The Shape of Water - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 18, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Shape of Water, starring Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer. Directed by Guillermo del Toro.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 742

  • Zian Rabbani
    Zian Rabbani 23 days ago

    One of the worst movies I've seen in 2017

  • nowaypunk
    nowaypunk Month ago +1

    The film was awful an A- was too generous

  • Spottehd _
    Spottehd _ Month ago

    I loved pacific rim

  • belly QBE6878
    belly QBE6878 2 months ago

    This movie sucked..... I really disliked everything about this movie.... 😝

  • Tim Sevigney
    Tim Sevigney 2 months ago

    This movie was ass on so many levels

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 3 months ago

    At least Frances Mcdormand won best actress for three billboards outside ebbing, Missouri because of Sally fuckin Hawkins won for the shit of water I would’ve lost it. I was so pissed when shape of water won best picture. In 2016 I thought a war movie about Desmond Doss, a man who saved 75 people during the Okinawa battle in ww2 without using a gun at all would win but nope a movie about a gay man growing up won. One year later we get Dunkirk, another true story war movie that was phenomenal loses to a mute woman who likes to have sex with a fish.

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 3 months ago

    I don’t know why people like this movie. Just why. You can’t just like a movie because it has decent visual effects. This movie was complete ass

  • Space Emo Cosplay
    Space Emo Cosplay 4 months ago +1

    I had heard about this and I thought it was a bit fishy, but I ended up enjoying it

  • Piper Tudhope
    Piper Tudhope 4 months ago

    Great review!

  • f2mel2
    f2mel2 4 months ago

    So, if you want to by reminded what a 1950's bigot you and your values are, this movie is for you as the movie successfully casts a nuclear family as the antagonist and alternative life styles that are oppressed by white America as the protagonist. At least this is how you should read it if you want to make the most of the 2 hr or so you spend watching this "Academy award winner". Look on the bright side, from now on many more deserving actors will now be banished to the back of the bus wilst oppressed characters such as gay/black, Muslim/female are awarded. Ironically actors both shoot themselves in the foot for us and practice the discrimination they claim to fight simultaneously. Movies are now one boring commercial for Hollywood value system.

  • moviebuff1275
    moviebuff1275 4 months ago

    4:31 for the grade

  • Trace Alyea
    Trace Alyea 4 months ago

    It’s about a woman who has sex with a fish

  • Jen _29
    Jen _29 4 months ago

    Disappointed because I expected more sci-fi futuristic ya’know? It was predictable and she literally had sex with a water god creature monster thing

  • Dawn star
    Dawn star 4 months ago +1

    I know this is old but the movie's basically a reverse splash

  • GA y Y AYYAYY YA YY ay y YYAGA Y Gaya yag ay GAYA GAGAYA Ygay yakashi fuck mehard bruh gay ya

    The directing and pictures of the movie we're fantastic as a romantic fantasy film, but the plot doesn't do much, I get the message and the theme of the movie which is why some people liked it but having a fish man character in this kind of movie is out of nowhere, his the kind of character I would see in Superhero or Marvel movies because he seems to be some god with cool designs or almost healing ability when he glows part of his scale blue, his totally opposite of a romantic genre.

    • dam ian
      dam ian 5 months ago

      Throughout watching the movie The Fish Monster remunds me of LAGOON BOY from Young Justice

  • sandeep gaur
    sandeep gaur 5 months ago +1

    THIS MOVIE IS OVERRATED AND HOW THE HELL DO U FEEL IN LOVE WITH THAT THING

  • OneEyedGhoulX
    OneEyedGhoulX 6 months ago

    How in the world has Chris Not Seen Pan's Labyrinth? He probably would have enjoyed Guillermo Del Toros work if he saw that film.

  • demonqueen26
    demonqueen26 6 months ago

    I am going to have to disagree with you on some aspects. I was actually disappointed when the movie ended. It was beautifully done and incredibly artistic. I think, even when you know where it's going, a movie can still surprise you and this one did.

  • ichatterbot
    ichatterbot 6 months ago

    Worst film ever to win the best picture Oscar, and that is saying something...the symbolism and “meaning” in the movie are like Saturday morning cartoon level sophisticated.

  • Beardedpower
    Beardedpower 6 months ago

    Just because you look like a monster doesn't mean you are one. When you take into account on the outside people would look at the amphibian creature as a monster. But is very capable of of love and sympathy. Where as on the outside Richard looks like a very successful man with a family and a nice car, but is truly a monster lacking empathy and any care for other human being and animals. The message I got from this movie was just that, what makes any person a monster is how they act not how they look.

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 6 months ago +1

    she had sex with a water monster....bestiality is a big theme

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 6 months ago +1

    bestiality

  • Star Blanket
    Star Blanket 7 months ago +2

    Just watched the movie! It is fabulous!

  • sky net
    sky net 7 months ago +1

    Pan's Labyrinth>The Shape of Water

  • Dan McPherson
    Dan McPherson 7 months ago

    Ah, yes... The fish-banging movie.

