but it was just to sucker the judges into thinking this film is meaningful and has some sort of underlying message. They even have two scenes just to tell you "being gay is alright" and "treating black people differently is bad"....just eye rolling.

  • Peter Müller
    Peter Müller 3 months ago

    hmmm, i was really disappointed by this movie.
    A corny and flat 'Amelie' ripoff....rather uninspired and uninspiring.
    And typical 'we pad our shoulders' oscar bait.

  • Joshua Fogg
    Joshua Fogg 3 months ago

    Ugh. Just freaking awful. I can't believe that this came from the same mind that created Hellboy 1 and 2.

  • Agent Lemon
    Agent Lemon 3 months ago

    Style over Substance the movie

  • Farah N Huq
    Farah N Huq 3 months ago

    It was a dissappointment....

  • Ayush Singh
    Ayush Singh 3 months ago +1

    It was bad!!😫

  • Tariq Mansour
    Tariq Mansour 3 months ago

    The most overrated movie

  • Sullivan Scandi
    Sullivan Scandi 3 months ago

    Ah yes, french movies about people feeling unfulfilled. Is it just me or does this film have some sort of Amelie vibe?

  • Slicker Rick
    Slicker Rick 3 months ago

    Does anyone give shitty movie reviews anymore? This deserves one

  • Calipurnio, el Rey del Odio

    This movie is special for me. I always feel a void (Aspie, fat, shy, geek... The anti-ladies for a lot of women) that I try to cover. I saw this movie and I could understand all the characters, because They also try to feel their own void, a void that grows up every day of their lives.

  • Kapil Dev
    Kapil Dev 3 months ago

    amazing film

  • TacticalGolfer
    TacticalGolfer 3 months ago

    A woman who wants to f*** a fish. Nice

  • Lunatic Cringe
    Lunatic Cringe 3 months ago

    WHY are *all* of your t-shirts from the little boy's section at Target?!

  • Pepsikanin
    Pepsikanin 3 months ago

    I agree that this movie looks amazing, and I liked it. BUT I was very taken aback by the sexuality between her and the creature, I mean, romance is fine, but sex was a step too far for me

  • Ahmad Asyraf Abdul Jalil

    Terrible movie. I don't get how it won Best Picture.

  • Michael Cherne
    Michael Cherne 3 months ago

    Stuckman, you got way too artsy fartsy on this one. it was hellboy lll at best. Please at least admit it had no business winning best picture, or even nominated. We know the real reason it won. This may be top 10 worst movies of all time. Good lord son, stop looking so deep to attempt to find something good about this garbage. It bombed at the box office because viewers fell asleep half way threw, and nobody (but you) give a rats ass about the "beautiful production design". Just entertain us. and don't think for a second you could flood a 2nd floor apartment in the 60's. And how is sex possible?

  • kaine08
    kaine08 3 months ago

    I don't see what was so "good" about this move. Del Toro always produces beautiful, artistic movies, but nothing that any character, other that the artist neighbor did anything that would remotely occur in real life. Really? A woman is going to sex it up with a fish man? In a time of explosive racism, a black woman is going to risk getting "disappeared" in a government facility? Mute janior is going to risk her life to share a boiled egg with a creature that just tried to eat a man? This was actually painful to watch because of all the nonsensical decisions made by the characters. Whole bathroom filled up with water...yeah right. I get it. It's artistic, but come one. Inject a little bit of reality.

  • Charbel Elaro
    Charbel Elaro 3 months ago

    When I can't put your finger on what was missing in a film, Chris Stuckmann always points it out. I liked the Shape of Water but there were minor issues everywhere which restricted me from loving it in the end

  • NOBLE's Makings
    NOBLE's Makings 3 months ago

    I think I would love this film if it were an anime...but this movie didnt deserve an Oscar...I guess the award givers were remembering the crap fx films from the 60s 70s

  • Da BUTCHER
    Da BUTCHER 3 months ago

    Beastiality... Yuck!

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 3 months ago +1

      Do you think Mass Effect handled the human X xeno love thing better than this movie while the asset in this movie had more in common with a sea-monkey than a sea-man?

  • arturo Velasquez
    arturo Velasquez 4 months ago

    Shitty movie

  • RoVidz Animations
    RoVidz Animations 4 months ago

    Does it have an ocean man music part?

  • CatZ ReZetZ
    CatZ ReZetZ 4 months ago +1

    I dont like some scenes they are Disturbing....You know it , if you watched it of course

  • John Johnson
    John Johnson 4 months ago

    Creature from the black lagoon 2.0. This version the creature gets to bang the girl.

  • abdelrahman mohamed
    abdelrahman mohamed 4 months ago

    a little creepy seriously just a little

  • Shotta Tkhelidze
    Shotta Tkhelidze 4 months ago

    whole point of movie was propaganda. thats why it won oscar. white straight man are evil. thats all that movies wanted to tell.

  • Randy Brady
    Randy Brady 4 months ago

    What a garbage, cheesy and believably predictably stupid movie smh oscars you’re a joke!

  • Hans Hoerdemann
    Hans Hoerdemann 4 months ago

    This movie promotes bestiality, the next focus of the Leftists.

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 4 months ago

      Do you think Abe Sapien is more of a human level intelligent adult being than the Asset in this movie and the Abe Sapien and his elf woman lover worked better than this movie?

  • Nicolas Caputo
    Nicolas Caputo 4 months ago +1

    This movie is shit

  • Evan Nesbitt
    Evan Nesbitt 4 months ago

    Pacific Rim is one of my favorite movies. I am always amazed by Del Toro and seeing this movie, and adoring every minute of it, affirmed the strength of this artist for me.