  • Tusita Dewi
    Tusita Dewi 7 months ago +2

    this movie sure crammed in all those political agendas of the creators into it.

  • MrEmanthedrummer
    MrEmanthedrummer 7 months ago +1

    Umm am I the only one bothered by the monster biting the cats head off??...

    • Jen _29
      Jen _29 4 months ago +1

      Yeah that was 😟😬

  • Mark Douglas
    Mark Douglas 7 months ago

    BORING!! Who cares if the characters are incomplete. The whole damn movie is incomplete. Except for its stupidity!

  • K G
    K G 7 months ago

    Chris hasnt reviewed Pans Labyrinth? Dude! Get on that!

  • Caterina Ciriani
    Caterina Ciriani 7 months ago

    I didn't like it honestly. I can't help but thinking about it as a really creepy and disquieting movie. Moreover, the end is really predictable.

  • Merrills589/ King of gaming jk fire

    Yes let’s just read into shit.

  • Mickey Flipper
    Mickey Flipper 8 months ago

    Oh nice Chris. You did do a review about Del Toro's TSoW. I noticed how you stated Del Toro has a knack for bringing out the bright colors and visuals. Interesting. Yet you cannot stand Jean Pierre Jeunet's Alien Resurrection? I highly suggest you watch Jeunet's Delicatessen and The City of Lost Children. You may be surprised by certain scenes and visuals that mirror TSoW. Or just look up here in YT. Merry Christmas

  • Lynn Abunai
    Lynn Abunai 8 months ago +1

    In my personal opinion, the movie was terrible...
    You also didn’t dive deep into the movie. This YT video lacks deep analysis. I wonder if this was paid 😂. All you did was highlight that everyone was unfulfilled then, like you pointed out in the movie, rushed the other little details. I’m pretty sure you don’t know much about art.
    As to everyone in the comment section: A great side analysis is the setting. Why did the creator choose America in the 1960s?
    The American 60s was a golden era of alienating and shaming everyone who was not a white male and this sea creature exaggerated this societal problem.
    Ponder why the man threw his black rotten fingers on the ground.
    And even ponder why the gay older man strongly refused to watch public shaming on the television.
    Lady Bird should have won the Oscar. The special effects in this movie was great but the storyline was shit. If you want a great romance film and have a knack for dark dry humor, watch The Lobster.

  • It’s a 10 from len
    It’s a 10 from len 8 months ago

    I just saw this movie, it was very well played out. Didn’t think I would enjoy but I did 👍

  • William M Atl
    William M Atl 8 months ago

    Soooo this is a movie about beastiality? No thanks... Why don't u watch a movie about incest next.. I'm sure you'll love it!

  • SLIMGRIZZY
    SLIMGRIZZY 8 months ago

    I honestly thought this movie was complete cheesy garbage

  • iconoclast
    iconoclast 9 months ago

    To my mind, one of the underlying themes was women's urge to civilize, save, or humanize less-than-civilized creatures, often understood by them to be men. Overall, I wasn't impressed by the movie. It seemed to be heavily influenced by the over-the-top, whimsical films Jean-Pierre Jeunet used to make in the 90's.
    Furthermore, some of the French-sounding music, while good, was incongruent with the film's American setting, especially in the scene when a woman started singing in French. The renowned and skillful composer, Francis Desplat, should've done a better job of fitting the music to the locale.

  • sky net
    sky net 9 months ago +1

    Did he mention Pan's labryinth??? IMO that is better than the shape of water

  • Joseph Bierowski
    Joseph Bierowski 9 months ago

    Same plot as Free Willy

  • zhonghe zheng
    zhonghe zheng 10 months ago +4

    gay+blacks+antiUSgovernment+woman protagonist/women right+Hispanic director+boring plot+dark color theme=oscar

  • swati singh
    swati singh 10 months ago

    Overrated stupid movie!! feels like watching porn😜

  • i asimov
    i asimov 10 months ago

    The bad guy lacked only a top hat and a Snidely Whiplash moustache to be the quintessential villain.

  • Bill Dunning
    Bill Dunning 10 months ago

    And now that I have seen this movie, I feel incomplete. Short of nudity, it had nothing going going for it. Yes there was good acting, even decent writing. The biggest void here was an original plot, which explains the large amount of nudity. She did have a nice butt Thow😁.

  • don miller
    don miller 10 months ago

    Could have been a good movie. I’ll call it for what it is, “hate baiting!” Grow up..very UnAmerican!

  • Jeffery Matuszak
    Jeffery Matuszak 10 months ago

    This movie blows...try Pan's labyrinth, Cronos, Mimic, or Devil's Backbone....fuck his new shit, seriously. But u still cool, bro! U just got caught up in a b.s. movie, it happens....

  • BJH 2112
    BJH 2112 10 months ago

    Yea this movie is pretty overrated. Lady Bird, Call Me by Your Name, and Three Billboards were all way better

  • The BREAKER
    The BREAKER 10 months ago

    Guillermo del Toro did hellboy also so it must be connected lol

  • Apexfab Tablet9
    Apexfab Tablet9 11 months ago

    The next movie she should fall in love with a donkey maybe it can talk like the one from shrek

  • Kelley Medcalf
    Kelley Medcalf 11 months ago

    nope. i usually agree with you. but no. i want my two hours back.

  • Natsu Dragion77
    Natsu Dragion77 11 months ago +2

    No offense to anyone who loves this movie - But Three Billboards lost to this shit!!! (It's not really that bad)

  • nuclear kid
    nuclear kid 11 months ago

    Whaaaat?? You didn't like Pacific rim. I loved it.

  • Ellie's WorldTM
    Ellie's WorldTM 11 months ago

    I personally liked it. It was very long and at some points it was very boring, but all in all, I think it was good. No haters, it's my opinion! :)

  • cHeStEr5434
    cHeStEr5434 11 months ago

    Eh, I'd give it a D+

  • gerrixx
    gerrixx 11 months ago +1

    I knew it was going to win Best Picture, great movie and it hit all the political points Hollywood loves to champion.

  • hosam jaber
    hosam jaber 11 months ago +2

    You must review Pan’s labyrinth

  • James Gant
    James Gant 11 months ago

    It seems almost like a Hellboy prequel of sorts? That fish like man is in Hellboy, and Del toro was involved in those movies as well.

  • Viki Dadsev
    Viki Dadsev 11 months ago

    I was so waiting for this movie and then i saw it.... so diseponted ...just not a good movie..sorry that what i think

  • Donald Trump
    Donald Trump 11 months ago +1

    No comment

  • Daniel Maldonado
    Daniel Maldonado Year ago

    Pc garbage. Immoral and disgusting!

  • Tuffy Baxton
    Tuffy Baxton Year ago

    Garrus is sexy as F
    Fish-face from this movie is unsexy as anything and everything that's unsexy!

  • gardensofthegods
    gardensofthegods Year ago

    I haven't seen the movie yet but it looks to me that it's humanoid meaning it's not a beast or animal

  • Leohardson Stevenson

    I just watched that shit and I felt like watching the weirdest porn ever! The weird Elaiza, the weird creature that breathes water and air, fucks women, doesn’t die, give hair...the old gay disgusting painter, the fucked up psychopath investigator, the traitor professor, the fat black cleaner with her loser husband, what else was there?? The movie is a C- only the weird plot was keeping me..

  • Freddy Ayala
    Freddy Ayala Year ago

    Aquaman Origins

  • david walsh the chicago Whitehawk

    This guy likes fish sticks. Gay review

  • Gilly
    Gilly Year ago +1

    i can give you a better and shorter review. if you like watching a mute woman go to work, masturbating in the bathtub, falling in love with a half fish thing and in the end fucking the damn thing. Then this is your movie. Thats it, the end.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago

    After finally seeing I can say that this was 100% not my type of movie, don’t get me wrong, the visuals, prosthetic work and acting were all great, it was just way too artsy for me

  • водка
    водка Year ago +1

    I saw this movie with my mom and entire family, and it was one of the most awkward things I have ever endured.. nothing like watching a fish man screw a mute.

  • De Svenster
    De Svenster Year ago

    Gorgeous, yes, some good performances..yes. But that does not make a good movie. It was so predictable and not original in any way. You knew what was gonna happen 10 minutes in the movie. You knew what was gonna be the deal with the scars 10 minutes in the movie. Give me Free Willy any day, cause that's basically what they did here...they just threw in a creature of the black lagoon in the mix. De Toro dissapointed me yet again.....

  • zen
    zen Year ago

    The scene where the guy rips his re-attached fingers off is one of the darkest things ever filmed.

  • TheFikri136
    TheFikri136 Year ago

    I know I'm late. But, Shape of Water didn't deserve the Oscar. Three Billboards is better.

  • DK Dempcey Knight DK

    I give up, I can't grasp you at all. I was sure you would dislike this movie, sure you were going to pick this movie apart like a pack of starving piranha on a rotisserie chicken in a small tank. But no! I watch you to understand what you see and don't see (I like to write and you actually help me in this feat), but you confuse the hell out of me when you do this sort of thing! Don't tell anyone, I will deny, deny, DENY, but I did not care for the remake of "IT", it seemed quite cheesy to me and again, you liked it! Sigh. I give up!

  • Star Wars Talk
    Star Wars Talk Year ago

    This movie was terrible

  • Rose Kennedy
    Rose Kennedy Year ago

    The whole beastiality thing was a turn off for me the moment I saw the poster but your review has definitely made me consider actually watching/reading it, thanks!

  • Lucas Overall
    Lucas Overall Year ago

    Awesome videos!!!! Subscribed😜

  • Utkarsh Pant
    Utkarsh Pant Year ago

    The only thing Oscar worthy in this movie was Michael Shannon.