  • TheOrangeOne
    TheOrangeOne 4 months ago

    It was artsy and cinematically good looking but plot wise I'm gonna say nah. When your check your watch in the theatre it's not a good sign

  • Zidan Raab
    Zidan Raab 4 months ago

    Wait... does the creature feel unfulfilled?

  • Andrew Gonzalez
    Andrew Gonzalez 4 months ago +1

    The fish banging movie

  • Ville Lepoaho
    Ville Lepoaho 4 months ago +1

    I just saw a mute woman getting fucked by a fish-man

  • Rhino Thunder
    Rhino Thunder 4 months ago

    And just like anime fans everywhere loved Pacific Rim yet another movie universally loved but anime fans for its weird perverted undertones which harken back to the days of Hentai tentacle porn

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 4 months ago

      But would you compare this movie to Wolf Children? i mean similar human X xeno romance of two beings yet in Wolf Children, Hana's Wolf-Man lover had human level intelligence and acts like us as it was a person who is and look diferent and had no animalistic brain like the asset.

  • Jean
    Jean 4 months ago

    I wish you had some type of podcast or video where you'd go in depth into your reviews, with spoilers and stuff, because there's so many things that are not clear and sometimes is hard to get your point of view, like when you talked about the "cheesy" moments of this movie, I wished you had explained them better.

  • HotCoals
    HotCoals 4 months ago +1

    More anti-white man, pro-inter breeding Progressive Social engineering trash. You all are being played. You fools.
    "frui ascendes ad inferos - Enjoy the ride to Hell

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 4 months ago +1

      Inter-breeding? what about mixing ethnicity?

  • Stella was a diver and she was always down

    Truly one of the most overrated films of the past 10 years. Along with Lady Bird.

  • JayCrimson
    JayCrimson 4 months ago +1

    Did you comment on the anti American anti straight white male slander in this film? Don’t really see how you can give this movie such a good review when there are comments in this movie that basically say america is shit and have the white male character be racist and abusive . I just don’t understand and it’s been said before but if the villain was a minority it wouldn’t have even gotten nominated

  • kitkatcoco67
    kitkatcoco67 4 months ago +1

    Awesome movie...

  • Thirukumaran Sabapathi
    Thirukumaran Sabapathi 4 months ago +1

    Imagine if it was a dog. Will people feel the same for her? They'll brand her sick, she needs psychological help. Just because the fish looks like human, it receives Oscar! And this jackass gives a A-. Really Chris?

  • Jeremy Ray
    Jeremy Ray 4 months ago

    Kinda even looks like Abraham from Hellboy too... The other fish guy Doug Jones played.

  • Jeremy Ray
    Jeremy Ray 4 months ago

    Takes Beauty and The Beast to the next level huh? I’m sure it was meant to be artful or meaningful but all I know is she had sex with a fish. Also Doug Jones played the other fish guy from the Hellboy movies. Was that also Del Toro?

  • RhythmGrizz
    RhythmGrizz 4 months ago

    It's so obviously Abe sapien
    Ugh :{

  • kilic20
    kilic20 4 months ago

    BORING movie!

  • Yung Biz
    Yung Biz 4 months ago

    Fishy soft porn.

  • cyberjuanito
    cyberjuanito 4 months ago

    I honestly thougt this movie was Ok at most. My biggest problem is that it´s not original at all (It´s a shameless rip off of Le Fabuleux Destin d'Amélie Poulain mixed with The Beauty and the Beast and every "omg I need to hide/save this creature/alien from government" film). Characters are supposed to be very interesting but end up being shallow and almost childish (except maybe for Jenkins´s character) I felt like I was watching a Disney movie at times. Its a cute film with great visuals (because Amélie had great visuals) but Best Motion Picture? No way.

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 4 months ago

      What do you think of Del Toro's other films like Pan's Labyrinth or Devil's Backbone?

  • polinalady1
    polinalady1 4 months ago +1

    Maybe she was a baby from seawoman and earth man and baby was not very good for living umderwater,could breath but had human body and was not able swim as good, maybe that's why she left her near shelter. And neck turned into dry scars without use just . He opened them so they more alike like seems at first

  • Jon R.
    Jon R. 4 months ago

    The mute woman has sex with the fish man but it's OK because he has human intelligence? So if a movie has a dog, or horse, or dolphin that's intelligent as a human, it's OK if a woman has sex with it?

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 4 months ago

      What do you think of the human X xeno romances in Mass Effect? the xenos have human level intelligence/speech/communication unlike the asset in Shape whom seems to be on a gorilla intelligence

  • Cyndee Ro
    Cyndee Ro 4 months ago +2

    I hate chick flicks but del Toro made it and I had to watch. I loved it. It's a simple love story. But everyone played their characters well.

  • nuggistrike
    nuggistrike 4 months ago

    Stil think thst this movie is bullshit and anti american ! Nice when the a hole hu made this movie ! Fleed from mexico and had his own dad captured by mexican gang and had to pay for his freedom ! Yet he make a anti american movie ! Where most of the evil whit men are whit ! This is a bestiality dantasy movie with hints of free willy and dash of x-men in a bad way ! Why was the creature ther and why did he stay there ? Sins he can survive bullets and wark it off and heal othere life forms ? This is a shitty rip off a free willy and bestiality bell and beast story with dash of whit evil american ( ahem nazi )

  • L S
    L S 4 months ago

    what'S that t shirt? I want it!